We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing time in CTG.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Citrus Tree Gardens
essex, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing time in CTG.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

AS our first time at CTG in July 2013 we enjoyed every minute. We have stayed in Northern Cyprus lots of times in the past, but I think CTG was the best we have stayed in. we were made very welcome from day one by the night staff. Then in the morning when we met Mustafa and Lesley, the nicest couple who couldn't do enough for you.
The accommodation was clean and the service was second to none.
Breakfast was continental style but you can pay extra for full english.
Our room was cleaned daily and had ample space for me and my husband.
We would definitely go back and recommend to anybody who is looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with friendly staff.

Mr and Mrs L Salton from Essex

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueSalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    50
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
25
88
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mum's room
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went to Northern Cyprus at the end of May, beginning of June 2013, a good time to go before the heat and humidity becomes more than bearable in July/August. During the day we had blue skies for the two weeks we were there but it could get very chilly in the evening.
We went on this holiday using Mercury Direct who we have used a great many times before. I do suffer from arthritis in my knees and we live in a bungalow. We specifically booked a ground floor accommodation but when shown to our room at the hotel booked which Mercury has admitted that our booking was for ground floor, we were shown into accommodation with the bedroom upstairs. Apart from my arthritis, my wife has a tendency to sleep walk in strange surroundings and immediately said "We are not stopping here! ". She went to the reception and a large man turned up from Mercury who said we would have to pay extra as we had not stayed where booked. My wife took exception to this and another Mercury rep came, a delightful young lady called Ceyda. We were driven by her to Citrus Tree Gardens and were given very pleasing ground floor rooms. We should have been staying at Almond Villas which our daughter had found on Tripadvisor which showed very high ratings. Ceyda came to see us several times to check all was well. The girl on reception, Leslie could not have been more cheerful and helpful, Mustapha the manager was charming also. All the staff were excellent, the bar boys full of fun.
We are sure that we were overcharged and a refund should be forthcoming but Admin at Mercury here would have none of this insisting we got what we paid for, wrong. It is in the hands of ABTA at the moment, we are unlikely to use Mercury again unless something is sorted out. We very much enjoyed our stay but the food was below average, particularly the evening meals.We would like to go again and have been in touch with the hotel and Ceyda several times indicating this. There was a small shop a few yards up the road which was like a micro supermarket and we could buy any extras we needed there including English newspapers. I would strongly advise that your flight is with anyone other than BA in to Larnaca, it is overnight and we were not the only ones who took a couple of days to recover, service was poor on the aircraft. We paid in excess of £900 and cannot believe that Citrus Tree Gardens would have been anything like as expensive. We also had our flight plans changed fro the Monday to the Wednesday of our first week. I cannot thank the staff at Citrus Tree gardens enough and our wonderful room girl

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pups007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

As a first time visitor to Citrus Tree Gardens I enjoyed my stay and would be happy to return. I was part of a family group and we were made very welcome, the accommodation was clean and the service excellent. The food at the hotel is good, and alternatives are available within walking distance. There is a reasonably priced minibus service that runs from right outside the front door which takes you into town or you can just chill out by the pool. If you are looking for a small and friendly venue this might be for you, if you want to complain about the jam I suggest you stay in England.Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road may be noisy, rooms overlooking the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got back from a weeks holiday and had an excellent time. All the staff very friendly and rooms good size and cleaned daily. If you don't want to hire a car the local minibuses go pass the front of the hotel every few minutes. Pool very good and never seemed to get too busy. Breakfast was continental style and ample for me but if you want English breakfast you can pay extra, which given the price we paid for holiday seems reasonable to me. The only thing I would like to see is some more Turkish food on the evening menu. Would definitely go back and recommend anybody to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2tubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Our stay this year at Citrus Tree was as good as the previous year - if not better. Mustafa and Lesley really make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The food was good and if something did not take your fancy chef was only too happy to provide you with a simple alternative. What more could you ask.

We stayed for a month from mid April to mid May and I know that the old saying is "you get what you pay for" but in Mustafa and Lesley's case you get that little bit more - so we had an extremely good holiday for a very reasonable price. Unfortunately we cannot make it next year but hopefully will be back in 2015.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are quieter but wherever you are it is all very pleasant. Dolmus stops right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoyo552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

enjoyed a week here 1st june 2013, attracts much older guests,not good for kids,very beautiful gardens,2 hotel cats & kittens , waiters exceptionally friendly,Lesley on reception is great,Mustapha the owner very welcoming.
Just let down by poor quality breakfasts...cheap margarine(no butter),cheap jams,cheap & nasty coffee granules, they charge extra if you want bacon/sausage that`s not fair.No croissants/rolls/pastries,no fresh orange juice,awful breakfasts.
Evening meals were old-fashioned,British -based stodge, ie. you were asked to write your main course choice on a piece of paper on the noticeboard!! so unprofessional, menus were 2 starters/2 mains/2 puds. one night the pudding was jelly...anyway,we advise you stay B&B and eat out.This place is very quiet and ok if you like constant Radio Smooth Fm on day & night,if we never hear Lional Ritchie `Hello` we will die happy.
Hire a car...it is essential to see the best of Northern Cyprus.
Beware of the Cyprus Paradise flights from Manchester to Dalaman to Ercan airport,it is gruelling...the Onurair flights have no tvs,no radios/music, the plane sits on the tarmac at Dalaman for 45 mins and passengers CANNOT GET UP TO USE THE LOOS.It then takes ! hour to fly to Ercan,then 1 hour etc on coach,you are knackered going and flying home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our first time at this small and very friendly oasis of peace and tranquillity. Considering its location not far from the main road it is a truly quiet and relaxing experience. My wife and I stayed for the first two weeks in May and were so spoiled and well looked after by ALL of the staff that we could have stayed on indefinitely.

This is what small and friendly really means, when from the moment you arrive you are instantly welcomed into a genuine family atmosphere that grows warmer and friendlier as the days pass. For us, the small things really matter. For example we arrived in the hot sun but I had left my hat at home in England. No problem: Mustafa the owner quickly lent me one of his for the duration of our stay. Also, the staff were on hand at all times volunteering to do all sorts of little jobs and favours for us which were certainly not in their job description - and done with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble.

If you want five star luxury at five star prices then forget the Citrus Tree Gardens. But if you want a relaxing, restful, refreshing value-for-money experience then we highly recommend CTG, where everyone will go the extra mile for you - because they want to.

Well done and thanks to Mustafa, Lesley, Ismail, Vedat and everyone who made our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daj_mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.0 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
2.8 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Gardens

Property: Citrus Tree Gardens
Address: Karaoglanoglu Caddesi, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citrus Tree Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Citrus Tree Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Gardens Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Citrus Tree Gardens Kyrenia
Citrus Tree Gardens Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing