We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy guesthouse at a good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akurinn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akurinn
Ranked #24 of 27 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Bergen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cosy guesthouse at a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

We were 3 persons and stayed in this guesthouse for 2 nights, and we really enjoyed our stay.
The guesthouse is a cosy older villa, situated about 7 minutes from downtown in a quiet residential area.
We had a double room and a twin room on the third floor, so some steps had to be forced. Both rooms were spacious and clean, with good beds. The double room had a little balcony from where we had a nice view over the town.
There was one spacious bathroom (shower and wc) on this floor to be shared. There was also a common suite area and a spacious balcony.
The breakfast was good, e.g. with 3 types of good bread, cheese, ham, herring, muesli, marmalade, different types of melk and yoghurt. One day home-made pancakes were available.
There were good possiblities for drying clothes in the back yard. This is important when you like to visit pools 0-)
The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    4
    11
    2
See reviews for
7
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed in AkurInn in the city of Akureyri in February. The host was great, she upgraded me to a spacious room with a bathroom. There was also a living room / breakfast area that the guests could use. The breakfast was on the "sweet" side but very tasty. And you could have your tea anytime you wanted during the day. The building itself was beautiful. Wi-fi was fast and available. I really enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaHaWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2009

Very nice and cousy guesthouse with an exellent breakfast.
Arna was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sergioxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

Old and nice house, the old owners are funny and customer oriented. Basic and clean accomodation in a very good position in Akureyri, 150 meters from downtown. The breakfast is a little bit poor. Wifi available.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

We spent one night at AkurInn during out two day trip up to north Iceland. We flew from Reykjavik to Akureryi. Akureryi provides a great starting point for exploration of the Lakey Myvatn region, the northern "desert" region of Iceland. We also visited the "blue lagoon of the north" that was far more accessible, far less overcrowded, and far less commercialized than the actual Blue Lagoon in the south.

AkurInn is well-located near the top of Akureryi, within 8-10 minute walking distance to the town centre.

AkurInn is an older house and there are several rooms for guests. Washroom facilities must be shared, as there are no rooms with ensuite washrooms. There are two washrooms: one on the main floor, and one on the 2nd floor. We had to wait to use the washroom downstairs that is used for showers. This was somewhat annoying in the morning as it delayed our departure from AkurInn.

Breakfast was mediocre and certainly the worst of all the breakfasts we had at the several guesthouses we stayed at across Iceland. There was one cheese and one sandwich meat offered with bread. The bread was stale. Two packaged cereals were offered; none of the natural muesli on offer at other guesthouses. One yoghurt was allocated per house guest. Breakfast was consumed around one large table with other house guests.

Rooms and bedding are clean. Pillows were very firm and not comfortable for me, but that's a personal preference.

We didnt' like staying AkurInn. We've stayed in other guesthouses in Iceland that had a better feel to them. The breakfast in the morning was a sombre affair. The manager/owner wasn't the friendliest person, but our experience in Iceland was that the country doesn't always roll out the red carpet for tourists. We don't need pampering, but a bit of a more friendly, more welcoming, and more customer-driven approach could help the country appeal to more tourists and delight them. And this is certainly the case at AkurInn.

If we were ever to return to Akureryi, we wouldn't stay here again.

What we did like about AkurInn was that it was located one block to the local public library, where we were able to get internet access for a small fee.

Do check out the Indian restaurant in downtown Akureryi for the delicious tandoori Lake Myvatn trout. Amazing!

  • Liked — Proximity to local library where internet access is available for small fee
  • Disliked — Not a friendly, welcoming owner/host. Mediocre breakfast. Wait for shared shower in morning.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabbagetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkurinnAkureyri, Owner at Akurinn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
At the first floor we have two rooms sharing a bathroom, at the second floor we have three rooms sharing a bathroom. We also have two rooms with private bathroom and one apartment (seperate entrance, kitchen, two rooms and one bathroom).
We hope that the additions we made in the breakfast buffet will satisfy our guests wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akureyri hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.6 mi away
Brekkusel Guesthouse
Brekkusel Guesthouse
#22 of 27 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amma Guesthouse
Amma Guesthouse
#10 of 27 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akureyri Guesthouse
Akureyri Guesthouse
#19 of 23 in Akureyri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
FE Accommodation
FE Accommodation
#7 of 27 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lonsa Farm Holidays
Lonsa Farm Holidays
#20 of 23 in Akureyri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Our Guesthouse
Our Guesthouse
#7 of 23 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akurinn

Property: Akurinn
Address: Brekkugata 27a, Akureyri, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akurinn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in an old and respectable looking house with a nice view, near the center of Akureyri. The rooms are for one up to six people. We have two double rooms with private bathroom.We offer sleepingbag rooms on request. And you can order breakfast with the room. We offer free coffee and tea and we have free wireless in all rooms.The guesthouse is only 200 meters from the center of Akureyri, 300 meters from Glerartorg, which is the shopping mall in Akureyri and only 600 meters from the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Akurinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing