We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE IDEAL NORTH CYPRUS HOLIDAY RETREAT”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I returned to the Almond in October, when i stayed on half board for 14 nights, having previously stayed there in May.

Try as i might, i have had great difficulty in adding much to my review posted on 17/05/13 " Best Ever North Cyprus Holiday Experience". Nothing has changed. This place is amazing..

The holiday complex is spotless and is run like a Swiss watch.

Ali and his management team cannot do enough to ensure that their guests enjoy their holiday, without being in any way intrusive.

One feature which i found unique, was that the waiters wear walkie talkie radios. This enables them to contact the kitchen which ensures that all meals arrive promptly and are served hot.

The food was so good that i did not go out for dinner at all, during my most recent stay.

On Wednesday evenings during the Dinner service a very talented musician played some beautiful ballads on his saxophone, which appeared to be enjoyed by all the Diners
.
Travellers wishing to have a restful holiday in very pleasant surroundings, whilst enjoying excellent food, will find the Almond Holiday Village to their liking.

After 7 visits to North Cyprus The Almond Holiday Village is now my favourite holiday destination and i look forward to returning in 2014.

Room Tip: i have stayed in two bungalows to the rear of the pool area and found that they were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOHN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 671 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just returned from Almond and found it just as described the perfect place to relax.

The owners and staff are focused totally in making your stay special and the whole holiday village is kept in wonderful condition and so welcoming.

If we were going to be hyper picky our only request to gain total perfection would be to ask for them to look at sound attenuation between rooms re furniture on the floors( particularly as arrivals can be late at night) .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Having lived in Cyprus many years ago both my partner and I decided to re-visit the island the reacquaint ourselves with this beautiful island. The last time either of us were here the North was closed off to occupants of the Greek run south so we decided to split our holiday between 2 locations with the 2nd week being spent in the north and based in Girne (kyrenia). We researched the north extensively wanting a good quality hotel in a central location to allow for some extensive exploring and settled upon the Almond Holiday Village in Alsancak – Karavas, which is effectively in Lapta on the outskirts of Girne.
The Almond Holiday Village came highly recommended on the Trip Advisor website and that was good enough for us so we booked, and are pleased to report that it was an excellent choice and the good reviews were totally substantiated. Do I need to echo and repeat the praises already heaped upon this hotel? Yes, you bet I do because they are all well deserved and it’s gratifying for us the travellers and the management of the Almond hotel to know that praise is given where praise is earned.
I knew what to expect when walking into this hotel but reviews do not prepare you for the depth of comfort, quality and service and this lovely hotel has bucket loads of them all. The accommodation is made up of chalet style individual bungalow arranged around the central hotel building and pool. The design of the chalets means that they could be transported into the Swiss Alps and would not look out of place for a second as they are beautifully trimmed in stained wood including with shutters, stairs, mezzanine floor balustrade and ceiling, Heidi would have felt at home yodelling from the patio. The downstairs is furnished in traditional Cypriot style but though and taste has been employed and the upstairs bedroom area is beautifully opulent.
Each of the chalets face the central wooded area and pool each with a self contained patio. The grounds of the hotel are immaculate with great care taken to keep all areas clean and tidy with no litter. There are carefully placed object of interest around the grounds but each one has a plaque attached informing guests of its significance and use (nice touch). This hotel also has an external bar area which has a well thought out seating area that offer shelter/shade with well cushioned seating to make ensure customer comfort.
The central hotel building comprises, front desk, bar, restaurant, administration and staff accommodation. This area is again exceptionally well maintained, with comfortable surroundings, curious and artefacts and all attached information. The restaurant is very well appointed and has plentiful seating. Service is prompt, polite, efficient and attentive the quality of the food is exceptional with a varied menu.
So we know the hotel is good, it’s clean, it’s well appointed, it’s well maintained and though has gone into ensuring the guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay, so what makes this hotel the number 1 recommended hotel on the trip advisor site for Girne (Kyrenia)?
Easy! The hotel owner/managers and staff, they are the WOW factor of this hotel. From the owner (s) and their family who appear to fill many of the senior positions of the hotel to the catering, cleaning and service staff. They are without exception the jewel in the substantial crown of this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels in many cities in many countries around the globe and am well acquainted with high quality hotels and as a rule do not stay in anything below 4 star (why should I if I can afford it, I want a holiday not a camp site). So when this hotel came up as a 3 star I was admittedly reluctant but my better half was convinced that it would be good and I trust her, so we booked. We also visited some of the 4/5 star hotel in the vicinity and take away all the marble columns and gold looking banisters and what do you have? You should have a hotel where each individual customer should be made to feel like they are the most important customer in the world, the Almond Holiday Village has this nailed. Every day I stay at this beautiful hotel I felt like the King of North Cyprus, they made me and my partner and every other guest feel important and that is a dedication to serviced that cannot be bought this is dedication and skill and I applaud them for their excellence.
So if you are in the north of Cyprus and you are looking for a good hotel, don’t demand a great hotel and go to the Almond Holiday Village, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We couldn't believe our luck when we found this holiday village after a recommendation from a local bar-owner to check out a guitarist who was playing at the Almond Lounge one evening.

Stunning pool, beautiful scenery, amazing staff, the most delicious food, fantastic lounge/sports bar/night club. We could have spent our whole holiday at the village.

We stayed at an apartment only a few minutes away from Almond although we will definitely be staying here next time we visit Cyprus.

Perfection!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilTowersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

just returned from a wonderful long weekend break at the almond holiday village
Very friendly family run hotel with exceptional cuisine
This hotel is HIGHLY recommended
we have already booked to go back next year

Room Tip: all rooms and bungalows are of a very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is number 1 on TripAdvisor for a good reason.

It is a lovely family run hotel that accommodates us as a family from walking though the door to leaving on the last day they were simply amazing.

The chef is world class, the staff/family are so so friendly and will make your stay problem free.
They have a large CLEAN swimming pool which i was very very impressed with and didn't feel like leaving the holiday village to do anything - i mean why would you when you have everything at your feet.

ONLY ONE PLACE TO STAY IN NORTHERN CYPRUS AND THAT IS AT THE ALMOND.

We will be return just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited this lovely holiday village again in Sept2013, again it did not disappoint.

I sometimes want to be selfish and not review as i feel too many people will see this review and book to come here and then I might not get a room LOL!!

This is simply the best place to relax and enjoy your stay in Northern Cyprus.

The owners are fab and very friendly always going out of the way to be sure you are happy with everything.

We have no problems in this lovely holiday village and keep saying we should have a 10 year reservation for every September as we would not stay anywhere else!

Thanks Almond - Much Love as always.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Az_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
8.7 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 31 in Kyrenia
438 reviews
1 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
486 reviews
1.9 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Santoria Holiday Village
Santoria Holiday Village
#5 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
27 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lapta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: $83 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing