We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Visit to this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second Visit to this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second visit to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri and I wasn't disappointed. I found the staff very helpful, the rooms very comfortable, but might be thought a little small for a couple, but for a single person they are very comfortable. The food in the Restaurant is exceptional. The foyer is very comfortable and drinks and substantial snacks can be enjoyed there. There is Internet access available free in the lobby. The swimming pool, across the road, is a great advantage if you like to swim outdoors in beautifully clean pools. I would go back to this Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wychwoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    298
    67
    12
    1
See reviews for
92
346
54
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
856 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is our second Icelandicair Hotel. While they are small rooms compared to other countries, I like them as such. Clean, neat, simple, yet they were welcoming us to relax and enjoy. The view out of our 4th floor window is of snow capped mountains. I needed help with connections on my I pad and the staff was there for me. These hotels are well located to be able to walk and enjoy the city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Modern stylish hotel. Room very clean and inviting. Breakfast good.

Now the problems:
Check in was handled by one person who also was the bartender, cocktail waiter and answered the phone. Needless to say, a short line of 3 or 4 parties took over 1/2 an hour.
The walk to town is not unreasonable, but it is also not close.
I stayed on a Sunday evening in August. The noise from the club (?) next door was intense. No sleep possible until way after 1AM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stylish and modern hotel around 10 walking minutes away from city center. Friendly staff, free parking, coffee-maker on the room. Definitely worth the money. Heading into town from the wilderness of Iceland you are simply impressed when opening the door and standing in the middle of a clean and stylish hotel room.

Got to pay some 5 Euros for WiFi. Not a big sum but in the year 2012 that should come for free!

After all, definetely a good choice. 5 points

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McNamara_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in Akureyri for four days and enjoyed it a lot. The hotel is within a short walk of the town centre and other things to see such as the botanical garden. The staff were particularly obliging and helped us to arrange a number of things we wanted to do. The hotel facilities are excellent - comfortable rooms, very pleasant common areas with coffee and drinks available, and an excellent restaurant. The best dinner we had in Akureyri we had in the hotel. This is a really pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor facing the harbour provide an amazing view of the fjord and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripster91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
173 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

this is a great hotel- felt like you were staying in a room designed by Ikea --very modern, sleek, with clean lines. We enjoyed breakfast and dinner here and the food was delicious. there is a little sitting area outside to enjoy drinks and snacks. It was nice to relax here while watching the snowflakes drift downward in June. a short distance from downtown (about 10 minutes up the hill). Next to a public pool so you may hear the kids shouting. My favorite hotel in Iceland.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Solid hotel that makes you feel at home for a few days. Clean, nice rooms in a very good condition. Great comfortable bed, hot shower with a lot of pressure. The breakfast is very nice aswell - so is the dinner menu.
I would definatly recommend this hotel. It's situated close to the centre, in walking distance to a very good restaurant (rub 23) and a hot tub pool.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mi3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#3 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Property: Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing