We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Glymur
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Borgarnes(Borgarnes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laxnes(Mosfellsbaer)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cabin(Reykjavik)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveler rating
359
135
42
17
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
135
42
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubnorthern lightswhale fjordvilla romancegolden circlelambwake up callthe main hotelgreat viewsitting areafjord viewself cateringunderfloor heatingbreakfast and dinnerblue lagoonsplit levelenjoy the view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 561 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We came to Glymur with high hopes, given that other reviewers had given the hotel high praise. We were severely disappointed. Whilst the weather didn't cooperate (overcast and / or mist shrouded most of the time), the location can't be faulted. What detracted most were the spartan dorm-rooms will barely enough space for two people, the bizarre decor, and the rather uninspiring design of the hotel. The food was good, but not great, and the idea of sharing a hot tub with 8 others didn't appeal to us. We left a day early to explore other parts of the island and venture back to Reykjavik instead, which was the best decision we could have made. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abdab37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I have to agree with the previous reviewer. The hotel is well-located with great views. The hot tubs are fabulous. The rooms are not to my taste but make good use of the space available. What lets the place down are poor service (I sat in the bar area for almost an hour without a flicker of interest from the staff) and the food. I agree wholeheartedly that the vegetables are terrible - and the same terrible combination is served whether you order grilled fish or curry. Two of my four langoustines were cooked to a pulp. The seafood soup is, as someone esle hads sadi, "ketchupy". Our desserts never arrived on one evening and we were given the wrong desserts on another - on a night when the only choices were apple cake, chocolate cake or ice cream.
This would not matter so much if the hotel did not present and price itself as a high quality, gourmet experience. We also stayed at the wonderful Hotel Ranga and the very nearly wonderful Hotel Budir - the food at both was in a completely different league for similar prices, and the level of service and friendliness at Hotel Ranga is unbeatable. We return over and over again to Hotel Ranga but will not be going back to Hotel Glymur, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beccanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This is probably one of the most expensive hotels in Iceland, and although the location and view are fantastic, the hotel itself doesn't justify the charge. Putting that to one side...

Very warm welcome, in a uniquely decorated (dare I say idiosyncratic) hotel. It has been built to make the most of the fantastic views across the fjord, with both dining rooms and the lounge being places you could sit for hours and watch the light on the water and the clouds shifting.

The rooms are compact and cleverly designed, with the beds on a mezzanine floor. Comfortable beds, although I was surprised to have sheets with holes, and which weren't properly fitted! The shower-room is compact (no room to swing a puffin), ours was recently refurbished which was a nice touch, alhough the dressing gowns were frayed around the edges (one with a large stain) and had definitely seen better days. The sitting area in the bedroom is also compact, with interesting furnishings - although tatty cushions with torn covers were again not what I would have expected.

We ate dinner at the hotel the first night. The menu was limited, uninspiring, and the food when it arrived was poorly prepared, and the vegetables so badly seasoned and raw they were virtually inedible. And I like raw vegetables. The wine list was limited and expensive even by Icelandic standards. We ate out the second night, although it meant drawing straws for driving back.

Breakfast fortunately repaired our impressions. It was excellent. A wide range of lovely breads, fruit, cheeses, meats, fish, creative ways with eggs etc etc, and it changed both days. Small plates meant repeat visits were necessary!

We also tried the hot tubs. These are in a great location, just away from the hotel, and you can sit in the warm tubs and enjoy the amazing views. If you could guarantee the Northern LIghts that would make the hot tubs perfect.

Would I stay here again? Not sure, even with the breakfast...

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the fjord view.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We made a weekend trip to Iceland to see the Northern Lights but sadly we did not seea Northern Light. We were left with the suspicion that their appearance may not be as frequent as Discover the Worlld or the hotel would have had us believe. Nevertheless the hotel is in a beautiful location and in snow it was a magical setting. The restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The decor in the public rooms and bedrooms could hardly be described as chic but it was homely. The manageress appeared to be slightly distrait and we were never convinced that she was makng much effort to see if we could see the Northern Lights. Iceland was however magical and we drove 700 kms over snow to wonderful waterfalls and saw fantastic scenery. Will we return? Certainly in the summer to see the volcanoes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is set in a beautiful location, the two hot tubs have good views over the water (and are good fun when its snowing!) There are attractions in the area but we didn't get out much as there was heavy snow. Our room was on two levels and very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms with water views give you the chance to see the Northern Lights from your room! Useful when there is a bitter wind outside.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApricotCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews