We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merit Crystal Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Merit Crystal Cove to your Saves list
Merit Crystal Cove
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. We have stayed at a few hotels in Northern Cyprus and decided to try the Merit for a change. We found it to be very good value, generally very clean, good food, spacious and relaxing. We tried 2 of the restaurants as a change to the buffet and these were good with great service. Overall we found the service in the buffet and bar to be fine and the low key entertainment (group or singer) was also quite good. The room was comfortable and a reasonable size. Our room wasn't cleaned one day when we returned at about 16:30 but this was sorted when we called reception. We went to the casino most days and had some wins on the automated roulette table and slots. We would certainly go back to the Merit again.

Room Tip: We were given a room with a lovely pool and sea view. It was on the 2nd floor near the lift and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

i used to come to this hotel every summer for 3 or 4 days but last year i have moved to P.A U.S so i was thinking if i'm able to come merit crystal cove this summer. After a 16 hrs flight and at this moment i am writing this comment from my room at merit hotel . İ noticed some improvements going on like a new building still under construction near the hotel . Foods are excellent as usual, staff members is nice and polite, rooms need to be renewed at least the one i'm staying right now, there is an engine voice, i'm hearing like a generator or something outside my room, it's not stopping. Overall if you don't care about voice and old furnitures at the rooms the rest of the hotel services are really good. And i will come again next year because i know they will make it better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UTT555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the best hotels we have stayed at in either the north or the south of the south of the island. Food, always a good variety and different dishes available including Chinese and Indian. Some nights are themed with food from the country, such as Mexico. Evening entertainment always a group and a singer, not much on for children or teens. Very few English people, mainly Italian and Turkish with lots of children but as it never seemed crowded it was easy to find a quiet spot. The private beach is excellent, very sandy and the water is pretty clear and only waist deep for quite a distance from the shore. The staff are great, we were well looked after but it is noticeable that their are some very very rich people staying, especially when the poker series is on and they do get quicker service from some staff. I would say this is a great hotel if you want as a couple to get away from it all and have a bit of luxury.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quieter and have a breeze on the balcony in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlecat_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitebird4
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our first visit to Northern Cyprus. The hotel was brilliant. Food excellent and the rooms all with a sea view. A very high standard of cleanliness throughout the hotel and the term "All Inclusive" did mean a never ending supply of food and drink. The food was well cooked very well presented with a large choice and there was something for everybody. There is a casino at this hotel which I didn't visit but lots of the guests obviously did as even though the hotel was fully booked it never seemed to busy always lots of sunbeds at the beach and by the pool. I would definately go to this hotel again but a word of warning if you like lots of other English people around you and want to be close to bars clubs etc this hotel is not for you unless you hire a car. There is shuttle bus to take you to the nearest town a 20 minute journey and there aren't really any bars etc within a short walking distance. In the two weeks we were there we only saw a handful of other English people, mostly it was Turkish, Russian, Iranians and Iraqs. This wasn't a problem for us everyone spoke English and we had a fabulous holiday.

Room Tip: Due to postioning of the hotel all rooms have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whitebird4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place has everything you need for a luxury getaway - you never have to leave the hotel, nor do you ever have to put your hand in your wallet for the entire duration of your stay. Almost everything is included - gourmet buffets all day long, various bars across the complex, including a couple of beachside ones that offer snacks all afternoon.

At night, they always have entertainment at dinner by the pool. Usually a local band, with the occasional belly dancer. The vibe is fantastic. There is also a shisha bar which closes at around midnight.

There's even a great casino to have a little gamble at night. I was there for an excellent poker tournament which was set up in the large convention space. See picture attached.

I didn't get a chance to try the spa, but a few friends really enjoyed their massages. The hair salon is great too - just 30 TL for a blow dry on my long hair! I was there for work, so that came in very handy.

To get into the town of Kyrenia, it's just a 10 minute taxi. The hotel staff all speak English so its easy to organise anything you need. Plenty of water sports to take part in and I kept seeing party yachts float by with blasting music.

Whether it's a family or party vacation, this place ticks all the boxes.

I created a video tour around the resort and the surrounding areas of Kyrenia and Bellapais which you can watch here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ns4UF486SJ4

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stay in this hotel with our family & friends, it was first time I visit TRNC, I find it very good ,& best place for relaxing. Don't forget this hotel is best place for relaxing, I think there is'nt any place with this value with this services. I recommend this hotel if you want to relax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babak-tehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambuslang
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Did a day pass to the merit whilst staying in Kyrenia with my 2 sister in law's. £28 each, which got us access to all facilities and all food and drink for the day. Fabulous deal and made the most of it. Would definately recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShawsScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
2.5 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Merit Royal
Merit Royal
#5 of 28 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#3 of 28 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#4 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
11.8 mi away
Acapulco Resort & Convention & SPA
8.7 mi away
Cratos Premium Hotel, Casino, Port & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merit Crystal Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merit Crystal Cove

Address: Alsancak Mevkii Girne, Alsancak - Karavas 32000, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Merit Crystal Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being located on one of the most beautiful bays of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus thatstretches to the bright waters of Eastern Mediterranean, Merit Crystal Cove Hotel is located 10km to the city center and 45 km to Ercan Airport right next to the sea where blue and greenembrace each other ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise so you can book your Merit Crystal Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merit Crystal Cove Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Merit Crystal Cove Kyrenia
Merit Crystal Cove Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing