We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“experience Iceland”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2006

Fortunately I had the opportunity to stay for a while in this unique hotel this year, that offers unlike most other anonymous and "sterile" hotels a very family-like atmosphere and the whole decoration and every single article of daily use is well chosen and seems to be a part of an art collection.
The location is of amazing beauty and looking onto the fjord will never get tiring, rspecially while sitting in the hot tubs under the Northern Lights with a glass of wine.
And if you are interested in learning to know more about icelandic people, there will be a lot of possibilities to talk or celebrate together with members of the staff. I am especially thinking of my last evening, when one of the cooks and another guest from the UK entertained us with competing with each other at the guitar. You won't experience things like this in an ordinary hotel.
I will return as soon as I can. Do yourself a favour and spend your holidays here, too.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Stefan83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 551 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2006

We arrived in Iceland to cold and windy weather and I feared my bride might call off the wedding! But our drive to Glymur changed all that. The skies were clear of clouds as we drove into the hotel car park overlooking the beautiful sun-bathed Fjord.

We were married in the hotel and photographed in the most wonderful scenery of the hotel and landscape - even Tom Cruise and Katie could´n't match it with their wedding in Italy on the same day!

The Hotel's staff were wonderfully friendly and we were entertained to a sumptuous Christmas buffet with 140 other diners. Every fish and meat was on offer and the experience surpassed any standard wedding meal.

How do you finish that? With a bathe in the Hot Tub overlooking the Fjord before retiring to the cosy Bridal Suite decorated in fresh rose petals. A wonderful day!

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank Ex-Bachelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

My wife and I went to Iceland for our Honeymoon and spent the first three days staying at the Hotel Glymur. We were captivated by the views we saw on the website, along with the remoteness of it and the hot tubs.

We booked up a package with them that would include morning/evening meals along with some excursion to the local fjord and a stop off at the Blue Lagoon. We were picked up from the airport promptly by Einar who is the son of the owners. He was extremely helpful and friendly, during the trip from the airport to the hotel via the stop at the Blue Lagoon. He assisted us with all questions we had and did it with a smile.

Once we got to the hotel we realised that the views were not exaggerated by the website, if anything the pictures did not do it justice. We were fortunate enough to have lovely weather during our visit, but I am sure it would still be spectacular without the brilliant sunshine we enjoyed.

The rooms are not extravagant by any stretch of the imagination, but then we also visited some more known hotels during our stay such as the Hotel Borg and although that was obviously a higher standard I would not say that these rooms were much worse. I was happy with the cleanliness and the general decor, although a few finishing touches were to be applied as they had recently been refurbished.

Please note that the room is split into two levels, the lower the living area with the bathroom and the bedroom on the upper level. I assume the majority of the rooms are the same. This may not be appropriate for everyone, but we found it fine. The only thing I would mention is that it's a shame that the window was not viewable properly from the bed so you could lay in bed and admire the wonderful view!

The food was excellent. I had no complaints at all about the standard, in fact I expected less than what we received. As mentioned before, we went for a package that included the evening meals and this also included a "gala" dinner on our last night that consisted of 5 courses and numerous bottles of wine and a cocktail. This meal was truly superb and we found the service during all this exceptional.

On the subject of service, the main high point about this hotel was the staff. All were very friendly, giving you the impression that they would go out of their way to help you. They appeared sincerely concerned that your visit was that which you would expect. Ásta in particular was brilliant.

We did not hire any vehicle during our relatively brief stay in Iceland, so if you are in the same position and decide to stay at the Hotel Glymur please make sure you realise that this hotel is almost in the middle of nowhere and you would want to arrange some excursions while there. We managed to arrange some private trip on the Golden Circle, which was expensive but worthwhile. If you do not have any excursions to go on and the weather isn't great you could be stuck for things to do.

Like everything in Iceland the hotel isn't cheap. However, it isn't expensive in comparison to anything else. People really must go to the country understanding the expense and once you have got over this hurdle you will find that it really is a wonderful place to visit. If you can manage to stay at the Hotel Glymur for a while I would thoroughly recommend it.

Matt & Anna

(we hope you got your key back OK!)

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank m4tthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2006

There is absolutely nothing negative that can be said (or written!) about this hotel. It really is the very best in Iceland. The beds are so comfy, the food delicious and beautifully presented, the staff and owners could not be more friendly and helpful, the hot tubs are magical (especially coupled with very cold skies and the Northern Lights) and the atmosphere one of peace and tranquility. There are relaxing reading lounges with two libraries, internet connection and an endless supply of coffee, tea and snacks. It is perfectly located for Reykjavik (45 minutes drive) and all other sights of Iceland. We will be returning as soon as we can for more of the magic!!!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank robandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This hotel is small, family run, with so much thought put into the decor, and the hospitality for the guests. The rooms were just redone and fully equipped and some have spectacular views over the fjord. There is wirless internet available and lots of places throughout the hotel to sit, read and enjoy the views. We also had our wedding here and it was all managed so well with so much care - a real day to remember.
The food is excellent and the menu of the day was always really tasty and worth every penny. They also catered for my gluten free diet which was fantastic. Like the hotel itself, the restaurant is so well presented and the tables are decorated really nicely each night. The breakfast was also really good - continental style - and we loved the unlimited supply of coffee available all day, as well as the snacks that kept appearing on the bar for all to enjoy.
We loved the hotel location too as it was situated on the hillside above Hvalfjordur (the Whale Fjord) and was only 45 mins from Reykjavik, and very close to Pingvellir National Park / not too far from the Snaefellsnes Peninsula for great days out.
Everyone was so friendly yet unobtrusive - perfect service - We definitely hope to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ZH1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed there for my last two days in Iceland. Best hotel we tried. Best located hotel there is. The food and the staff were very good and the owners were so nice as well. Mountain side hot tubs to relax with a cold lager in hand wathcing the Northern Lights. You can not go wrong with that. We will be staying at this hotel again, and we think that this is a must stay place when in Iceland.

Then we found out that we could have stayed there for the most of our trips as pretty much all the spots we saw and wanted to see where within a day driving distance.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank icelandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

Having read the reviews on Trip Advisor I booked 3 nights at the Glymur during our recent 11 day stay in Iceland, we were not disappointed. The hotel is situated off the road on a hillside overlooking the fjord, and although the pink painted building is a little eye catching, everything is top class.
The rooms, split level with lounge downstairs and bedroom up stairs, are excellent, we had a fantastic view over the fjord. The highlight ,like for many, was sitting in the hot tubs, glass of cold lager, drinking in the amazing view. That memory will keep me going through many a long winter night! Thick white towels and bathrobes are in your rooms for use in the tubs.
The food was excellent, we had one of their buffet evening meals and although pricey, isn't everything in Iceland, was beautiful.
Would I go back? Yes please, like a shot.
This is a "must stay" in Iceland.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,889 reviews
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
20.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
865 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $180 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing