We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Almond Holiday Village

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alsancak - Karavas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We couldn't believe our luck when we found this holiday village after a recommendation from a local bar-owner to check out a guitarist who was playing at the Almond Lounge one evening.

Stunning pool, beautiful scenery, amazing staff, the most delicious food, fantastic lounge/sports bar/night club. We could have spent our whole holiday at the village.

We stayed at an apartment only a few minutes away from Almond although we will definitely be staying here next time we visit Cyprus.

Perfection!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilTowersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    32
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
168
341
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

just returned from a wonderful long weekend break at the almond holiday village
Very friendly family run hotel with exceptional cuisine
This hotel is HIGHLY recommended
we have already booked to go back next year

Room Tip: all rooms and bungalows are of a very high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This place is number 1 on TripAdvisor for a good reason.

It is a lovely family run hotel that accommodates us as a family from walking though the door to leaving on the last day they were simply amazing.

The chef is world class, the staff/family are so so friendly and will make your stay problem free.
They have a large CLEAN swimming pool which i was very very impressed with and didn't feel like leaving the holiday village to do anything - i mean why would you when you have everything at your feet.

ONLY ONE PLACE TO STAY IN NORTHERN CYPRUS AND THAT IS AT THE ALMOND.

We will be return just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We visited this lovely holiday village again in Sept2013, again it did not disappoint.

I sometimes want to be selfish and not review as i feel too many people will see this review and book to come here and then I might not get a room LOL!!

This is simply the best place to relax and enjoy your stay in Northern Cyprus.

The owners are fab and very friendly always going out of the way to be sure you are happy with everything.

We have no problems in this lovely holiday village and keep saying we should have a 10 year reservation for every September as we would not stay anywhere else!

Thanks Almond - Much Love as always.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Az_Fats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

After our first stay at the Almond, we couldn't wait to return and we were not at all disappointed! We never normally stay at the same place twice as we love the variety of travel but could not resist a return to this beautiful oasis.

As before, we were made to feel welcome and like old friends of the family. The grounds and pool area were as immaculate as ever and we relaxed as soon as we arrived. The staff are always fantastic and remembered us from our previous visit. They not only smiled as they greeted us but gave us big hugs also! It was both mine and my partners birthdays at separate times during our stay and the staff arranged a wonderful surprise birthday cake for both of us making us feel special and as if we were with family.

Ali and Dervise have worked incredibly hard to build this wonderful place from scratch, putting their heart and soul into it and it shows! They always have time to stop and chat or just a friendly hello whenever they see you walking around the grounds. The staff they choose compliment their hard work, Lily and Sevda are the two wonderful ladies you see first thing in the morning at breakfast who always have a smile for you.

The food is great, freshly cooked breakfasts everyday and immaculately high standards of cleanliness throughout. The bar area outside is cosy with an extremely good selection of drinks and you will always receive great service from Stas, Kenan and Ahmed. The guys are so friendly and as well as making time to chat with you, are extremely professional at all times.

Already looking forward to our next visit, cannot praise it highly enough!!!

Dave & Jeni

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

First time in Cyprus, couldn't fault Almond Holiday Village. It was as though we had always been here. Bar and pool used everyday with wifi!. Food is amazing, cooked fresh and plenty of it for very reasonable prices. Owners happy to run a tab each day and settle up following morning . Booked through gonorthcyprus, but anyone coming here will not be disappointed. Children (11 & 9) spent pretty much all week in the pool. Evenings spent having coffee and apple pie. Excellent

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhesus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We read the reviews and booked our holiday because the Almond Holiday Village came out as no. 1. We were certainly not disappointed, in fact it exceeded our expectations. Everything you read in the reviews is absolutely correct and if you are wondering if you should choose the Almond then my advice is don't hesitate. ..just book it! Why? Because as soon as we arrived we were greeted by one of the family and made to feel really welcome. Our luggage was taken to our bungalow by Ali, the owner and he explained where everything was and then left us to settle in.
The bungalow had everything we required and was immaculate. The bed was super king sized and comfy and there was plenty of storage. The view from the windows in the morning was breathtaking! (The mountain backdrop and gardens and fruit trees).
We were on half board and we were delighted with the quality and variety of the food. Every meal was waiter serviced by the very friendly, helpful staff. We had a choice of menu at every meal with Turkish and English dishes on offer. The wine list was very good too but we tended to stick to the house wine because it was excellent in taste and value. The restaurant was very pretty and had a wonderful atmosphere.
The pool area was fantastic! There are plenty of sunbeds for all so no need to panic! The hotel side has the sun all day so is best for sun worshippers. There is a small pool for children and an equipped playground although i would say the htel is more suited to adults. There is also a pool table and a table tennis table in the pool bar. The tropical gardens are amazing with fruit trees everywhere. You are encouraged to pick the fruit whenever you want. ..so we did! Delicious!
We didn't venture far because I was recovering from an accident but we went to Girne (Kyrenia) on the Dolmus (3.50 TLY) which took 20 minutes and to Deniziki beach which as about 7 minutes away on the Dolmus (2.50 TLY). Girne harbour at night was vey pretty with all the restaurants, boats and lights and everyone was very friendly. The beach was ok. Clean and tidy and well serviced but it was very narrow and the day we went the sea was very rough so no good to swim in. I'm sure it is fine on a calm day!
On a negative note, we were not impressed with the amount of rubbish outside the Almond complex. Wherever we went there seemed to be rubbish and half finished buildings. The main road was extremely busy with no pavements and was unit. Quite dangerous to walk along at night! The Dolmus rarely had seatbelts and they often set off before you were seated but they were plentiful and would stop anywhere!
Many guests we spoke to are regulars at the Almond, some on their third visit of tbhe year! We are planning to go back next spring for ten days this time as a week is too short and we want to hire a car (from Almond) and explore. We can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
3.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
8.7 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#2 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Merit Crystal Cove
Merit Crystal Cove
#7 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
1.4 mi away
Merit Royal Hotel & Casino
9.8 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Property: Almond Holiday Village
Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing