We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brekkusel Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 30 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I reserved weeks in advanced and was to stay for a night today. I called to check-in since they don't have people stationed at the guesthouse to serve you, which is understandable since it's off season. I called for an hour, at both numbers provided and no one picked up. Must have made 30 calls. Took a cab to the guesthouse and called more times with no answer. Frustrated, I called another place where I was immediately attended to. It was raining/ sleeting and I had to lug my huge luggage around in foul weather and take two cabs to the guesthouse and from the guesthouse to another guesthouse eventually. I had a reservation, this is inexcusable.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank Marmottalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

Instead of staying in the guesthouse, we booked a house from Brekkuselt - obviously more expensive but a small peaceful luxury for a family. It accomodated easily and nicely four persons. Nice not too plush decoration, good kitchen facilities, flat TV+DVD. A very nice view to the fjord. Parking available by the street next to the front door. Spacious and green backyard. To the downtown Akureyriu a 10 minutes walk down the fill through nice neighborhood consisted of wooden and colorful houses.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed two nights in Brekkusel. It was overall a nice place and would have been a nice stay if it was cleaner and more comfortable. The bed we had was very lumpy, and not only that, didn't appear to be covered with a real sheet. It looked almost as if it was just covered with a badly stained mattress cover. The shower area was also kind of dirty, and the towels were stained.
I think this could have been a really nice place if the rooms were kept up a little better.
I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wunderlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This was a lovely self catering room, with en suite kitchen and bathroom. Spacious, warm ad tastefully decorated, we were a short walk away from the town centre. Very good value for money - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tango_tastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dubaldein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Mrigamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eli V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nordurland by Keahotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
Hotel Kea by Keahotels
#2 of 8 in Akureyri
594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gula Villan B&B
Gula Villan B&B
#21 of 30 in Akureyri
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akureyri Backpackers
Akureyri Backpackers
#1 of 27 in Akureyri
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Akureyri
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibudir
Hotel Ibudir
#6 of 8 in Akureyri
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brekkusel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brekkusel Guesthouse

Address: Byggdavegur 97, Akureyri 600, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range: $81 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brekkusel Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We emphasize on a cosy and homely accomodation in a charming guesthouse situated in the heart of Akureyri. Brekkusel is within a walking distance from the town centre, the swimmingpool and local attractions. A minimarket is just across the road.Brekkusel guesthouse offers you a friendly and quiet hospitality all year around. The rooms are available with or without bathrooms and all our guests have access to a fully equipped kitchen. We do also offer sleeping bag accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brekkusel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing