We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lake Myvatn tour - what an adventure”

The Traveling Viking
Ranked #9 of 27 Tours in Akureyri
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Traveling Viking is a family run tour company in Akureyri.We focus on high quality tours around Iceland with focus on the North. Our Game of Thrones tour is the original one, chosen by the producers of GoT.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lake Myvatn tour - what an adventure”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had booked our tour well in advance of our trip and as you know, the weather in Iceland can be unpredictable. Our tour was scheduled for the day after a major snow storm. To get to Lake Myvatn, you need to go through 3 mountain passes. Our guide called us the day prior to let us know that the pick up time would be delayed by 1 hour to allow for the ploughs to clear the roads. When we got to the moutain pass, the road was still being cleared. Our guide, Stephan, gave us the option of going back or follow the plough. We chose the option to wait it out. As we made our way, the banks of snow where so high that at times it felt as if we were in a snow tunnel. The trip through the mountains ended up taking 3 hours - through out the journey, Stephan kept us engaged in conversation and more importantly, kept us safe.

Although it took such a long time to get to the Lake Myvatn area, our tour was not shortened. We were still able to visit all the sites although at times, it meant that we had to hike in because of the amount of snow. When we were leaving the bubbling mud pits, another tour group's vehicle had gotten stuck in the snow. It was refreshing to see Stephan fully prepared - there was no hesitation. He quickly got out his ropes and towed them out. Stephan definitely earned his keep that day - what was to be a 6 - 7 hour tour was close to 11 hours. Throughout the tour, we never felt like we were on a schedule. He always gave us the option to explore areas where it was safe to do so.

If I'm ever stuck in snow, I hope Stephan is there to rescue me!! He is an excellent guide.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jondinn, Manager at The Traveling Viking, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad to hear you had such a good day out at Lake Myvatn with Stefan. We appreciate your good feedback and hope you had a nice and good homecoming
Best regards from Akureyri - Iceland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    10
    1
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Game of Thrones tour”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I flew into Akureyri to do a Game of Thrones tour with John. I really enjoyed it. I actually think it was one of the highlights of my trip. I got to see the beautiful landscape, many of the areas where Game of Thrones was shot including a gorgeous cave with crystal blue hot water in it, and I found John a very likable nice guy. I highly recommend him.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This tour was extremely disappointing. Having told Jon it was our second try at reaching Dettifoss he promised to do his best, "I will get you there" if possible. We had to fly from Reykjavik early in the morning for pick up at 8.00 at Akureyri. We rang the night before as weather had been bad and wanted to know if the trip was on. He said we could do a half day and receive a refund if it was not possible to get to Dettifoss. When we arrived at Myvatn he enquired re the possibility of reaching Dettifoss. The result was roads were closed. Surely a call from the airport that morning would have given us our answer. He was on the mobile many times during the day. After lunch there was no mention of a half day and refund. We were then taken on the worst tour ever - a bit of G of T, looking at Icelandic horses (they are beautiful but we have seen them) and then going through a ridiculous trek through snow with Jon acting out some troll play. It was absolutely ridiculous and a waste of money. In all honesty we think Jon could have accessed information earlier and given us the choice before lunch to shorten the tour. Too much time on the mobile and pointing out a feature and sitting in the 4WD while we wandered out to look. We will not try your tours again and could not recommend you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jondinn, Manager at The Traveling Viking, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your review.
We do have to mention that the day before the tour, along with the time of the bookings we did stay in touch and you informed that the entire visit to Dettifoss relied on road and weather conditions. You were as well informed that we were not cancelling the tour until the morning of the departure day. We answered all your questions about our cancellation policy and built on that information it was your decission to take if you would go on and fly to Akureyri or not. After we started the tour from the airport in Akureyri, again we talked about the weather condition and that we did not think it was any chance we would make it to Dettifoss. You knew that instead we were offering you our tour to Lake Myvatn. After several phonecalls it was TTV that decided to cancel the tour to Dettifoss waterfall. We still spend the entire day with you at Lake Myvatn gave you the best service we could. The decission of cancelling the tour to Dettifoss was first of all built on the safety of our passengers. After the tour we paid you back 40 % of the tour price.
Best regards from Akureyri Iceland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Myvatn, glamourous Gullfoss and an amusing Trollologist”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After having travelled with Jonthor before during Summer I decided when coming back to Iceland in Winter that there would only be one option to chose for my Sightseeing-Tour to Lake Myvatn: The Traveling Viking!
Me and a friend decided to put the tour at the start of our trip arround Iceland to already get into the right mood for the rest of the days. It was a cold but sunny winter day at the end of Nevember when we aere waiting in front of the Akureyri Backpacker's Hostel. Jon had chosen his Superjeep for the tour and while I already knew it it was definitely a Highlight for my friend who was pretty amazed by the size and power of this car.
Originally two other people were meant to join us but since they couldn't make it we were alone. Jon told us that this was our tour and we should just telll him if we wanted to stop somewhere or see something else. We then drove to the Lake Myvatn. On our way we stopped at the amazing waterfall Gullfoss which is beautiful in summer but has something enchanted during winter time, surrounded by snow and ice. Afterwards we stopped at Hverir where it seemed like trolls were cooking under the earth (and I guess it wasn't something tastefull regarding the interesting smell of the smoke...;-))Jon gave us all the time we wanted to walk arround, admire the power of mother earth and take some silly pictures in the smoke. Once we were done we continued driving and stopped for a lunch break at a smal restaurant. We got the opportunity to taste the "Geysir-Bread" which is baked inside of the earth only using the natural heat coming from there. It was delicious!
Fully satisfied we then drove arround Lake Myvatn and Jon was sharing all of his incredible knowledge about the geography of this place with us. He managed to do that in a non-dry way so that it was really fun to listen to him and at the same time gather some new knowledge.
Afterwards we drove to Dimmuborgir, a really interesting ü/place with a lot of strange lava sculptures. Now we got to experience first hand why Jon was also called a Trollologist!
He entertained us for at least 1 1/2 hour, telling us stories about almost every lava sculpture (you need to know that in fact it is not lava, but frozen Trolls). I don't want to tell you much more, only that it was hilarious and you shouldn't miss out on it!
The highlight was then when we met one of the Icelandic Yule Lads who was hiding in a cave at Dimmuborgir ;-)
When we came back to the car we decided that we didn't want to stop by the Nature Bath at Lake Myvatn because we were planning to come back on our own. This wasn't a problem at all for Jon and so we were driving back to Akureyri where Jon dropped us off again at the Backpacker's Hostel.
It was a very interesting day with some very good laughs, beautiful Icelandic nature and the best start into our Iceland experience we could have wished for.
Thank you TTV!:-)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ehhlisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good idea but very poor tour”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This tour was meant to be the highlight of our Iceland visit but it was the biggest disappointment. Driving around with computer in the car to show us video clips from the GoT is a bed idea and we learned nothing more then we could find ourselves in 10 minutes on the www. We read reviews on Jon, but we're really unimpressed. He was not personable to our small group and spent most of the time on his cell phone. I recommend to Jon to make it more of an experience for your guests even if they don't have the best weather. We are all spending a lot of money and don't want to just sit in the car for hours in this beautiful surrounds by Lake Myvatn. We want to see and hear GoT facts that can only learned and done by joining GoT tour. Don't get me wrong, all the Lake Myvatn area and waterfall Godfoss was great but we got nothing GoT out of it. Huge disappointment

Sorry Jon - wanted to leave a better review, but need to be honest that the overall experience wasn't good. I'm sure if one visits the beautiful and unreal Lake Myvatn area it's great no matter what, but you need to help make it more of an GoT experience. Otherwise this will simply be like any Lake Myvatn tour + cell phone and minimum GoT ino

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Spocktoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Traveling Viking also viewed

Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 
Akureyri, Northeast Region
Akureyri, Northeast Region
 

Been to The Traveling Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing