We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I must be missing something”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Garden Resort
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I must be missing something”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed here in April and had the free halfboard included. For the money paid for this week no one could really complain. The rooms are basic and dated and everybody was moaning about there room, toilets not working showers not working etc... All our problems i have to say were resolved quickly. The staff on site are all wonderful and polite and cannot do enough to help you. The food in the main restaurant in our opinion was poor, breakfast consisted of boiled egg, scrambled egg (alternated to have green lumps in ) poached egg, eggy bread, along with all the cereals and continental breakfasts, A small spicey sausage was thrown in twice, We did not enjoy the evening meals at all watery smash with kebab sausages ! A constant queue for the hot drinks and toasting machine. After eating at the restaurant twice we decided that we could no longer do it so went to the Ala carte, the food here was tasty and value for money.
The actual resort is lovely and if the rooms were updated and the food could improve then this would be a lovely place to stay. The weather was not good the week we were here and it was cold and raining , the resort had nothing to do during the day and no where to go really, and only a prehistoric bar in the evening. North Cyprus itself...... not a fan i have to say there is just nothing to do once you have visited the ruins ( broken bottles and rubbish) and churches then you've done it all, not enough to keep me amused I am afraid. Perhaps i am still a little to young at heart and not ready to eat dinner and go back to the room.
At the end of the day , you get what you pay for and this was as cheap as chips, and all that being said the room was clean what more could you ask for, the staff were all loverly. It was a cheap break shame about the weather. Dont let this put you off people all have different opinions and you need to make up your own and not listen to everyone we are all different. Have a nice time.

Room Tip: Apparantly the King rooms are the best they have just been finished , but dont expect to pay peanuts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRU101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    283
    183
    97
    71
See reviews for
276
397
26
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Riverside for a week in April 2013 - after checking reviews on Tripadvisor.
It's a lovely, spacious resort with trees and bushes surrounding the 'cottages' and apartments.
Our accommodation was spacious with a living room/kitchen downstairs and bedroom/shower room upstairs. Also terraces back and front on both floors.
We had the 'free' early season half board upgrade and, despite the unnecessary queuing for the buffet, we enjoyed the food - especially the salads and Turkish breakfasts with yoghurt, honey and cheeses.
For the price, we didn't expect 5 star but certainly couldn't complain.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richfolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for a week in april and i must say we were very impressed.The staff are really friendly and helpful, especially the barmaid in the ranch bar and Abdulla who runs the restaurant near the swimming pool. The room was spacious and was overlooked by the mountains which gave us a great view. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.The scenery around the hotel was really relaxing and peaceful.
Down sides i could only find two, it was about five miles from the town of kirinia and there is not a lot in the area of the hotel to do, although they do run shuttles to the beach and the town.
There is a dog which is from a house nearby that barks almost non stop day and night and that can be a pain if you have a room near by, but once you close your door its not so bad. i think we will probably stay here again as it is so nice and relaxing. We hired a car for a few days at £17 a day through direct travel so we could visit lots of interesting sites. if you hire a car be very wary of the cypriot drivers they are probably the worst i have come across and i have driven all over europe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we stayed at riverside Sept 2011 self catering
we had a great room overlooking the pool
fab service all round .i really cant think of anything that was wrong with the apartment at all !
pool area were fine cleaned every day.

we only eat at the resort the first night as we prefer to dine locally at various places to sample different styles and engage with the culture.this we did and the local eateries were superb as was the only night we sampled riverside.i am a professional chef so i introduced myself at riverside kitchen and what i observed i liked.
we used the bus to the beach and the dolmas to kerina.
no real problems at all.will be returning as may other guest do
its quiet and very pleasant place to chill.

Room Tip: we had a apartment by the road with terrace and balcony.brillant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Not the best place ive stayed the accomadation is in a little need of updating but there is considerable work going on at the moment and also it wasnt that clean either but its ok.
The resort itself is really beautiful and the sceanery is stunning but again the breakfast and dinner options were ok and not that exciting and very same same, but cyprus itself is so stunning, that the hotel as a pit stop was just right, and although i wouldnt opt to stay there again i wouldnt say avoid it either because it has a lot to offer in different ways. The childrens pool was fantastic. It was ok and ask for a refurbished room, and if you love power showers you will be greatly dissapointed as the water supply is really naff. but you do get loads of towels and they smell great. All in all, as i said, it was ok! a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123leme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We booked this hotel after seeing a special offer so it was on the cheaperside but never the less i always expect a certain standard in hotels, and this one fell below my normal standards, the room wasn't as clean as i would like it, the breakfast was ok but very limited and boring. The shower was depressingly and frankly overwelmingly poor with almost zero pressure the staff although friendly seemed not too botherd wether you were happy or not and it is a bit out in the sticks, However amongst these it was also set in beautiful grounds and the veiws are stunning the childrens pool is great and it also has a separate adults only pool if you want to be kiddy free. I mean to be honest its a bitter sweet holiday for me it could have been better but just the same it could of been worse all in all its ok and not a luxury holiday site a little bit dated and old fashioned but if your not too fussy and want a ok standard holiday it should be just fine. I however will be more careful in future to stick to my cleaner more organised hotels. Ps there are lots and lots of cats about so if your a cat lover like me you'll be just fine.

Room Tip: aviod room 36 we were first located there and then very quickly moved out it was very poor dirty and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123osman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sible hedingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Having just enjoyed a good week at the Riverside, must say accommodation in a refurbished villa was good. Staff very friendly, swimming pools were excellent, situation was a little isolated, so made use of local dolmas service. Constructive observations, are that in common with a lot of hotels in N.Cyprus, they a little dated and in need of a makeover, which is starting to happen in Riverside. The reception, restaurant are a little tired and there is no lounge area apart from the Ranch which is a small pub. Once the refurb is completed, it will be an even better holiday base.Overall the setting is excellent but the staff, particularly restaurant, are operating with outdated facilities.,, also standards need to be at a 4 star level, which they are not at the moment.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room, if a family group ask for connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondK652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
448 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
525 reviews
3.1 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
305 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,103 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Garden Resort

Property: Riverside Garden Resort
Address: Mersin 10 TR, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Holiday Village of Northern Cyprus is set in the beautiful tranquil foothills of Kyrenia in a perfect setting of some of the most spectacular gardens ever to be seen in North Cyprus. Like most cyprus hotels all rooms are air-conditioned and have a fresh water swimming pool and indoor swimming pool and a fantastic aqua park, sauna and a massage parlor. Outdoor facilities include horse riding and tennis courts. Unlike some other Cyprus hotels, baby sitting services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Riverside Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Riverside Holiday Village Kyrenia
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Riverside Garden Resort Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing