We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Nearby Hotels
$333
$324
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kjarnalundur(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Akureyri(Akureyri)(Great Value!)
$211
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laugar(Laugar)
$227
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ibudir(Akureyri)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
797 results
Traveler rating
334
361
86
14
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
361
86
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillnorthern lightsglass doormodern hotelwest sidetoilet and sinkiceland airgreat lobbyhappy hourgeothermal pooldeluxe roombreakfast buffetfamily roomshower areatown centrereception areahotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
623 - 628 of 797 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent a weekend at the Icelandair hotel Akureyri and have to say this hotel is quite nice. The location is perfect, there is a thermal pool across the street and only 3-5 minutes walk to great restaurants. The rooms are spacy, beds wide and comfortable and each room has a TV and coffee facilities. The reception area contains soft chairs and sofas where you can enjoy your drink, read the newspapers and chat with friends. Breakfast is served in the dining rooms on first floor, there is a variety of yoghurts, cereals, fruits and breads. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a new property. The design and architecture are superb. The rooms are a good size and thoughtfully laid out. Staff are courteous, attentive, and well-trained.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Icelandair Hotel Akureyri was, by far, my best hotel experience during my 11 days in Iceland. The hotel permitted me to check in exceptionally early (the weather was crummy), and the receptionist recommended activities for my day, as the museums I had hoped to see were not yet open. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated in clean lines and minimalist Nordic style, from the lobby to the dining room and the guest rooms. Every interaction with the staff was warm and ALWAYS included a smile or laughter on both of our parts. The room was divine, as was the mountain view and community pool from the wall of windows. Breakfast options were expansive (really - caviar? minced lamb?) and delicious. I would come back to Iceland just to stay here again (and enjoy Akureyri all over!)

Room Tip: If you are specific about quiet, stay on the side of the hotel not facing the public pool as it is open rather late.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiBoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of an Iceland Air organized trip to see the Northern Lights in February 2012. It was a great base to see that part of Iceland and we were lucky and saw the northern lights and a 'Yule Ladd- Sausage Swiper'! We found the hotel comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. It is a modern newly refurbished hotel. The rooms are not huge but well designed so eveything is there and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is up the hill from the town centre but it is walkable or you can get a taxi. If you want a trip to see the Northern Lights go to Akureyri - it has a much more homely feel to it than Reykavick.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Beautiful new hotel from Icelandair in Akuryeri. Gorgeous lobby and beautiful, ultra-clean rooms that have been gorgeously style in a Nordic/Scandinavian theme. I went during low season so the rooms were great value. Close to the town (5 min walk downhill) and good happy-hour specials.
Very quiet, allowing you to sleep well. Wifi comes at an extra cost but there is a computer in the lobby that's free to use. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Be prepared for an uphill walk from the town center to this hotel, but it's good exercise!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoTravelGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews