We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service and rooms for a guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akurinn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akurinn
Ranked #24 of 27 Akureyri B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and rooms for a guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed for three nights in a single room and was pleased with the service n room I got for the price. Each room comes with a sink(useful for washing clothes n simple washing up). There's a shared toilet on each floor n these are kept clean even when there are lots of people staying. Theres a good kitchen, a lovely dining area facing the mountains, and the owners are a really nice couple. I was offered a single room despite having booked sleeping bag accommodation in the other "garage" house( note this is off season). The walls are thin though but unlike cheaper guesthouses, you womt find man rowdy guests here Oh free juice n coffee in the lounge area too! Highly recommended for guesthouse standards. Location is perfect too. Just a three minute walk to the charming little town center.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmottalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    4
    11
    2
See reviews for
7
19
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We had booked at another guest house and they passed on our booking to the AkurInn. Our room had 3 beds and the one we were not using had a bare stained mattress. Nice. There was a tiny window and no wardrobe of any kind in the room. The price was high for the accommodation we got.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the converted garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglaisenautriche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkurinnAkureyri, Owner at Akurinn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
The guests wrote: "We had booked at another guest house and they passed on our booking to the AkurInn." Their reservation was not at Akurinn. They were lucky to get any room in high season without reservation. In summertime we are very busy. And the rooms in the backyard are the last rooms we offer. We show guests the rooms and they decide, if they want to stay. Guests who make a reservation, get rooms in the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Akureyri hotels

USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Pros: 3-4 blocks to city, free parking, and nice owners
Cons: terribly noisy, thin thin walls, poor internet wifi connectivity, expensive, and worst of all, no curtains or blinds. You NEED curtains or blinds or both in Iceland where it's always daylight out. So basically, it's noisy, and bright, and expensive for what you're getting. We stayed in 4 different rooms there, and all of them were bad.

Try Sulur hotel. It was much much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howardchang79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AkurinnAkureyri, Owner at Akurinn, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We have curtains or blinds in every room. Some of the blinds are white. It seems that the guest didn't see them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this guesthouse. We stayed in a small, 2 bed room in 'sleeping bag' accommodation (i.e., you get a discount for bringing your own linen), in a sort of bunker just outside the main house. There was not much natural light, but that helped to sleep through the midnight sun! But it did make it rather stuffy (even when the weather outside was quite cold!) There was a small fridge in the room and tea/coffee making facilities as well as a small shower room.

We were able to use the kitchen and dining room in the main house, which was great for making our own meals. A huge supermarket is just 5 minutes away. The centre of town was also just five minutes away. The owners of the guesthouse were kind, but not overbearing.

We loved Akureyri: a very quaint little town with a great atmosphere and cute cafes.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKonger4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth West Aus
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

My third visit, this time in Summer (ish), having stayed here for skiing twice in February 2011. As other reviewers write, it's central, quiet, friendly, clean. Be aware it's a B and B, not a hotel, but good at being what it is. I've eaten several times at the local recommended restaurants, including Greiffen, where I had the Salt Cod in red wine sauce ( with a half bottle of Chilean Malbec) which I number amongst the best meals I have ever eaten. Akureyri is a great Ski destination, having reliable snow ( unlike Reykjavik) and a cheap bus that goes from the centre of town to the Ski field, about 30 minutes.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri, Iceland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

I've stayed at AkurInn three times (August 2009, February 2010 & August 2010), and I will happily stay here again. The rooms are very comfortable: clean, quiet, and decorated in a simple, tasteful fashion. The owners provide personal service and are very helpful. I agree with other reviewers that the location can't be beat. It is a very short walk to be in the center of town, where you can find restaurants and shops. It's also just a 10 minute walk from the town swimming pool (not to be missed) and a 20 minute walk from the university and research institutes (my reason for being here). The free coffee and tea are convenient, and the two balconies are great locations to sit and have a cup (weather permitting). The breakfast is a typical Scandinavian breakfast: a variety of meats, fish, breads, jams, etc.
My biggest reason for returning to AkurInn when I travel to Akureyri is because the owners have made me feel very welcome at their guest house, and I enjoy comfortable stays each time. It's a good place for me to get my work done, and I can relax here, too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenFromTheIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

I stayed two nights here in August 2010 (in a happy coincidence, including the night of town celebrations as Akureyri opened their new cultural centre). This is a really nice guesthouse. Rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable, staff is friendly, nice kitchen area, there's free juice-drink and coffee on tap at all times, and you can't beat the location: right next to the downtown shopping area, but on a normal residential street (so you're not over a bar or anything, and it's nice and quiet at night). While walking around exploring Akureyri, I noticed a lot of the guesthouses were located further up on the hillside. This was right next to the downtown area, but still managed to be quiet. Very reasonable rates, too. Nothing bad to say about the place at all. I stayed here at the end of my trip and really liked it; I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akureyri hotels
0.6 mi away
Brekkusel Guesthouse
Brekkusel Guesthouse
#22 of 27 in Akureyri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amma Guesthouse
Amma Guesthouse
#10 of 27 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Akureyri Guesthouse
Akureyri Guesthouse
#19 of 23 in Akureyri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
FE Accommodation
FE Accommodation
#7 of 27 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lonsa Farm Holidays
Lonsa Farm Holidays
#20 of 23 in Akureyri
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Our Guesthouse
Our Guesthouse
#7 of 23 in Akureyri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akurinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akurinn

Property: Akurinn
Address: Brekkugata 27a, Akureyri, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Northeast Region > Akureyri
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Akureyri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Akurinn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse is in an old and respectable looking house with a nice view, near the center of Akureyri. The rooms are for one up to six people. We have two double rooms with private bathroom.We offer sleepingbag rooms on request. And you can order breakfast with the room. We offer free coffee and tea and we have free wireless in all rooms.The guesthouse is only 200 meters from the center of Akureyri, 300 meters from Glerartorg, which is the shopping mall in Akureyri and only 600 meters from the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Akurinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing