We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice and calm Cottage away from tourist crouds”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Dining area
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom
Swimmingpool 3 km from the cottages
Sildarmannagötur - a hiking trail from Hvalfjörður to Skorradalur
Glymur, Iceland´s tallest waterfall- about 18 km from the cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Akranes, West Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lola_1417
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and calm Cottage away from tourist crouds”
Reviewed July 31, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent 7 days in this nice cottage, away from tourist crouds. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need. We loved the beach with the seals and the Hot Pot on the terrace!
Reykjavic, the Golden Circel Area and Snaefellnes are reachable by car. Even if you have to drive a few kilometers more, the nice and calm environment compensates for that by far. Very good for both - relaxing and sightseeing!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellin...
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Cottage, Great Location”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed three nights in Cottage 1 early in October and had a fantastic stay.
The property is immaculately kept and has all the creature comforts of home for your stay. We stayed as a family of three (2 adults and a 14 month old) and enjoyed it as a base to explore Snæfellsjökull which was a great full day trip to explore.
The farm which the property is on is beautiful and we explored the shoreline to find some friendly seals bobbing up to see us.
The owner was very helpful and friendly to us throughout our stay.
We would recommend this property to stay in, it was a great start to our week long trip to Iceland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Dear Margy

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing our cottage and you are always welcome if you decide to visit Iceland again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom61...
2 reviews
“Excellent location in an awesome country.”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cottage was perfect; comfortable and relaxing with beautiful views and beach with seals. Easy to get to the main attractions. We loved it here. Warm welcome from the owner and her two wonderful beagles.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from a Hot Tub!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
Thank you for staying at our cottage and for taking time to review it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. You are always welcome at Kalastadir ☺
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our best summervacation ever”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I was an overall great experience, the location and the kindness of the owners was tiptop. Our kids are still today talking about our trip to Iceland and really hope that we are going back to Kalastadir next year. The cottage was clean and the kitchen equipped with everything, we needed. The owners were very helpful in regards to the all the questions, that we had in regards to sightseeing spots and the history/culture of Iceland. The open, wide surroundings, so close to the water with the seals coming up in the afternoon was perfect . We had several days, where we were only at the cottage/ in the nearby area because the location of the cottages (and it cosiness) made it possible to relax and still experience the real Iceland with all its varieties without going very far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the cottage
Liked least: No blackout curtains in the bed rooms (hard to fall a sleep when you are not used to that the sun never sets)
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snarl71
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Spectacular Setting and View Outside, Cozy and Warm Inside”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Kalastadir Cottage #1 in May 2015.

Although only about an hour outside of the capital city, Reykjavik, the setting is the most serene you could imagine. There are three cottages (this cottage was the first you reach on the driveway) are staggered in a way so that you have privacy and unobstructed views of the fjord and mountains.

You enter the cottage on a back deck that overlooks the surroundings. On that deck is a hot tub for soaking (there are no bubble jets). You just fill it the first night and close the cover when your'e done and the temperature remains the same (or you can add a little more water to make it warmer). We were there in May and had nearly 24 hours of sunlight and enjoyed spending time in the hot tub looking at the view at 1:00am.

Inside the cottage is a kitchen/dining/living room with all the basic amenities you would need. Microwave, stove top, sink, fridge, pots, pans, plates, cooking utensils..even spices and oils. There's a dining room table with seating for 4, plus a sofa and television.

The bedroom was small but comfortable with a queen size bed and night stand.

The bathroom is well appointed with contemporary fixtures and a shower.

Throughout the cottage there are heated floors (average summer highs are only the 50's (F). You can also open windows for cooler air. The property also offers free wifi.

The reservation process was simple. Check in was equally simple (they provided good directions from the airport. We paid approximately $13 extra per person for linens (for the stay....not per night) and that included bedding, pillows, and towels.

We did have trouble filling the hot tub the first night (the temperature was extremely hot and we couldn't get cold water to cool it down). The owner (who actually built the cottages himself) came down and fixed it quickly and we had an enjoyable conversation with him. Other than that, despite there being two other cottages nearby, you get complete privacy and silence.

Our biggest regret was that we couldn't stay here longer. If you're looking for good views, comfortable space, and relaxation, this is the place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and hot tub...and the view FROM the hot tub!
Liked least: the linens weren't very plush for an extra $13 per person.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul81201...
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous cosy lodge in spectacular location”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Well what a fabulous romantic place for a couple to stay, a small but very cosy lodge in a stunning waterside & mountainous location, so picturesgue and peaceful. Arrived in deep snow so glad we had a 4x4 for getting around. Ideally located for touring the Golden Circle highlites, the hot springs, the waterfalls, the National Park & Reykjavik. Highly recommended. Hot tub a bonus! Very friendly & helpful owners on hand if we needed them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Sulphur smell from the hot water!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Out in the sticks (Wiltshire)
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing. It was perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing