We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but didn't love the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Glymur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Glymur
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel but didn't love the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Glymur the first night we were in Iceland, arriving in the evening after a day of horseback riding. The view is incredible, the reception is very friendly.
The hotel is clean, the rooms are nice and comfortable. We had one of their standard rooms, which was on the 2nd floor facing the hillside. Unfortunately we were told that they were almost fully booked when I booked so we did not get a water view and I have to disagree that the views are incredible all the way around-the view of the water is amazing, the same can't be said of the hillside. We don't spend too much time in the room so that's not a big deal to us. The room is set up in a loft style with the bed on top level and a tiny living room area below. It was a little tight because we had some big luggage but it was nicely furnished, the windows were great, etc.
Upon arrival we were asked if we wanted dinner which we gladly accepted as we hadn't seen food in miles. The food was the one disappointing part of the trip. Our dinner was just OK and for the price we expected more. Yes, it's Iceland and everything's expensive but it's one of those restaurants that tries hard on the presentation and might miss on some of the food. My boyfriend had seafood soup which he thought was overwhelingly rich (think butter) and lacked much seafood and a lamb dish which was just OK. He wasn't expecting the thing slices of lamb that he got. I got cod with some kind of grape sauce. I found the cod to be very chewy (it was a thick cut piece but I was surprised by the texture) and the potatoes were pretty buttery. The meal was over $100 so quite expensive for what we got. The service was really friendly.
We also thought it was odd that we were told to eat early b/c they were completly booked at 8 so we set dinner for 6:30-we were hungry and tired so a good option for us. But, for the first hour, nobody else was in the dining room with us which was kind of odd.
The room did include breakfast which was a buffet-pancakes (cold b/c it's all just laid out and we were on the later end), yogurt, lunchmeat, croissants, etc. Some of the breakfast items were quite tasty.
The hot tubs, though not private, worked out great for us as we were the only ones in them while there. What an incredible view and relaxing night, especially after our earlier horseback ride. Much appreciated.
All in all, a great place to stay, especially if you're in that area. It's not too far from Reykjavik but was nice to get outside the city lights for a night.
If we had the opportunity, would definitely like to stay in one of the private "cabins". Maybe next time we'll be back with a group.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scblions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    120
    36
    16
    6
See reviews for
93
314
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Simply one of the best places we have ever been. The setting, accomidations, food, wine, staff are all simply superb and we hope we will someday have a change to return. The villias are the most wonderful retreat we could have imagined.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiet0633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed in a two-unit cottage overlooking the fjord. It was modern, clean and the staff were superb. We cooked all our own meals so I cannot comment on the restaurant but everything was spotless. The staff were friendly and the kitchens were well-equipped (paper towels might be nice). The only recommendation I would have to travelers is to be aware that in some parts of Iceland, and this was one, the ground water, being volcanic in origin may have a bothersome scent. That is the nature of the beast and it can be a bit stinky. It is beyond the staff's control. We bought bottled water in Akranes and used it for cooking and drinking.

Room Tip: Buy wine at KEF airport and bring bottled water from Akranes - also the cross-fjord tunnel it IS A S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

This is a beautiful place. Our two-story room overlooked the beautiful Whale fjord (Hvalfjörður) and the mountains. Service was impeccable, and very friendly and chatty. The restaurant served a delicious gourmet meal. There are also hot tubs outside where you can sit under the stars at night in surpreme comfort (no matter what the temperature outside). Also, the hotel bar appears to be open late. I didn't get a chance to sit in the candle-lit lounge beside the bar, but it looked amazing at night. This would be perfect for a honeymoon. This hotel is in a secluded location, with no urban services within walking distance - so it's best if you have a car. I hope I can come back to this hotel someday.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel was the best accommodation that we've had in Iceland. It's on a beautiful fjord with an awesome vista. The resto is great and service is with a smile and great enthusiasm. Will definitely stay there next time we're in Iceland.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good in this place. If you can afford it, rent a guest cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Hotel Glymur! It was our first stop on our Iceland vacation. The staff was warm & welcoming & provided us an early check in after our early arrival. We stayed in a standard suite - it felt like our own little apartment!

The food was outstanding as well. Breakfast provided scrumptious delights and dinner provided a wide variety of options. The view of the outside scenery from the dining room just oozed relaxation.

Finally, the close proximity to the Golden Circle, the Snaefells pennisula, dogsledding on the Langjökull glacier and the hiking trail to Glymur Falls was absolutely perfect.

We stayed 3 nights and were so sad to leave. I encourage all Iceland vacationers to check out Hotel Glymur. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_cappellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

The views from this hotel are absolutely stunning!! Would recommend the individual cabins with their own hot tubs but if you find that a little pricey for your pocket then make sure you ask for a lake view in the standard room. All the rooms are lovely. and unusual with their mezzinaie bedroom and comfortable seating area below. We did struggle with the smell of the shower but you get used to that in Iceland!! All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and it was wonderful to relax in the hot tubs overlooking the lake and mountains when it was still light at midnight!! You will not be dissappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: The cabins are best or a lake view in standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akranes
17.2 mi away
Hotel Laxnes
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
20.6 mi away
ION Adventure Hotel
ION Adventure Hotel
#6 of 8 in Selfoss
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
20.5 mi away
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
13.4 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
Icelandair Hotel Hamar
#1 of 3 in Borgarnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
20.5 mi away
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glymur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glymur

Property: Hotel Glymur
Address: Hvalfjorder (Whale Fjord) - Northern Shore, Akranes, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Akranes
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Akranes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Glymur 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic boutique hotel, only 75 min from Keflavik International Airport. Located on a high hillside over viewing the sea. The hotel has 22 mini-suite, spa area, library, piano-bar, conference facilities and magical surroundings. The hotel has a large art collection and beautiful restaurant. Looking for something different? This is it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Glymur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glymur Hotel Akranes
Hotel Glymur Iceland/Akranes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing