We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 day stay in summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riverside Garden Resort
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10 day stay in summer”
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

All in all we had a good holiday and there were some good positives, weather was great, food in poolside restaurant very good we ate here every night, swimming pools are great for kids, shop on site very handy.

Negatives include but of a battle getting cot in our room for our 18 month old even though requested in advance, drainage gullets around pool present trip hazard, lots of cats, too many unless you love cats, shower was rubbish and A/C could not cool both rooms, very good price though, probably would have had better time in nicer room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    284
    183
    97
    71
See reviews for
276
398
26
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been staying at Riverside for many years, usually in May, June, September and October but this year our family decided to stay for Christmas and New Year. Our party comprised four adults and three children ranging from aged 3 to 10. We were given a lovely appartment near the restaurant where we had breakfast every morning. The weather was beautiful - like a good Spring day in England although the evenings were a bit chilly. However, when we returned to our appartment after a day out it was cosy and warm. The air conditioning system upstairs doubles up as heating and downstairs was an electric fire so we were very comfortable. The Olympic Pool was open and was as well maintained as usual - on Christmas Day we were sunbathing by the pool and all swam - having said that the water was very cold! We arrived on Christmas Eve and the management had organised a Christmas Evening complete with Turkey, decorations and beautiful red candles on each table. We had a most enjoyable evening and it was lovely to meet all the friendly staff again. We found everything in the Kyrenia district was open which was a pleasant surprise. All our family love Riverside, including my daughter and her family, so much so that she got married in Kyrenia last summer, the Reception being held at Riverside. We have already booked to go back again in June rand will probably return for Christmas/New Year 2013. We all agreed it was the best Christmas we have ever had! Our thanks yet again to all the wonderful staff at Riverside.

Room Tip: Some of the appartments are closed during Winter but we enjoyed staying near the restaurant but this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrispanting_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at the Riverside for many years and it never dissapoints us. The appartment has great views and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Two great swimming pools, one which is adults only and two good restuarants. Also appreciated is the shuttle bus which takes us to the local beachg or to Girne.

We will be back again in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank orchardsend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Me and my family have been regular visitors to North Cyprus for the last 5 years. Our first stay was at the Riverside Garden Resort and we have never considered elsewhere as it is a family run hotel where they and their staff are very friendly. Furthermore, when we have requested a service, they have always done their utmost to accommodate requests made. The rooms are cleaned daily and car hire rates are very competitive. We have stayed in the superior villa's as well as the standard villa's and have found these both satisfactory.

The hotel has 3 swimming pools accommodating a family fun days for all ages. My granddaughter aged 3 had a fantastic time in the children pool which is divided from the pool with slides. The meals served at the restaurant are of good quality at reasonable prices.

North Cyprus is a very scenic unspoilt part of the island with mountains on one side and sea at the other. The closest beach is ‘Escape Beach’ where an entrance fee is payable with parascending, banana boat rides, ski jets is available for a reasonable fee. A public beach is also available 10 mins by car. Depending on whether you wish to relax or explore, Riverside Garden Resort is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AvinashLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I spent a very enjoyable week at Riverside in September 2013. It was my second trip last year. I first went in March with a group of fellow artists where we had fun time painting around the resort and at nearby Kyrenia. We all had own own villas which were of a good standard. Having enjoyed the trip so much I decided to return later in September. This time I travelled on my own and as it was the first time I had travelled abroad on my own I was a little apprehensive. I needn't have worried the staff were very friendly and they all remembered me from the previous trip. This time I had my own apartment which suited me perfectly, and I had a memorable time there. It was very safe and I didn't have any problems with security as I was a lone traveller. I had the 'full board' package and the restaurant staff went out of their way to make me feel welcome. There is also a very good 'al a carte' restaurant where I chose to eat a couple of times for lunch and evening meals - again the standard of the food and hospitality was very good.
The three swimming pools were a delight to lay around, which is what I did all week in the glorious sunshine, drinks were served every day around the pools.
I will definitely be returning again this year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been visiting this hotel over a 15 year period and will continue to use it. The staff are welcoming, the accommodation clean and comfortable (the refurbished rooms have been done very well). The garden areas round the villas are beautiful and help to muffle any noise coming from the common areas. The large separate children's pool is much appreciated as we are older travellers and value peace. The dining area is in a beautiful location and breakfast is a delight overlooking the view. We consider this hotel to offer excellent value for money

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room when booking every effort is made to give you one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jill f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Keith P
We have visited every year for the last 5 years some times twice
This will be the 10th visit to this hotel and it won't be the last.
Over the last few years we have seen the estate with all the improvements that are being done all the time.
The accommodation is spotlessly clean as are the pools and surrounding areas and the variety of pool options tick all the boxes.
The staff are very very helpful in every way,friendly and polite as are the cleaning staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
The best time to visit we find is May when all the flowers are blooming and the site comes alive with colour.
Would highly recommend Riverside.

Room Tip: ask for one by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
1.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
450 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
525 reviews
3.1 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
305 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,106 reviews
4.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Garden Resort

Property: Riverside Garden Resort
Address: Mersin 10 TR, Alsancak - Karavas 9200, Cyprus (Formerly Riverside Holiday Village)
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Holiday Village of Northern Cyprus is set in the beautiful tranquil foothills of Kyrenia in a perfect setting of some of the most spectacular gardens ever to be seen in North Cyprus. Like most cyprus hotels all rooms are air-conditioned and have a fresh water swimming pool and indoor swimming pool and a fantastic aqua park, sauna and a massage parlor. Outdoor facilities include horse riding and tennis courts. Unlike some other Cyprus hotels, baby sitting services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Riverside Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Alsancak - Karavas
Riverside Holiday Village Kyrenia
Riverside Holiday Village Hotel Kyrenia
Riverside Garden Resort Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing