We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular secluded view”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“spectacular secluded view”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My friend and I decided to book a villa when staying at Hotel Glymur and we were very happy we did! We ended up in Villa Romance, which as you may read from other reviews, is the villa farthest away from the main hotel and it has unobstructed views of the fjord and surrounding mountains. The villa is nicely appointed and air tight! The wind was whipping outside yet it never made us feel cold. The bathroom was spacious and there was a good amount of closet space in the bedroom. The kitchen comes complete with a fridge, stove, microwave, dishwasher and coffee maker (though you need to supply your own coffee). We did not use the hot tub on the deck but it appears that each villa has their own. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights on two of the 3 nights we stayed and I attached a few pictures of what we saw from right outside our villa doors. Talk about convenient! And you can even sign up on a "wake up call" list if you want the main hotel staff to call you if they spot the lights in the middle of the night. The staff was very informative and gracious. The only thing I would have wanted was some filtered/bottled water to be stocked in the rooms as the sulfur flavor/smell was quite overwhelming (even with the cold water). Away from that, it was a magical escape.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    122
    37
    17
    7
See reviews for
95
323
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Glymur in February 2014. We have a room overlooking the fjord, which is really spectacular. Each room appears to be 2 floors, with a bathroom, siting area, clothing storage, TV, fridge, and coffee maker on the bottom floor, with a bed above on a loft with a staircase.

There isn't anything to walk to and explore, except for a church in front of the hotel. However, the hotel has an awesome location for scenery, and is within a 30-40 minute drive to Thingvellier and also to the capital.

The restaurant was really high quality food, but a above average in prices for the rest of Iceland.

On our second night, we drove to Arkanes, about 20 minutes past hotel Glymur (going away from the capital) and found a really great bar / restaurant called Gamla Kaupfelagid (search this for the corresponding review). Really worth the drive.

The view is truly amazing here and certainly a must see. The hotel however, is not cheap even for Iceland, but if you can swing it, go for it.

Cheer and Happy Travels!

Room Tip: Be sure to get a view of the fjord! There are also separate cabins away from the main hotel, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 beautiful nights in Villa Romance in late January. We found the entire staff to be professional, warm and welcoming for the entire stay.

The Villa Romance is the furthest away from the main hotel, nothing interrupts your view of the fjord and mountains. Spacious, private, clean, comfortable and beautiful, the villa was amazing. Comfortable bed, heated floors, tons of closet space. Lovely bathroom and shower, I did smell the sulfur in the water, but I did not personally find it offensive, just curious. Glorious private hot tub on the deck, we enjoyed a lot of time in it, day and night.

The villa has a full kitchen. Not that I used, it because the restaurant in the main hotel is fabulous. While the menu is limited, everything was delicious and made with love. The lamb was excellent, I thought it was the best I ever tasted, as was the cod with strawberry sauce. We also ate breakfast there daily, a lovely buffet with coffee and tea, skyr, smoked salmon, breads and croissants, fruits and cheeses, and scrambled eggs. For lunch the menu is the same as the dinner menu, but if you ask, they will make you an egg sandwich which is to die for. And the soups! Fantastic. I am obsessed with their seafood soup.

Every night we drove up behind the hotel to an area that overlooked the white-capped mountains hoping to see the Northern Lights. It was pretty icy, I wouldn't recommend it without 4 wheel drive. In fact, the main parking lot was break your behind icy as well. Even just from the villa, I would caution you to drive back and forth to and from the main hotel during the winter if there is ice. Very slippery!

It is about a 30 minute drive to Borgarnes and Akranes, we went to both and enjoyed the towns. In Borgarnes we went to the Settlement Center, an interesting small museum, takes about an hour to walk through. In Akranes we went to photograph the lighthouse and then to the restaurant Galito for lunch (Lobster and white chocolate soup!)

Instead of driving into Reykjavik one day as planned, we stayed in and enjoyed the villa for a whole day. I walked down to the church and the beach, and I enjoyed my little hike immensely.

If you are going to be in the area, definitely go for one of the villas at Hotel Glymur. We really loved it. Although we were not lucky enough to see the Aurora, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed for 5 fight in villa romance.
What a special location, situation on the edge of a fjord. Secluded location, therefore car is essential to get here and travel around. Take about 50 mins to drive into Reykjavik, so going over for dinner is not out of the question. The hotel has an excellent restaurant, so not problem to stay in for that. The villa was also equipped with a kitchen, so could have self catered if we wanted to.

The private hot tub was absolutely wonderful, and we sat in the warm water, gazing up at the stars. Unfortunately no aurora whilst we were there, but enjoyed Iceland so much in every other way, that we weren't disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Staying at Hotel Glymur is a great treat! We stayed in the Villa Creativity and the weather was at its worst even for Icelandic standards. But the stay in the villa was so cosy that it actually added to the romantic feeling. The staffs was extremely accommodating, we did not need to go into the hotel for our food at all due to the high winds. They brought the food to us and we stood in awe when they arrive wondering if they could stand upright. Everything went well and the food was delicious. Such dedication and professionalism deserves to be applauded!

Room Tip: Try to choose the villas or the suites on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agustina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa barbara
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Creativity for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The walk to breakfast and dinner was cold but traveling to Iceland in winter we were prepared for it and it was actually quite nice. We really like our privacy so booking a room in the hotel was not an option for us. On our drive from Reykjavik we missed the tunnel and drove around the fjord which took a bit longer but was a very pretty drive. We were extremely lucky as the weather was really great. Saw the northern lights on our first 2 nights and woke up our third and final day to typical weather- very windy and grey with little visibility. The villa was very comfortable, with a fully stocked kitchen, great hot tub on deck, living room and dining area as well. Other than 2 small bottles of wine, coffee and tea, there are NO amenities in the rooms whatsoever so you need to come prepared by stopping at store for provisions. Being my first time in Iceland this may be normal but being from the United States were are spoiled and are used to a fully stocked mini bar. The bathroom had soap and shampoo but no lotion- and the hot water smells strongly of sulphur which takes some getting used to. There is a telephone in the room but no hotel information book listing the number to call the front desk. I'm not complaining in any way as we would stay here again in a heart beat! Richard and Bastian (sp?), our servers, were friendly and gave good service at the bar and in the dining room. The dinners were good and buffet breakfast every morning too. We took a day trip to Borgones, visited the settlement center, had lovely soup and also learned a little about Iceland. My only bit of criticism is that our villa had automatic lights on the front and back porch and we were unable to turn them off, even when we asked the hotel management to do so. Having the ability to turn off the lights would have made our viewing of the northern lights much better as we could have watched them from our hot tub. I was told the lights could not be turned off but I did notice the automatic lights in the vacant villas did not turn on from dusk till dawn as they did with the occupied villas. We also took a helicopter ride from HELO in their Bell 407 with Johann as our pilot and it was unforgettable and amazing. The modified windows on the aircraft really make a difference in viewing. They picked us up at our hotel so we didn't have to drive back to Reykjavik. We flew to the Geysir geothermal area, landed for about 45 mins so we could see the water shoot up and had the opportunity to shop and eat. Then we flew over and landed on Langjokull glacier where we were able to get out and take a few pics. I will never forget this experience- it was absolutely amazing, very comfortable and safe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a standard room in the hotel, rather than a cottage and were glad we did- would not have enjoyed the walk to dinner or breakfast in the dark and wind!! Stunningly dramatic view over the inlet. We liked the double height room though sitting area not huge, it works well.
Well equipped room.
Pretty good food in the dining room, though the smoked lamb starter a little too "straight from the icy fridge". We stayed one night and this worked well as part of a 4 night trip.

Room Tip: Looking over the fjord is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
23.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
769 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,050 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
20.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Property: Hotel Glymur
Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing