We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, great staff, relaxing time”
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011. We were looking for a relaxing getaway from our two young children. The Hotel Glymur (and all of Iceland) was fantastic.

The staff at the hotel were extremely accommodating. We stayed one night in the main hotel and 2 nights in one of the villas. I have to say the hotel room was mediocre (kind of dated decor), but the villa was fantastic. Nicely appointed, great amenities, hot tub on the deck, rainbow in the sky every night. Just amazing.

We hiked the Glymur Falls while we were there. If you are in to hiking it is a must. Took us about 3 1/2 hours round trip. We hiked up the right side and then crossed over the falls (up above) and hiked down the other side. Majestical views.

One thing to note, the hotel is about 45-60 minutes outside Reykjavik. Easy to get to by car, which we had no problem getting around (few roads, courteous drivers, etc). We originally were going to stay in the city and not rent a car but I'm so happy we didn't. We drove to all the "sites" ourselves (Gulfoss, the Geysirs, and the National Park) rather than taking one of the bus tours. Not having done a bus tour I can't comment. But I can say it was really cool to just drive around and see the sites on our own.

Hotel Glymur is a very nice place.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Villas, stay there. Much nicer than the main hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karipapantones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just returned from a 13 -day early September trip of Iceland. This was our favorite hotel, though we stayed at some other highly recommended hotels (Hotel Ranga, Blue Lagoon Clinic ). The staff and owner treat you as a member of the family from check-in on. Watching for the Northern lights, notifying their guests and enjoying them with them should they appear. And what a spectacular setting to view them from! Far away from city lights, the whole sky was visible! Even though it was partly cloudy, it did not stop the show! First appeared surprisingly around dusk, then returned in early a.m., so keep a watchful eye out early evening on. The setting, overlooking the whale fjord, was sublime. The food and beds were some of the best we had on the trip, which is saying a lot because we ate at many fine restaurants. Though many Icelandic hotels don't provide the ammenities as found in Europe and America, Hotel Glymur did not disappoint. They had the best bedding of them all! Super comfortable mattresses! And at last, we found a hotel that actually got it that we want privacy and intamacy when relaxing in a hot tub, NOT in front of their restaurant windows! Topped it off with a superb buffet in the morning! Only regret is not having enough time here!! 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

For our last stay in Iceland, we had chosen to reserve a villa at Hotel Glymur. We spent 3 days in Villa Couture, an absolutely stunning villa, with a full kitchen (it even had 2 stoves), a dining room with seating for 6 people, a living room with leather couches and a flat screen TV, a large bedroom and a slate bathroom. It also featured a hot tub on a private veranda.

The price of a villa is only slightly higher than the price of a suite, and we found it was worth it! It included an excellent buffet breakfast featuring a lot of fresh fruit, which didn’t seem very common in Iceland. Since the hotel is quite isolated, we chose to have dinner there each night and we were very happy with our meals. They offer a 3-course and a 5-course meal. Over the length of our stay, we had a wonderful cream of wild mushroom, a very good seafood soup, some lovely lamb carpaccio, delicious cod with ginger, curry chicken and seafood ragu.

The staff was most helpful and recommended several hiking options in the area.

The only downside of this beautiful hotel is that it is located in Hvalfjordur, a very deep fjord off Route 1, north of Reykjavik. In order to get to the hotel, we had to drive about 45 minutes coming from the south or half an hour coming from the north. It is therefore not an ideal base for day trips. There are a few hiking opportunities around the fjord, but we didn’t see any other restaurant or major hotel.

Room Tip: Villas are really wonderful, but we were not sure we needed all that space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed 1 night here on our honeymoon and were delighted! We had heard about the hot tub and it lived up to its reputation. The hot tub is situated along a boardwalk and overlooking the Whale Fjord - on clear nights its the perfect place to watch the northern lights dance across the sky.The restaurant is also excellent, the staff very friendly and the honesty book in the bar is a great idea for those who want a late night drink at any time - shows how trusting the staff are which is really nice. The entrance into the hotel building does not look that great, and to be honest I was expecting more, but the view and interior well make up for it. Our room was great, spread over 2 floors with a fantastic bed and featured artwork from local artists Its a very quirky and artistic hotel - something really different!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MissyMoobles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in one of the villas for our honeymoon..the best place you can choose with a absolutely stunning view over the whale fjord! The glymur villas are wonderful and the hot tub on the patio make sure that you feel like in heaven!
The service and the atmosphere in generally is gerat and you will feel just really comfy!
Thanks Ragna and Team!
Simone & Rudi Moos

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Glymur the first night we were in Iceland, arriving in the evening after a day of horseback riding. The view is incredible, the reception is very friendly.
The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and comfortable. We had one of their standard rooms, which was on the 2nd floor facing the hillside. Unfortunately we were told that they were almost fully booked when I booked so we did not get a water view and I have to disagree that the views are incredible all the way around-the view of the water is amazing, the same can't be said of the hillside. We don't spend too much time in the room so that's not a big deal to us. The room is set up in a loft style with the bed on top level and a tiny living room area below. It was a little tight because we had some big luggage but it was nicely furnished, the windows were great, etc.
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted dinner which we gladly accepted as we hadn't seen food in miles. The food was the one disappointing part of the trip. Our dinner was just OK and for the price we expected more. Yes, it's Iceland and everything's expensive but it's one of those restaurants that tries hard on the presentation and might miss on some of the food. My boyfriend had seafood soup which he thought was overwhelingly rich (think butter) and lacked much seafood and a lamb dish which was just OK. He wasn't expecting the thing slices of lamb that he got. I got cod with some kind of grape sauce. I found the cod to be very chewy (it was a thick cut piece but I was surprised by the texture) and the potatoes were pretty buttery. The meal was over $100 so quite expensive for what we got. The service was really friendly.
We also thought it was odd that we were told to eat early b/c they were completly booked at 8 so we set dinner for 6:30-we were hungry and tired so a good option for us. But, for the first hour, nobody else was in the dining room with us which was kind of odd.
The room did include breakfast which was a buffet-pancakes (cold b/c it's all just laid out and we were on the later end), yogurt, lunchmeat, croissants, etc. Some of the breakfast items were quite tasty.
The hot tubs, though not private, worked out great for us as we were the only ones in them while there. What an incredible view and relaxing night, especially after our earlier horseback ride. Much appreciated.
All in all, a great place to stay, especially if you're in that area. It's not too far from Reykjavik but was nice to get outside the city lights for a night.
If we had the opportunity, would definitely like to stay in one of the private "cabins". Maybe next time we'll be back with a group.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scblions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Simply one of the best places we have ever been. The setting, accomidations, food, wine, staff are all simply superb and we hope we will someday have a change to return. The villias are the most wonderful retreat we could have imagined.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quiet0633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,075 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,748 reviews
23.4 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
366 reviews
20.6 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
10.7 mi away
Hotel Hafnarfjall
Hotel Hafnarfjall
#2 of 3 in Borgarnes
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range: $134 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing