We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Modern Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Modern Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

From the moment you walk into the open lobby with the lava rock fireplace and wooden sculpture you feel a modern yet cozy vibe. This hotel situated at the top of a hill and across geothermal pools and spas is a great place to explore this small outdoor sports city of 18,000. The rooms are spacious with a wonderfully soft duvet cover and we had a separate shower that had a lovely window view overlooking town and the pools. The large wooden bench gave us ample suitcase space and the room was always warm and inviting. This hotel and the rooms are spotless and it had a nice European style breakfast buffet as well as tasty food in the ground floor restaurant. Each afternoon you could enjoy afternoon. Tea in the lobby by the fireplace for a fee and cocktails at happy hour. The hotel gives you tickets to go to the geothermal pools and spa for free so bring a swimsuit, warm clothes, and good walking shoes when you visit this town.

Room Tip: Request rooms on the third or fourth floor to get views otherwise you may be in the basement with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teeplepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    317
    72
    12
    1
See reviews for
95
365
56
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed hear 3 nights and enjoyed the whole time rooms were clean and tidy and equipped. Who need the einternet your are on Holiday and in Iceland and you should have very little free time. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights at the second attempt which were great.
The outdoor pool across the road was excellent, weird swimming outside when it is below freezing but the pool was great. If wanting to do walking at this time of year worth taking ice grips for your shoes as main paths were clear but away from the center they were a bit icy
Tips Saga Tour cost about £100 per person for day trip to Myvatn area Car Hire Airport £69 for 2 days the choice is yours!
Walk back is ok a bit steep but not that bad, worth doing to see the hugh snowman in the centre and visiting cafes and bars.
Happy hour in Hotel 5-7 make the most of it we did.

Room Tip: Facing the outdoor Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and realy enjoyed the hotel. It's a 15 minute walk to the downtown area and a few minutes to the pool next door.
This was the only place in Iceland that we stayed that did not include breakfast. Internet is not free but we where smart and got a a SIM card from Siminn the local cell provider in Iceland which is a smart choice if your here for any length of time.
I don't know why Hotels continue to charge for Internet when this is where people seem to give them a lesser star rating on Trip Advisor. Just my 2 cents.
Over all a very nice stay and recommended.

Room Tip: Get a pass for the pool at reception., well worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dflyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a package with Iceland Air. As with the Icelandair hotel in Rekyavik, reception needed better staffing at check in - but it did not take too long! Our room was large and clean, in the basement with a huge window, comfortable bed and a large bathroom. In fact, this was actually a disabled room although neither of us is disabled. There is little storage space in the bathroom which was rather inconvenient for our washbags. The first evening I turned on the walk in shower. There was an amazingly lovely hot gush of hot water - but within seconds my husband screamed at me to switch it off! Although the shower was at the far end of this large room - the force of the water was almost immediately creeping into the bedroom! The angle of the floor and the drain were just not suitable. I turned the shower down, to a light spray and the water retreated! My husband used towels to mop up the mess!
We enjoyed our free drink at the bar and had booked a table for dinner which was lovely. The one waiter managed to cope very well with all the customers.
The following day we were out on an all tour, arriving back at about 7.00. We went to put our stuff in the room - to discover that it had not been cleaned! When we complained to the receptionist - he said that absolutely nothing could be done as all the cleaners had gone home - and he really did not appear to be particularly concerned. We had to ask whether he was going to give us some recompense - and we had to suggest some wine. He refused our first suggestion of a bottle - but agreed to a couple of glasses. He apologised for the inconvenience - but still didn't appear that concerned, although he agreed that he would look into it the following day. We discovered that another couple's room hadn't been cleaned - but they were less bothered. Maybe because their bathroom hadn't flooded! We then tried to book a table for dinner - to be told that the restaurant was closing at 8.00pm. Not last orders - but actually closing! The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill and after a long day out we really did not feel like walking into the town - but that was obviously what we had to do.
The breakfast on both days was adequate. The first day there was some fresh fruit which enabled a small fruit salad to be made - but on the second day there were only some enormous apples and some bananas cut in half!
It is not a hotel I would choose to stay in again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicityjg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrún J, General Manager at Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Felicity

Thank you for your evaluation of our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience caused by the lack of service that you experienced. We always aim for our guests to have a pleasant stay so I am really sorry to hear that you did not like your stay with us. Regarding the water flooding from the shower, we have not experienced this before so we will definitely have a look at this matter. I would like to thank you for letting us now of this problem so it can be fixed immediately. Our restaurant is open until 20.30 every day so it should have been open when you arrived at 20.00. Again i am very sorry for this misunderstanding. However i am happy to hear that you experienced a good service from our waiter, the night before. I will make sure he receives your compliments.
I only hope that you will find your way up to Iceland again and we can then serve you better.
Sincerely yours, Sigrún Jakobsdóttir, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were here as part of a package with Iceland Air and were here for 2 days. We each had our own room as when we booked it, it said 2 x double room, thinking that was a room with 2 beds, instead we each had a room. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, the restaurant and bar were great, and the breakfast, included in our package, was fantastic. Waffles, all the foods you could want...GREAT!!! The beds were smallish and there was a fitted sheet and a comforter, no down sheet which would've been nice. The shower had the best water pressure and they have the spas soaps for use which smell amazing!!! The entire parking lot however was a giant sheet of ice which was about 3 inches thick. A little crazy to walk on but it's Iceland, we were expecting that!! The hotel staff was great and you get a welcome drink called the BonFire...totally appropriate and delish! It is a walk from the hotel down a huge hill to get to some really fabulous restaurants so plan on walking a bit but it's worth it! Internet is a fee per day but there is access in the lobby for free. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Pros:
NIce, modern room with plenty of space (by icelandic standards)
Great breakfast
INCREDIBLY helpful and nice reception people
Free drink
Free pass to next door pool

Cons:
A little bit of a walk to the city center, but if you aren't prepared to walk, you probably won't like Iceland.

MAJOR CONS:
For some reason IcelandAir hotels have adopted a stupid internet policy. They now charge $8.00 for wifi. AND THAT IS $8.00 PER DEVICE. You can't setup a hotspot, so if you are a family of four, your out an extra $32 a day. Crazy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcb193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sigrún J, Manager at Icelandair Hotel Akureyri, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Jcb
Thank you for taking your time evaluating our hotel. You are correct that we charge 8 $ for 24hrs use of the internet, we offer a safe and relatively quick internet connection. However our working rule is to charge only for one device even though guests are using more. One needs only to inform the reception staff regarding that. And also guests that upgrade to the 5th floor get the internet free of charge.
I am glad that you were pleased with our services apart from the Wifi and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
best regards
Sigrún Björk Jakobsdóttir, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bergen county, nj
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Hotel is in a great location, within 5 minutes of downtown. Also 1 minute walk away from the town pool (free admission from hotel).
Staff was very friendly. Rooms very modern and spacious.
Flatscreen TV with a few english channels, free local calls.
1 computer in the lobby with free internet, but wifi costs ~$7 a day.
Gorgeous views of the picturesque countryside can be seen from the fire escape on the top floor.
I found this to be a great place to stay and enjoyed my time in town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
224 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
71 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Property: Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing