We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Glymur
Nearby Hotels
$609
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$200
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hilda(Reykjavik)
$194
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$261
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$190
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$126
$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$289
$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$396
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
359
135
42
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
135
42
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightswhale fjordvilla romancegolden circlelambwake up callthe main hotelgreat viewsitting areafjord viewself cateringunderfloor heatingbreakfast and dinnerblue lagoonsplit levelenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 561 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed at the Glymur for 3 nights in September 2009 and enjoyed our time there.

The Good...
An amazing location on the side of a fjord about 1hr from Reykjavik.
The hot tubs overlooking the view were pretty special.
Free wireless internet access throughout the hotel.
The food was above average although the menu was only 3 dishes.
Breakfast was good with a wide selection.

The Bad...
The beds we had were incredibly soft and uncomfortable.
The fridge was beyond useless and we were told it was like that for all the rooms because, 'they were from Holland', whatever that means.
The shower had that nasty 'farty' water that is common in Iceland (although the 4 other hotels we stayed in didn't suffer this).

Overall a good hotel. If you feel up to it go 15 minutes down the road and hike up to the waterfall Glymur. It takes about 2-3 hours in total for the return trip and it is an amazing hike.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillHarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The moment you step foot in the Hotel glymur, you are at home. The food is amazing, the views are like something from another planet, truely beautiful. Gods work at it's best. The hotel itself is Cozy, luxurius, friendly and inviting. We had the most wonderful time and didn't want to leave!

Oh we'll be back alright...

Chesney & Krissy Hawkes

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chesnofski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Located in the middle of nowhere on the slopes of a beautiful fjord, this is a real get-away-from-it-all place. The food's great; the hot tubs are perfect for a drink while watching the sunset; and the staff are among the friendliest I've ever come across. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATL_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Have just started and ended a round-trip of Iceland with friends at the Hotel Glymur. I have stayed there before and was welcomed like an old friend. The food and accommodation were both excellent and the friendly and efficient staff did everything possible to make my stay as comfortable as possible. Having stayed in many hotels and guesthouses in Iceland (this was my 6th trip) I can honestly recommend the Glymur as the best hotel in this wonderful country. Thankyou Hansina and Jon, and hopefully see you again soon

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanSurrey_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Although it is over a year since we stayed here, I owe Hotel Glymur a review for being such a fabulous place. An airmiles sale gave us the opportunity to spend a weekend in Iceland - something I've wanted to do for years - and some Tripadviser research led us to stay one night in Rejkavik and another at the Hotel Glymur.

Set in the wilds, we took the longer scenic route from the capital around the fjord to the hotel, and it was worth the extra time. Although the hotel is not particularly prepossessing from the outside, the same can be said for most Icelandic architecture, particularly in the rural areas, and the place more than makes up for it with its eclectic, unique interior. The jumbled assortment of all sorts of artefacts and objets picked up by the owners on their travels indicates the individuality of the place. The staff were so warm, it was almost like meeting old friends, and our duplex room was quirky and delightful.

However, the best came with the hot tubs. After a lovely meal (probably the best we had in Iceland), we decided to avail of the facilities, put on our swimming costumes and robes and padded outside to the tubs, complete with G&Ts. There were a couple of women in the other tub, so we slipped into the empty one and gradually got talking to them. After a while, the chef came out and joined us, and we topped up the drinks - at the same time ensuring that the "little people" who lived on the other side of the wooden path weren't disturbed (trust me, this is serious stuff in Iceland). So we all sat there talking of mountains, geysers, fishing, art, music, while watching the reflection of the moon slowly stroll across the fjord. Although there were no northern lights, it was one of the most magical evenings in water which left our skin so soft (it's volcanic, so you do need to get used to the faint smell of sulphur), and a memory to treasure forever.

We loved our room, with its bed on the gallery and the view across the fjord, and the breakfast that kept us going all the way back to London, en route home to Ireland. When I queried the bill (I thought they had undercharged me), they were absolutely charming (I'm still not sure), and when I found my mac had decided to extend its stay, they sent it on home immediately.

There are many original touches about the Hotel Glymur, all done with a wry smile and gentle humour, and if we ever get back to Iceland, this is the first place we will return to.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews