We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother looking anywhere else - this IS THE BEST”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Dont bother looking anywhere else - this IS THE BEST”
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have stayed at The Almond many, many times since the first year they opened. Everything about this place is the best. Ali and family are the nicest people you could find at any holiday resort.
I don't care what the ratings are, for us this is the best place to have a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redblackbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    34
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
182
350
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

The Almond Holiday Village is located in a peaceful environment, nevertheless close to all facilities which can be reached easily even if you do not rent a car. Our accomodation was a comfortable bungalow surrounded by a lush garden whith a variety of flowers and mediterranean trees. Inside the garden , a large and beautiful swimming pool is perfect to relax and get sun baths late in the season (we enjoyed it at the end of November). Among other valuable things we enjoyed the friendly ambiance of the Almond hotel due to the nice hospitality and fine courtesy of Mr. and Mrs. Aytaç and their family. They always did the best to make our stay marvelous in the hotel and in Cyprus. As French people we also appreciated greatly the fantastic cooking of the Almond restaurant with a variety of turkish dishes which were exquisite. Several beaches and water sports facilities are quickly available while the lovely town Kyrenia (Girne) is about 20 min far away using numerous minibuses which can be catched on the main coast road. From Kyrenia you can reach unforgetable sites like Bellapais or St Hilarion castle. For those who like picturesque villages or scenic landscape, the immediate surroundings and the road going to Cape Kornatikis offer a variety of excursions. We recommend warmly the Almond Holiday Village as well for families with children than for couples.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Soltaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

It is the effort the owners put into looking after their guests that most impresses. The rooms are spotless, the gardens well maintained and the pool efficiently cleaned. With the basic structure of the holiday village there is little more that the owners could do. They help their guests when called upon to do so but are by no means obtrusive; it is all quiet efficiency. Several people have commented on the wording of the notices about bringing food and drink on to the premises and it is open to misinterpretation. However, our experience was that the matter is treated entirely reasonably, and it is a shame if the language at times gives offence.
Matters beyond the control of the owners are perhaps less rosy. The main road nearby is certainly not attractive, and after dark walking beside the road can be positively dangerous. Driving into Girne is often slow and tedious and the location will be much improved if and when the ring road is completed. That is the downside, but once away from the main thoroughfare North Cyprus has a wealth of riches to explore. In order to take advantage of this, a hire car is essential; it is not the sort of place where you can stroll out of the hotel and spend the whole day nearby - on the other hand the dolmus into Girne is always fun!
We certainly had an excellent holiday and would like to thank Asik et al. You can never please everyone, but they make every attempt!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeicesterRicey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey,channelislands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2009

Being avid readers of the reviews, when booking holidays, we booked
Almond Holiday Village, we have now experienced why they have so many wonderful reviews, the whole family go out of there way to make sure you have a good time, the grounds are immaculate, the foods excellent, its all the little touches that you do not get in faceless large hotels, we arrived back in our jeep one afternoon, walked in and the sky was getting dark,, for Gulton to say we will get the top put on your jeep, its going to rain without even been asked. My sister celebrated her sixty fifth birthday there, everything possible was done to make sure she enjoyed her day. Each morning there was a board put out with the menu's for the evening, if there wasn't anthing on it you liked, all you had to do was go to the reception and ask for the alternative menu, which had another 6/7 main courses on it, then if you still coundn't find anything, they would cook you something else, how's that for service. The family are genuinely please to have you there as there guests. So thank you to Dervise, Ali, Gulten, Ayse, hope you back gets better soon, and last but not lease Ahmet.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tussiemussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We had a wonderful time in this friendly family run complex, would not hesitate to recommend to anyone, the food is super and plentiful, I would rate it 6.0 if I could.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BournemouthAstonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

As so many before, we chose Almond on the basis of so many glowing reports, and we were not disappointed.
We stayed B&B for 9 nights (7th to 15th Nov), in a bungalow, and although we ate out most nights we had dinner in the hotel 3 times.
Our Bungalow was spotless, and cleaned on a daily basis.
There was an excellent choice at breakfast, with buffet style and cooked options availible, which (unlike in many hotels) was always fresh and served piping hot.
There was a full evening menu, which had a great choice of dishes all cooked to order. They were fresh, substantial and delicious.
The grounds were an ideal place to relax, with a backdrop of mountains and citrus trees aplenty. The pool was very big and we often had it to ourselves (although this was possibly due to the time of year).
We couldn't fault the freindly and efficient service offered by the family and the staff. Everyone worked extremely hard to ensure that all our needs were met, and nothing was too much trouble.
Having read the isolated negative comments, we would advise that all guests need to do is ask if they need anything that isn't already provided.
For example, we neglected to pack beach towels, and asked if we could hire a couple, and were immediately given two to use, free of charge, throughout our stay.
The immediate area has all the ammenities you would require from a small mediterranean village, with bars, restaraunts etc. To fully explore the local area we would recommend that you hire a car. Practically every business in North Cyprus seems to hire cars as a sideline. Although there are local "busses" that run the main road, and seemed to operate longer hours than the guidebooks suggest. Taxis are also reasonably priced by UK standards.
There are many private beeches in the surrounding area. You need to pay a small fee to enter but they are beautiful and unspoilt. If you are travelling out of season please bear in mind that some of the beaches close. However we found one nearby (Denizkiki) that was open and (again, due to the time of year) almost empty.
Kyrenia itself is just a short drive away, and we found to be a lovely harbour town, and a fantastic place to spend a day or two.
We spent a day in Famagusta and the surrounding areas which was fascinating from an historical perspective, both ancient (Salamis) and modern (Maras).
Norhtern Cyprus is (thankfuly) much less commercialised than other parts of the med (not a McDonalds or KFC in sight).
Some areas are not as modern as you might be used to, however we enjoyed the fact that it wasn't overdeveloped and ravaged by tourism. We felt that we were actually in a foreign country, and not England by the sea, unlike so many other southern Med destinations!
In summary, it depends on what you are looking for from your holiday, as to whether this would be the right choice for you.
If you are after a relaxing, quiet break in a country yet to be spoilt by mass tourism then in our in our opinion this is the place for you.
If you are visiting North Cyprus then we could not recommend the Almond highly enough.
Many thanks to Ali, all the family (including Lucky the dog) and staff for making it such an enjoyable stay

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Almond (5 & 6 Nov 09) and just wish it could have been longer. Chose the hotel for the advertised quiet location & nice looking pool. We definately weren't disappointed with the latter - a lovely big pool which was beautifully clean and one of the best -if not THE best - we've ever used. Our room was also spotless and cleaned daily.
The staff and owners were all really helpful and friendly which really helped make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.
We did not eat in the hotel in the evenings but did have breakfast which was very good - the fruit juices very sugary & artificial but everything else fresh and tasty - we recommend the Cypriot breakfast & omelettes!
The first night was not as peaceful as we had hoped due mainly to the rowdiness of some other guests - I really wish people like that would stay away from plces like this!! but much improved on the second night when they had gone home!
Location of the hotel was set back from the main road to the west of Kyrenia and therefore generally a quieter location that a lot of the hotels on the main drag or in town. Downside for some but upside for us was that the location meant that bars, restaurants etc weren't right on the doorstep.
It was our first visit to Northern Cyprus and we fell in love with it - much more picturesque and friendly that the overdeveloped South. Would recommend a visit to Kyrenia town (castle & harbour), a drive up the pan handle (with a stop off to visit Kantara castle), Famagusta old town and Salamis.
Unfortunately most things were not as cheap as we had hoped, or as they used to be - especially eating out.
We really hope that this part of the world stays as it is and does not become overdeveloped and commercialised like most of the rest of the Med. Hopefully this will happen if those that are after a bar on every corner and perfectly tarmaced roads holiday elsewhere!
I am sure we will be back to Northern Cyprus and Almond Village, hopefully for longer next time! We have also recommended this hotel to our friends in South Cyprus who often vist the North.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
3.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
8.7 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 30 in Kyrenia
393 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
307 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Property: Almond Holiday Village
Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Almond Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing