We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Spent a weekend at the Icelandair hotel Akureyri and have to say this hotel is quite nice. The location is perfect, there is a thermal pool across the street and only 3-5 minutes walk to great restaurants. The rooms are spacy, beds wide and comfortable and each room has a TV and coffee facilities. The reception area contains soft chairs and sofas where you can enjoy your drink, read the newspapers and chat with friends. Breakfast is served in the dining rooms on first floor, there is a variety of yoghurts, cereals, fruits and breads. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riccardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (740)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

578 - 584 of 740 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a new property. The design and architecture are superb. The rooms are a good size and thoughtfully laid out. Staff are courteous, attentive, and well-trained.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in - I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Icelandair Hotel Akureyri was, by far, my best hotel experience during my 11 days in Iceland. The hotel permitted me to check in exceptionally early (the weather was crummy), and the receptionist recommended activities for my day, as the museums I had hoped to see were not yet open. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated in clean lines and minimalist Nordic style, from the lobby to the dining room and the guest rooms. Every interaction with the staff was warm and ALWAYS included a smile or laughter on both of our parts. The room was divine, as was the mountain view and community pool from the wall of windows. Breakfast options were expansive (really - caviar? minced lamb?) and delicious. I would come back to Iceland just to stay here again (and enjoy Akureyri all over!)

Room Tip: If you are specific about quiet, stay on the side of the hotel not facing the public pool as it is o...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaiBoken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of an Iceland Air organized trip to see the Northern Lights in February 2012. It was a great base to see that part of Iceland and we were lucky and saw the northern lights and a 'Yule Ladd- Sausage Swiper'! We found the hotel comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. It is a modern newly refurbished hotel. The rooms are not huge but well designed so eveything is there and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is up the hill from the town centre but it is walkable or you can get a taxi. If you want a trip to see the Northern Lights go to Akureyri - it has a much more homely feel to it than Reykavick.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiggerlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Beautiful new hotel from Icelandair in Akuryeri. Gorgeous lobby and beautiful, ultra-clean rooms that have been gorgeously style in a Nordic/Scandinavian theme. I went during low season so the rooms were great value. Close to the town (5 min walk downhill) and good happy-hour specials.
Very quiet, allowing you to sleep well. Wifi comes at an extra cost but there is a computer in the lobby that's free to use. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Be prepared for an uphill walk from the town center to this hotel, but it's good exercise!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TorontoTravelGirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We booked this hotel directly for the weekend and could not be happier with our choice. Staff was very friendly, especially the girl who checked us out on Monday, April 9th. I am sorry I did not get her name but she really made our day. The entire hotel is new and nicely furnished, simple, modern and clean. We really enjoyed our breakfast, especially the herring was something new and delicious. Our room was on the top floor with a view of the fjord and mountains. This hotel might be a best choice when staying in Akureyri to explore many interesting areas of the Northern Iceland. I only wish we had more time to stay since there is so much to see and do, especially if you are hiring a car.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LBC3691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Icelandair Hotel Akureyri for a long weekend with our four kids. We were given two connecting rooms which worked perfectly and a third room across the hall for the teenagers. The stay was very nice and you feel very welcome the minute you walk into the lobby. The hotel has a very Scandinavian design and the lobby is very cosy. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and made you feel right at home.

Would definitely reccommend this hotel in Akureyri.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
573 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Akureyri
Hotel Akureyri
#4 of 8 in Akureyri
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kjarnalundur
Hotel Kjarnalundur
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
Hotel Edda - Akureyri
#5 of 8 in Akureyri
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#7 of 8 in Akureyri
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Akureyri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Akureyri

Address: Thingvallastraeti 23, Akureyri, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Akureyri
Price Range: $108 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icelandair Hotel Akureyri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri is your comfy base camp to enjoy and experience Iceland's beautiful North. Stay and play in our vibrant Northern capital, with its many shops, restaurants, local events and friendly people. Explore the amazing countryside, full of some of Iceland's most amazing natural attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Akureyri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing