We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous setting!”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
santa barbara
Level Contributor
156 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting!”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Villa Creativity for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The walk to breakfast and dinner was cold but traveling to Iceland in winter we were prepared for it and it was actually quite nice. We really like our privacy so booking a room in the hotel was not an option for us. On our drive from Reykjavik we missed the tunnel and drove around the fjord which took a bit longer but was a very pretty drive. We were extremely lucky as the weather was really great. Saw the northern lights on our first 2 nights and woke up our third and final day to typical weather- very windy and grey with little visibility. The villa was very comfortable, with a fully stocked kitchen, great hot tub on deck, living room and dining area as well. Other than 2 small bottles of wine, coffee and tea, there are NO amenities in the rooms whatsoever so you need to come prepared by stopping at store for provisions. Being my first time in Iceland this may be normal but being from the United States were are spoiled and are used to a fully stocked mini bar. The bathroom had soap and shampoo but no lotion- and the hot water smells strongly of sulphur which takes some getting used to. There is a telephone in the room but no hotel information book listing the number to call the front desk. I'm not complaining in any way as we would stay here again in a heart beat! Richard and Bastian (sp?), our servers, were friendly and gave good service at the bar and in the dining room. The dinners were good and buffet breakfast every morning too. We took a day trip to Borgones, visited the settlement center, had lovely soup and also learned a little about Iceland. My only bit of criticism is that our villa had automatic lights on the front and back porch and we were unable to turn them off, even when we asked the hotel management to do so. Having the ability to turn off the lights would have made our viewing of the northern lights much better as we could have watched them from our hot tub. I was told the lights could not be turned off but I did notice the automatic lights in the vacant villas did not turn on from dusk till dawn as they did with the occupied villas. We also took a helicopter ride from HELO in their Bell 407 with Johann as our pilot and it was unforgettable and amazing. The modified windows on the aircraft really make a difference in viewing. They picked us up at our hotel so we didn't have to drive back to Reykjavik. We flew to the Geysir geothermal area, landed for about 45 mins so we could see the water shoot up and had the opportunity to shop and eat. Then we flew over and landed on Langjokull glacier where we were able to get out and take a few pics. I will never forget this experience- it was absolutely amazing, very comfortable and safe.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1995sb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    121
    37
    17
    6
See reviews for
95
318
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a standard room in the hotel, rather than a cottage and were glad we did- would not have enjoyed the walk to dinner or breakfast in the dark and wind!! Stunningly dramatic view over the inlet. We liked the double height room though sitting area not huge, it works well.
Well equipped room.
Pretty good food in the dining room, though the smoked lamb starter a little too "straight from the icy fridge". We stayed one night and this worked well as part of a 4 night trip.

Room Tip: Looking over the fjord is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hotel is in quite a remote spot but we found it despite the pitch blackness and driving rain. You do have to follow the directions carefully and look out for the white flags signposting the road to the hotel. On arrival we were allocated a room to the north of the hotel but asked if there were any rooms with a fjord view available, the staff were very obliging and moved us to a room with a view. The room was very warm and cosy, had a seating area with large windows and stairs leading up to a mezzanine bedroom. The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave advice re the road conditions and weather and places to eat/visit etc. There are two hot tubs to the side of the hotel which were very welcome after a day of driving and sightseeing. We found the food in the restaurant to be excellent and priced similarly to other good restaurants in Iceland. We came to Iceland knowing that everything here is more expensive than in the UK so were not caught unawares. The breakfast buffet was good and we were left to help ourselves, much better than having waiters hovering - a very informal and relaxing start to the day. We liked the location of the hotel being about 45 minutes from Reykjavik and quite close to the Snaefellsnes Peninsular which is worth exploring.We visited Gulfoss, Geysir and Thingvellir from here and although it was quite a drive it is very scenicroute and worth the effort. I would recommend spending a night in Reykjavik or somewhere nearer to Keflavik airport before flying home otherwise it is a long drive and an early start.

Room Tip: Lovely views from rooms overlooking the fjord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to our own villa due to a private party. The villa was really nice, warm & cosy. The food is exceptional and the service in the hotel & restaurant is too! The food is a fairly hefty price but worth it. A remote location means a little travelling to get places but we didn't find it a bind.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richtheviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

well pretty much. The hotel's main attraction is the view (if you are in the correct rooms). The staff are very helpful and always willing to give you advice etc. the rooms were clean and well appointed. A few minor gripes, these being a limited restaurant menu so if you were to stay longer than 3 days you may find it limiting and directions to get there. As we visited in winter and Icelandic roads being minimally lit you could have issues especially if you didn't come directly from Reykjavik or used the scenic road around the lake. All in all a very good hotel with a few minor teething issues for some travellers.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Midnightambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We drove the long way around the fjord to arrive in the icy twilight. The views across Hvalfjörður are spectacular, especially at dawn - the blues are beyond belief - and fabulous at night while sipping a glass of wine in your private hot tub. We stayed in Villa Romance which is the farthest villa from the main hotel, and on an icy January night, is a justifiable drive rather than a five minute walk.
The underfloor heating is very welcome when you step out of the shower, which, like all Icelandic hot water is geo-thermally heated and has that rather distinctive sulphur aroma which you'll never forget.
Try not to think about what goes on in the whaling station at the end of the fjord and please, please, please don't eat whale. It's only the tourists who do - and over-pampered Japanese dogs.
Minor points - I'd have loved a set of instructions on how to use the hot tub controls and some guidance on phone, tv and heating.

Room Tip: Villa Romance has an uninterrupted view across the fjord but is farthest from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Romance Villa which had stunning, uninterrupted views over the whale fjord. Sitting in our private hot tub with a glass of wine watching the sun set was an unforgettable experience. Keep your towel close though as it's pretty cold getting out. The villa is heated with lovely underfloor heating and is warm and cosy to keep out the Icelandic winter. The beds were warm and snuggly and I had a great night's sleep. The kitchen is well equipped...not that we cooked as we ate in the restaurant. The food was very nice but not amazing. The breakfast however, was superb. Be aware that Villa Romance is a fair way from the main hotel building and you may not want to walk it in pitch black. Saw more of a northern streak than the lights but the wake up call was appreciated.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelmuffin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,049 reviews
23.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
752 reviews
20.6 mi away
CenterHotel Thingholt
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
323 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 52 in Reykjavik
3,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Property: Hotel Glymur
Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing