We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but over-priced”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was nice but we expected much more for the price. It was comfortable and the location is absolutely stunning. The food in the restaurant was amazing if very pricey. We were content till we got the bill the next day and had sticker shock. Iceland is expensive but even in that context, this seemed too much. It was basically what we paid for a room in the best hotel in Reykjavik. We had a room in the lodge. Maybe the individual cabins are better value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank realfoodie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glymur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

The drive to Glymur was beautiful, around the mountains, by the sea, felt in a very unique and isolated place. The hotel itself is nice, think it was too expensive for the room we got. We didnt get one of the separate cabinets which might have been a better idea given that the room was nice, viewing the sea and mountains but quite small.

The Hotel's restaurant was super, great fish and inventive but still easy going dishes.

Given what we had paid for (Iceland is expensive in general though) we had much higher expectations of the hotel.

Room Tip: if you are staying in the main building it has to be a room facing the sea (actually not sure if the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atreynal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We went here on our honeymoon and had a wonderful time!

The hotel upgraded our room on arrival and our room was lovely with stylish designer furniture and great electronic adjustable beds. The view was amazing over the bay and the outdoor hot tubs were great.

Breakfast was superb with som much on offer, really sets you up for the day. The restaurant in the evening was pricey (but hey, this is Iceland!) but the food was delicious.

Staff were friendly and even offer to get you up in the middle of the night for the Northern lights.

If you're going to Iceland, which you should, you need to stay here.

It's also in a great location for exploring half of the country.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the ground floor corridor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just had our wedding at Hotel Glymur and is was beyond all expectations. My Icelandic husband picked the hotel, and it was perfect for a wedding of less than 100. The setting is spectacular and close to Reykjavik, thus easy to get to from the city. Definitely ask for a room with a view of the fjord (one side of the hotel rooms has them). The villas were great summerhouses for the guests with families (beautifully decorated houses, each with a hot tub overlooking the fjord), and the hotel rooms rooms were cozy and welcoming. The hotel is decorated in a very eclectic style and is very interesting to spend time lounging in (lots of books!), The best part was the staff. Before and throughout our stay Ragna (hotel manager) and Richard (restaurant manager) went above and beyond in their level of service. Whenever we needed anything or had a change in plans, the answer was, "It has been taken care of." I cannot recommend this hotel more highly, particularly for a special event. In addition, the food was spectacular - there is nothing that we did not enjoy. We will be back every year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view of the fjord - one side of the hotel rooms has them. The beds...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have to say that we enjoyed our stay here, however, based on some of the info we had read about this place we were expecting a "bit more". Our rooms were fine and our meals were fine but I don't think they were quite up to our expectations. This place is advertised as a luxury hotel but we have stayed in "country hotels" in Iceland that were much nicer. That being said, we would recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our daughter was married on the bridge at the hotel overlooking the fjord. The management and staff were beyond spectacular. The wedding arrangements, the setting and the food were perfect. This is a terrific small hotel not very far from Reykjavik but with the feeling of the country. Northern lights viewing during the winter is supposed to be wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichMLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great hotel where you feel at home except that an excellent service is providing all you need.

And the hot tubes are amazing, especially the view !

The food is also very good and the breakfast is even better...a must see !
The prices are not cheap but honestly it is not crazy at all comparing to other prices in Iceland ! Furthermore the quality is astonishing and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fab213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,712 reviews
ION Adventure Hotel
#5 of 8 in Selfoss
815 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
355 reviews
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $157 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing