We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to nature, great hotel.”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Though the weather was not the best the hotel made up for it. Great room and cozy hotel. Great service and fantastic dining. Great presentation of food and one of the better breakfasts in Iceland. I would definitely go there again and recommend to friends. One small complaint was sleeping it was kind of stuffy. I only found one small window to have open.

Room Tip: Get a room with the fjord view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 542 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

I went there wirh my partner for a last chance romantic weekend before our baby is born. The hotel is located in a wonderful fjord with great history, around the hotel are walking paths that lead you to beautiful Icelandic nature and a short drive from the hotel is one of Iceland's paradise Glymur waterfall! Service was wonderful and we were so relaxed it lasted for a week after only one nights stay! Overall wonderful :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beggoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Glymur in November in the Villa Romance for our Honeymoon. The villa was the perfect private escape with every thing (and more!) that we needed. The hot tub and underfloor heating made our stay! We also came home one day to find a few christmas decorations added to the villa which was a lovely touch.
From what we saw of the hotel it was beautifully decorated and there was more than one piece of art I wished was for sale. Breakfast and dinner were delicious and so were the cocktails.
Every member of staff is trained in every area which is very useful and they are all very friendly. We signed up for a northern lights call on the first night and they kindly added us on for the rest of the week and we got to see them on our second night! We also chatted to the manager at reception every day and she was always so helpful.
We hired a car as it is away from the city but an easy drive through the tunnel. It's also not too far from some great attractions like the blue lagoon or the waterfalls.
We'd Love to go back!

Room Tip: Make sure you hotub in the snow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelivesbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Glymur for four nights in March and we had the most amazing time! We chose to stay in Villa Romance and we were so glad with this choice. This spaicous, light modern and tastefully decorated villa provided a wonderful base for our trip and the only downside was not wanting to leave!
Villa Romance is the closest villa to the Fjord so you are blessed with spectacular views! We loved the hottub on the decking area which felt very private (our hats became very useful as the wind was so strong and cold despite lovely sunny blue skies!).

The villa is great for self-catering stays with all the equipment and facilities you need (although the hotel does have a bar and restaurant). There is a big 'Bonus' supermarket 20 minutes drive away in Akranes.

The drive from the airport to Hotel Glymur is very scenic and is a very straightforward drive. Depending on what you are planning to do here, it is useful to have a hire car as the hotel is in the middle of nowhere (on the plus side this results in you not needing to travel away from the hotel to see the lights).

The hotel itself was very nice and the staff were all nice and friendly, particularly Richard who gave us some great advice and tips regarding the lights.

We were very fortunate to witness the Northern Lights every night of our stay and extremely lucky one night when we saw them dancing around the whole sky surrounding the Fjord for around 3 hours following a massive coronal mass ejection a few days earlier. If you put your name on a list at the reception the hotel will call you if the lights appear which is a great idea as it can get a bit obsessive to keep looking outside every two minutes.

Although the photos and reviews of Hotel Glymur are brilliant, they really do not do this place enough justice and it's really worth upgrading to a villa if you can, you will not be disappointed! We have already discussed wanting to come back to Iceland, just to stay here all over again :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Glymur as part of Discover The World Northern Light Special and was not disappointed. It was my boyfriends 40th birthday present and I desperately wanted a villa for that extra special touch, however they were fully booked so I booked a suite. On arrival we were pleasantly shocked to find out there was a cancellation and we were upgraded to the Elegance Villa, it was stunning. 2 double bedrooms both ensuites, kitchen/living room area overlooking your private hot tub, pure bliss. The hotel itself we didn't see much of except breakfast and dinner. Great choice at breakfast but can I recommend the scrambled egg to be available every morning, that was delicious with smoked salmon. Dinner was a group event with the excursion and was good fun to meet other people, we were fortunate to meet a great bunch of people who we then spent the remainder of the excursion with, great laughs shared. Dinner was a set menu and each course was delicious, for a set menu and only one choice available it was good, however if you particularly didn't like a course there was an option to change.
We were very fortunate to see the northern lights on the 2nd evening, dancing lights for over 3 hours, such an amazing experience to see in your life time, however you do not see the greens and reds like photos show, this is only through a camera lens, you do see a tinge of colour and the light show is spectacular, you wouldn't be disappointed. Best place to see the lights is the rear of the hotel.
Would most definitely recommend this hotel and the discover the world package.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LittleMiss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a 'Northern Lights Special' arranged by 'Discover The World' (Iceland specialists). The hotel is miles from anywhere but what an 'anywhere'! Views over the fjord to the distant mountains were to die for - especially at night with the full moon reflection glinting on the fjord surface. The rooms were comfortable and warm and arranged on two levels - the bedroom being in a gallery area so might be a bit difficult for those not very good at climbing or descending stairs (There may be just ordinary rooms but check with the hotel). Wifi was freely available throughout the hotel - no charge.
Bathrooms were fine with big showers but suffer with a small problem all Iceland seems to have - that of slightly smelly showers and hot water seemingly caused by the sulphides in the natural geo-thermic hot water systems used. One soon gets used to it unless you're a very fussy person!

The food was excellent with sumptuous breakfast buffets and great dinners - I can recommend the lamb, some of the most tender and tastiest I've eaten. All from local Icelandic lamb. The restaurant also has great views across the fjord so get the tables by the windows if you can!

It was an ideal location to see the Northern lights being away from light sources - though the hotel did have bright lights for illuminating its car-park. These weren't too much of a hindrance but it could be an option for the owners to be able to switch these off to help viewing the starry night skies and spectacular northern lights 'show'.

The owners have a system of giving you the option of alerting you in the middle of the night should the northern lights appear. We were called just as we were going to bed (about 11pm) and rushed out only to see nothing! However, we persisted until 12.30am and they reappeared in great style - faint at first then a bit brighter. However, we found out later that not all the guests who'd asked to be alerted were actually alerted so some were disappointed at this.

I DO recommend the hot tubs outside the hotel. At the end of a hard day's touring it was just the thing to do to relax in, with a glass of chilled white wine whilst gazing at the spectacular views.

Just 10 minutes walk away is a beautiful yet simple church and well worth visiting - especially on a sunny day to see the sunshine reflections through the beautiful stained glass windows. Its always open.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are 2-tiered with the bedroom in an upstairs gallery and for which you need to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cloosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Out of this world views of a sublime Fjord !! We stayed in the Romance Villas and we recommend it to anybody. The villa was beautiful, huge, feeling extremely cosy and very warm despite huge bay windows (and we stood a proper day of Icelandic blizzard with 190km/h of wind). Everywhere you were in the villa, no vis a vis and incredible vistas all over. There is a hot bath tub in the villa which keeps the water a 38 degrees even despite - 12 degrees C and 150km/h of wind.

The main Hotel itself above is very warm and welcoming place and is also and "art gallery" which makes it very agreeable. The breakfast are from 8 to 10 am and very varied and nothing beats a nice time in front of the window bays daydreaming in front of the amazing view.

The Hotel is very well located, roughly 90 mins drive from the airport (and 45 mins from Reykjavik), near the Golden Circle and the Snaeffells Peninsula which makes it a perfect base to visit the most beautiful parts of South Iceland.

All the Staff is extremely courteous, speaks very good English and the owner Ragna gives extremely good, detailed and personalised advice on what to do for the day as in Iceland, weather decides for you.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the any of the Villas and if you travel as a couple do not hesitate to upgrade to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,082 reviews
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
374 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
193 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
303 reviews
20.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $147 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing