We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almond Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely home from home”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July 2012 for my birthday, my husband and I stayed in one of the hotel rooms whilst 3 of my relatives stayed in one of the bungalows.

This was the second visit to the Almond for my husband and I as we had stayed for a couple of years ago. We stayed B&B to give us the freedom to try all of the delicious places to eat however the Almond do a Half Board (we did this last time) which is very good value for those watching the budget or who have kids.

Breakfast is good, a couple of cereal choices, fruit, yogurts and loats of cooked options. Plenty of choice on the menu for lunches and snacks.

Rooms are basic, very clean, comfortable. My husband and I stayed in one of the hotel rooms this time which was very nice, these rooms have some of the sky channels on the telly too (although there are a million other things to do in TRNC than watch telly!!!). The bungalow my family stayed in was clean and spacious and quiet.

The Almond provide some entertainment on certain nights.....varying from very fab rock group who did covers of Classic rocks songs to a cabaret type singer who was popular with some of the older ladies ;-) and a trio of gypsy guitarist musicians (who were amazing)

All of the staff are lovely and the family that own the Almond are so welcoming, one reviewer said it felt like going back to see your turkish cypriot family when you visit and I can quite agree. The chef makes lovely birthday cakes too!!!

Holidays to the Almond are easy to book direct from their website, they will even sort out transfers/car hire for you. Fly to Larnaca (south) and get a transfer or fly to Ercan (north) and hire a car. Driving is like the uk and is safe.

I love the Almond and I love Northern Cyprus, please do not hesitate to book a holiday here...do yourself a favour and come and visit this wonderful country.

Room Tip: Rooms on top of the hotel have Sky and some english channels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emily t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    33
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
178
347
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here September 2012,service and family very good made to feel very welcome.
Food was very good .
Must admit we were a little put off by a number of the guests who return year after year and it began to be a bit blurred as to who was in charge some of them are very territorial
Most sun beds were covered in towels before breakfast
Overall a lovely place to stay and the Hotel was very good at providing local information
Just enjoy and try to ignore the pool wars.

Room Tip: We had a room in hotel Beds a not comfortable and can be noisy when the sports bar kicks out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Almond Holiday Resort in October 2012 for 6 nights in a Garden Villa. We had a wonderful stay but despite all the 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor this is really not a 5 star hotel. We would rate it as a 3 star hotel.

The Garden Villa’s are situated around the pool in a lovely garden. Despite the high summer temperatures the whole complex was a green oasis. The Garden Villa was quite basic but OK for our needs. We prefer space above luxury and that’s what it gave. We asked for a villa away from the outside terrace and that’s what they gave us. Our Villa 24 was situated at a quiet corner of the complex. Every night some guests of the Hotel were talking loud at the outside bar till at least 24.00h but our villa was far enough so we didn’t bother when we were at our private terrace. Inside the villa you will find a small kitchen without cooking facilities. It only offers a fridge and a water cooker. The bathroom is very basic. After 17.00h it was hard to get warm water at the shower. Most of the time the shower had to be on for 10 minutes or more to get the water at a reasonable temperature. This way we had to spoil a lot of water. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked very fast.

Breakfast was served inside because we had some rain during our stay (mainly at night). The breakfast was very basic but OK. Breakfast is served till 10.00h and exactly on time they move away everything within 5 minutes. We think it would be a good idea they give al last call about 5 minutes before removing the breakfast. This would be a good service to the guests.

Because 90% of the guests of this hotel are from the UK the hotel uses British Pound as their main currency. For guests like us (from the EU) this was very complicated because we are using the Euro and the main currency at the Northern part of Cyprus is Turkish Lira. So we had to make a lot of extra costs to prepay the hotel in British Pounds. Because 2/3 of Cyprus uses the Euro we think they should create a possibility to pay in Euros too.

But despite the mentioned drawbacks we are looking back to a very good time at this extremely friendly family run hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a villa away from the bar because the terraces around there can be noisy during the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CorTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rose10Kyrenia, Owner at Almond Holiday Village, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Sir & Madam,
We thank you kindly for your review.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed our comfortable , friendly, family run hotel although we are confused to what you have actually compared the Almond Holiday Village with.
It seems that you have mistaken The Almond Holiday Village for a 5 star hotel - whereas we very clearly state that we are a 3 star hotel, doing our very best to provide 5 star friendliness, cleanliness, services & staff at affordable costs. The 5 star reviews on Tripadvisor are from guests who have found The Almond Holiday Village to have fully satisfied their expectations.
We would like to take this opportunity to advise readers that The Almond is nothing more or less than it advertises to be. To avoid any possible disappointment we would highly recommend all guests to read through our website and e-mails carefully.
Northern Cyprus is not in the Euro Zone ( unlike South Cyprus), therefore its currency is Turkish Lira. As advised on our website and e-mails guests are also welcome to pay in GBP, €uros or USDollars - subject to daily/local exchange rates. Currency exchange is also available at reception for guests convenience.
We would also like to add that we are one of few holiday villages which has invested in a sanitation system where every drop of water is recycled and used in gardens and groves. As a family we very much care for our environment.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you in the near future.
Merry Christmas & Happy New Year,
Best Regards,
Ali Riza Asik
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to Almond, and TRNC. I've read some long reviews and told myself to keep mine short...haha! Ali and his family sail a well-run ship. They seem to have found that balance between providing good value and beautifully well-kept grounds & accommodation, without too much compromise. I admire their acumen. The Sports Bar is great, far enough away from the main area of the hotel not to be intrusive. The staff without exception were as expected; delightful - being informative, friendly, creative and always there when you need them, regularly going the extra mile. Admittedly the hotel was fairly quiet at the end of November. They genuinely (I hope) enjoy their work. I read reviews before travelling, praising Lily and Ken(an), Stan(islav) and, boy, they made our holiday. If they could be canned and sold across the world, remember it was my idea...but we must not forget their mentors Ali, his wife, Gülten, Ayse and Ahmed who put this team together. We sincerely hope Dervise's broken foot heals in time for a great Christmas! This is a great base for touring and I did not foresee this country being one in which I felt the safest I ever have in any of my travels in 35 years. The Turkish Cypriots are kind, generous, helpful, respectful and humorous. Like in all things, you get out what you put in. This hotel and the people in it and locally, seem to give back so much more. So much for a short review...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCoastRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were delighted with the Almond Holiday Village. It has lovely gardens, the accomodation was very comfortable and the food was excellent. Above all this, however, is the friendly and relaxed atmosphere around the place. It is an good base from which to explore the north of Cyprus either by car (the hotel has a small number of cars which they hire out at reasonable rate) or by the local Dolmus which pass right outside and will stop wherever you want. We would certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Almond Holiday Village, having opted for a hotel room rather than a villa. The room was pleasant and comfortable, and the carton of milk for the tea was a really nice touch. The pool area and surrounding orchards are lovely-remember to visit the ostrich. We had one lunch at the poolside bar and one evening meal in the restaurant. Both were excellent in quality and value. We particularly loved the quiet terrace, overlooking the pool, just opposite our room. Nobody else seemed to use it so we enjoyed many hours sitting and reading in the shade and seclusion. Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and seemed genuinely interested in making your stay pleasant. The local dolmus are absolutely brilliant and a cheap and easy way to visit Girne and Lefkosia-just walk along the road and listen out for the beep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pissouri, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Once again we have had a wonderful time at Almond Holiday Village. Same immaculate rooms, service and food! The staff are so friendly and can not do enough for you. the best breakfast ever freshly cooked every morning no rubbery eggs here! We had value for money all round. The welcome given is outstanding . Roll on our next visit. A big thank you for our stay.

Room Tip: We always stay in hotel but friends stayed in bungalow found it just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueskies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
3.7 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
7.8 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,099 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
7.3 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Holiday Village

Property: Almond Holiday Village
Address: Bademli Sakak no: 1 | Kyrenia, Alsancak - Karavas 9935, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Almond is an authentic, romantic & charming family run hotel where you can experience legendary local hospitality and the faultless balance between comfort and traditional Cypriot culture as well as friendliness and professionalism...The passionate attention to detail, warm service,delicious traditional & world cuisine , artful gardens filled with museum quality antiques and the tranquil pool area - will all ensure that the Almond will instantly win a special place in your heart - as your home away from home... Based in the peaceful western region of Kyrenia - The Almond is ideally located between the slopes of the magnificent Kyrenia Five Finger Mountains and the deep blue Mediterranean Coastline while only 20 minutes walking distance to the flawless sands of the beach - You can be sure that this hidden oasis will offer you tranquility, privacy and convenience at all times... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Almond Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Almond Holiday Village Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Almond Holiday Village Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing