We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but uphill from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had to walk down a very icy hill to get to town. We took a cab back! The hotel is new and very comfortable. Rooms were ready very quickly for our morning arrival. The buffet breakfast was very nice though not as extensive as the one at the Natura in Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

561 - 567 of 778 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

The lobby/lounge has a warm, inviting atmosphere and the front desk is efficient and helpful. My room has a modern look and large windows with a view. It is very comfortable. Across the street is the town swimming pool and sauna which is excellent and inexpensive. Breakfast is good. Staying at this hotel and spending time at the pool is one of the best vacation experiences I have had.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BASWIMMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Icelandair Hotel Akureyri a couple of weeks ago while on a very
quick Northern Lights tour of Iceland. Loved Akureyri and the hotel was really very, very
nice----new, clean, comfortable, and very quiet. It was a bit of a hike up the hill from the main part of town,
but we needed the exercise and it didn't hurt us at all. Town is delightful. We enjoyed the
welcome drink at the hotel (a hot rum drink---mostly apple juice) and the lobby there is warm
and welcoming. Breakfast buffet was fine, although nothing to rave about. Located directly
across the street from the city's swim center with different degrees of heated pools and such,
it is a great location and a good way to spend a cold afternoon or evening after touring the
sights. All the hotel's service workers were friendly and helpful at all times. Would give this
hotel a two thumbs-up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wonderful hotel at the top of the hill in Akureyri. A bit of a walk from downtown, and the sidewalks are pretty icy in town though they try to cover them with cinders, but not a bad walk. Rooms cozy and clean. Hotel staff very friendly. Plenty of hot water and heat. Hotel lobby doubles as a lounge with a fire place and lots of seating. Every night guests gathered and had drinks and chatted. Outdoor fireplace as well, but it was too cold during our recent stay. Public pool and spa across the street (worth the trip!) included in guest price. Great breakfast buffet, but dinner menu was pricey and limited (we had falafel and reindeer burgers). Room doors were difficult to close and require a key to lock them-- when going out.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great stay at Icelandair's Hotel Akureyri and enjoyed some fantastic tours with Saga Tours. The hotel was very clean, modern and comfortable. The lobby/lounge area was a fun and relaxing place to have a drink and visit with new friends. Our tour guides from Saga (Gisli and Gunner) did a fantastic job and took us to some amazing places. We are already planning a return trip for next summer.

Room Tip: The only problem we had with our room was with the shower curtain (not staying in place) and this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Do not miss the Akureyri Thermal pool in front of the hotel for which they will give you a free pass. Going there in winter it's 9AM and dark outside and snow and ice all around you. But you are warm and cozy.
The breakfast buffet is good and this is a short walk from the high street and they will even provide you with spikes for your shoes so you don't fall on the icy pavements.

Room Tip: for a small fee you can upgrade your room to the 5th floor and this is quite a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chantal V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel looks and feels every bit as new as it is. The rooms are cozy with a Zen-like Scandinavian feel. The lobby is cozy with a great happy hour and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The four, rather than five, rating is due to the restaurant and the accessibility to downtown. Although it is a short walk, the hotel is located at the top of a hill. The roads were incredibly icy and the free bus service was not dependable. The restaurant was serving a pricey prix fixe buffet for Thanksgiving and then a special Christmas dinner, which was more food than I wanted to eat, and the only other option was to go downtown. The free access to the pool across the street is a definite bonus to these accommodations.

Room Tip: The hotel has many ADA accessible rooms, which make for very large showers and accessories.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ndmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $104 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing