We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Northern Lights”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We made a weekend trip to Iceland to see the Northern Lights but sadly we did not seea Northern Light. We were left with the suspicion that their appearance may not be as frequent as Discover the Worlld or the hotel would have had us believe. Nevertheless the hotel is in a beautiful location and in snow it was a magical setting. The restaurant was excellent and the staff were friendly and efficient. The decor in the public rooms and bedrooms could hardly be described as chic but it was homely. The manageress appeared to be slightly distrait and we were never convinced that she was makng much effort to see if we could see the Northern Lights. Iceland was however magical and we drove 700 kms over snow to wonderful waterfalls and saw fantastic scenery. Will we return? Certainly in the summer to see the volcanoes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 550 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is set in a beautiful location, the two hot tubs have good views over the water (and are good fun when its snowing!) There are attractions in the area but we didn't get out much as there was heavy snow. Our room was on two levels and very comfortable, the staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms with water views give you the chance to see the Northern Lights from your room! Useful whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ApricotCrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My Husband took me to this hotel for my birthday. Absolutley fantastic views. Friendly staff. Great view from bedroom and restaurant. The food at dinner was excellent, breakfast was interesting, the only hot food was chicken wrapped in bacon which seemed a bit unusual but there was plenty of other items to insure we didn't go hungry. The Manageress was really helpful with regards to organising our day trips. Alcohol was extremely expensive EVERYWHERE in Iceland, expect to pay £40. for an average bottle of wine and £5 for a can of beer

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FambridgeWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

My partner took me here for 4 days for my 40th. We had a little difficulty finding the hotel, having taken a few too many photos of the stunning fjord such that we were arriving at dusk, but the signposts were adequate and the welcome was both literally and figuratively warm. We were shown to our cabin (worth the extra money) and met by a toasty blast of warm air and a gorgeous setting. We were in the black cabin, halfway down the hill, and had a majectic view of the fjord and mountains beyond it. The wood cabin was big, tastefully decorated, had windows (with blinds) everywhere to maximise the panorama, and the bathroom, shower, outside decking and private open-air hot-tub outside were clean and modern. The hotel itself was lovely; and we LOVED the buffet breakfasts with hot-smoked salmon and gravadlax, chicken wrapped in bacon, pancakes and maple syrup, salad, boiled eggs, cheese and ham, pate, tons of bread, pastries, fruit etc etc etc. Excellent, particularly as it was hard to find places to eat when we were out sometimes, so we really filled up each morning. We tried really hard to see the aurora but didn't manage it; the weather thwarted us. But gorgeous staff member, Mathildur, firstly rang her 'aurora chaser' friend who found us (who knows how but he was spot on) a gap in the clouds about an hours drive away, which at least gave us a good shot at seeing it (others did see it, we arrived just too late). The final night, we arranged for a guide to take us out (very expensive at 500 Euros, although Mathildur managed to negotiate us a deal for 400) as we were desperate to see it while the solar flares were so good. Unfortunately the weather completely deteriorated that night and the guide, despite having driven out to the hotel to take us, told us there was no chance of seeing anything so he wouldn't take our money. Can't say fairer than that. We were grateful for his honesty. Evening meals were very good (the fish was wonderful) although pretty expensive (par for the course in Iceland). We received helpful advice on places to go, maps and itineraries, and weather updates, all with a smile and with absolutely impecable English.
You have the option to get to the hotel by driving round the fjord for the view, or via a tunnel from Reykjavik (saves about 45 mins drive round the fjord), so that's close enough to be handy, and we drove north up round the coast and east to see some geysers. In March, not alot was open in the towns, but the landscape was breathtaking. The snow was beautiful (not slushy brown mush like in the UK, but crisp and dry and like icing sugar) and the cold was manageable with decent clothes and walking boots. We hired a Skoda Octavia 4 wheel drive which was perfect and reasonably priced. Downsides were few: it IS expensive per day; the water smells of sulphur which takes a couple of days to get used to; the weather can be foul (it was blowing a hurricane in our final night) and we didn't eat anywhere but in the hotel or service stations as nothing was open as we drove round exploring. But all in all, the hotel and the staff made up for these few downsides and we'd certainly save up and return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the black cabin, which was just lovely. There was one more cabin below us down the hill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We had already had 2 nights in Reykjavik before we arrived at hotel Glymur for 3 nights. The directions were not as clear as they seemed, especially when all road signs were covered in snow!
We had one of the villas, which were excellent. Very well furnished and equipped with fantastic panoramic views over the fjord. Sadly, the weather was atrocious almost all of our stay so we ate in the hotel every evening. The food was very good but the menu had little variation and included things like foal (which was declined and reduced our options further).The service was also very good. Staff were friendly and helpful and appreciated our very mediocre attempts at simple Icelandic words. We had gone specifically to see the Northern Lights but the weather was dreadful every night we were in Iceland but the hotel would be a good location to see them weather permitting.

Room Tip: We took advice and went for a villa. More expensive but worth it for the amenities and the view. Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kattrina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The hotel is in a great location with lovely views. It is a fair distance from any other dining options, so it's best to eat in or arrange to eat as part of your day away from the hotel, before you return. Dinner was good quality (especially the fish soup) but perhaps a little fussy for dining in every night (and slightly expensive). The room was comfortable and cute but all double beds consist of two separate single mattresses with a small gap between. We had a good stay until check out when I knew I had been overcharged (by about £100). The receptionist was unwilling to believe me (and abrasive in dealing with me) and in the end I had to leave having overpaid and arrange a refund on my return to the UK. I asked the hotel to call me to arrange this but in the end I had to call them. It has been sorted now but was a bit of a run-around and not what you need on holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannamoog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

Good hotel. Funny rooms, each with staircase to higher floor in the room to the bed. Comfortable but small bathroom. View on fjord is great. Excellent location for Aurora Borealis viewing.Diner was fine. Great breakfast buffet. Only downside not much space to put suitcase (we had 2).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,094 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#17 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,888 reviews
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
20.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
865 reviews
23.1 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $180 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing