We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Superb Christmas”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room, the sofa can be changed into a double sofa bed Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Living room, the sofa can be changed into a double sofa bed
Dining area
Living room
Kitchen
Large bedroom
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Large bedroom
Bathroom
Bahroom
Smaller bedroom
Welcome - we are open for business
The cottage - view from the sea
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
There are 3 cottages on site
Kalastaðir
Northen lights at Kalastaðir
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Akranes, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
klunk71
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply Superb Christmas”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My family and I spent a week over Christmas in this two bed cottage on the shoreline of this beautiful Fjord. We met the owners on arrival and they could not have been friendlier and they gave us the warmest of welcomes as did their three Beagles. After picking up the keys we made our way down the driveway to where the three cabins are situated. They are close together but far enough apart for privacy. The cabins all had Christmas lights in the windows and they looked really festive. Upon entering into the cabin it was lovely and warm from the underfloor heating and it has Christmas decorations up inside, again which was a really nice touch. The cabin is spacious and was very clean and tidy. There is everything you need for your stay in the cabin, the bedrooms are comfortable and warm and the kitchen has everything you need to cook a Christmas lunch as we did. Then as an added bonus there is the Hot Pot(tub). You fill this from a Tap inside and you can set the temperature to what best suits you. It fills really quickly and don’t be put off by the smell as it’s filled by Geothermal Water. There was no better was to relax after a day out sightseeing than sitting in the HotPot looking up at the Stars and over the Moonlit Fjord with the mountains in the background. We were also lucky enough to see the Northern lights just to make our holiday. The cabins are ideally situated for all of the sights like Geysir, Gullfoss, Snafellness peninsula and Reykjavík etc. The cabins, the location and the owners cannot be faulted and this was a Superb way to spend our Christmas and we highly recommend it. We shall definitely return to Iceland and these Cabins.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you for your kind words :-) We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for being perfect guests and you are always welcome back :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M
Bishop, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful vacation on the shore”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed in one of these cottages in Feb 2016 and enjoyed it so much we brought our whole family back (our two sons) this summer. Everything was just as we remembered it: quite wonderful! The location is very peaceful and quiet being away from the city but still close enough to nearby towns (Akranes, Borganes) that you can get anything you need with 10-20 minute drive. Although being summer there were no Northern Lights we did get to finally see the seals sunning themselves on the shoreline and got quite close before they dove back into the water.
We actually rented two of the cabins this time (#2 and #3) so we and our two teenage boys had room to "spread out" (not really "boys" at this age, they are two men!) Had they been young kids (under 10) I think cabin 3 alone would have been more than enough. Cabin three has an extra room and is a few feet wider than the smaller cabins and almost feels palatial when going from 2 to 3! Cabin 3 is really designed for larger groups, it has a larger refrigerator and a dishwasher, whereas cabin 2 has no dishwasher and a small fridge - however Cabin 2 is perfect for a couple so nothing against cabin 2 just saying if you have a group of more than 2 I'd probably opt for cabin 3.
We definitely plan on coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2017
Dear Greg
It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to see the seals. We hope to see you again. You and your family are always welcome at Kalastaðir :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigEdo
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Relaxation”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for a week as a couple. The cottage was fine for us, could easily have accommodated 4 but any more than this could be a bit of a squeeze if for longer than a couple of days.
Organisation and advice before we arrived was excellent and so we got to the relaxation very quickly. The location is stunning, on the edge of the fjord, surrounded by mountains and with the most fabulous bird life. It is easy to get to from Reykjavik, or Keflavik airport, and close enough to Akranes or Borgarnes for any groceries or services. We spent most of your time out on the road, and this location is perfect for anywhere on the west (Snefellsnes, Golden Circle, Bjarnefoss...).
After long days out soaking up the beauty and wonder of Iceland it was great to return to such a relaxing cottage. The kitchen is well appointed and so we only ate out once. It was so easy to pick up some Iceland lamb and throw it on the barbecue. Then we would retire to the hot tub for a great soak. Endless supplies of volcanic spring water, stunning views, the seabird overture and a cold beer/wine/ schnapps, made evening a wonderful time.
We will be back, probably in Winter for the Aurora, but we wouldn't hesitate recommending this wonderful place to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2016
Thank you for staying at our cottage and for making time to review it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Kalastaðir. You are always welcome :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry87
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway!”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After browsing through hotels in Reykjavik we decided to look through the holiday rentals and I am glad we did. We came across this beautiful lodge with a stunning view and thought it was too good to be true!

The owner (Brynja) replied extremely quickly and the following communication back and forth was just as good. She was polite and friendly and made us aware of everything we needed to know before arriving. Also very flexible with our needs. It was lovely to meet Brynja on our second day and have a quick chat and a catch up, I thought that was a nice touch as they live close enough to help but not to be intrusive.

The lodge is large and we stayed in the biggest of the three. We had a bedroom at each end with a kitted out kitchen/diner in the middle with the lounge in the same room. Nice sized bathroom with perfect rainfall shower, just what I needed!

The walk down to the sea was pleasant and its nice for a relaxing walk, however, we didn't see any seals on our travels.

The "Hot Pot" was... hot haha. It took some getting used to with the temperature but we got there in the end.

I am looking at coming back in 2017 so this will be my go to place.

Nearest shops - Akranes - 30 minutes
Nearest centre - Reykjavik - 60 minutes (through toll at 1000 Isk)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Property, Views, Brynja
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you Garry for being our guest and for making time to review the cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and really look forward to seeing you again in 2017 :-) You are always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimsed
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ah this place!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We're just back and absolutely loved our week long stay in the larger cabin (#3). It was spotlessly clean and so warm but the view and location are just out of this world. We stayed with two young kids and the peace and freedom of roaming down to the shore and hanging out in the hot tub was priceless. Brynja and her husband were so welcoming and helpful. We had car trouble which was solved promptly with no fuss and we got a great tour of the farm animals and tractors. No pictures could do this property justice. We would highly recommend.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2016
Thank you Aimsed for being our guest. We are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some day :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sw-Har
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful and peaceful!”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the larger cottage for just under 2 weeks. It is soooo warm and cosy and the view is amazing. It is very peaceful. We walked down to the beach and saw seals. We also travelled to Thingvellir, Geysir and Gulfoss which you can easily do in a day from the cottage (although we loved Thingvellir so much we went back another day too).
The hot tub is wonderful, very relaxing.
It was also reassuring to know that Brynja is not far away if needed but at the same time left us to enjoy the peaceful beauty.
You definitely need a car to get here, but the roads were very clear most of the time. There is a website to check the roads first before setting off for the day.
We would definitely recommend Kalastadir!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Dear Amelia

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again at Kalastaðir :-) You are always welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M
Bishop, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy getaway offers unparalleled calm and quiet”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking to get away from it all, the crowds, the traffic, this is the place to go! Although only 45 minutes outside of Reykjavik when you go outside and wander down to the short of the bay the only thing you can hear is - nothing- except for the wildlife (birds, which have an interesting non-chirping call). Very peaceful and relaxing. The cabin itself is also wonderful. The first thing that you note, at least in the winter when we were there, is how thoroughly and completely warm it is inside. We learned that free hot water abounds all over Iceland and in this cabin it is used for radiant floor heating throughout. No drafts, hot cold spots, just complete absolutely blanketing warmth.
We stayed in Cabin #3 which is said to accommodate up to 8... while that is true it would probably not be fun. It was just the two of us and it was quite roomy. There was another room we did not use, so 4 would be no problem at all. There are two couches with fold out beds (we did not try them) so I think that is how they get up to another 4. Anyway, the cabin easily accommodates 4, 6 would be ok but I suspect 8 would be doable but you'd probably get on each others nerves.
Another great feature was the huge hot tub (or 'hot pot" as translated there) outside. Owing to all the free hot water you simply turn a valve and fill it up with fresh hot water with each use (i.e. you don't have to heat a big cold tub up). Just make sure the dial says somewhere between 30-40 C otherwise if over 60 you can't physically get in and will have to wait for it to cool or drain and start over. When done, you just drain it all out. No waste, hot water is like air there! It does take about 30-40 minutes to fully fill it up though. This was like our own personal Blue Lagoon, temps were just below freezing while there but we could hop right in the super heated water.
Location is good as well, only about 20 minutes from Akranes where there is a grocery that we stocked up our first day and easy access to the top half of the Golden Circle.
Just a note, when we arrived it was a bit confusing where to go to "check in" - there is a house at the end of the driveway with a window facing out that looks like a service window... but that's not the owner's house, there is a sign a bit further down the drive that points to the left, but to what it is pointing you can't really tell at first, just drive down there to what looks like a residential home (which it is) and that is the owner's home.
All in all we had a wonderful time in Iceland and at this cabin and look forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the unlimited heat and hot water
Liked least: minimal storage space for clothing if one plans to completely unpack luggage
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2016
Dear Greg

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at Kalastaðir :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing