We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Denizkizi and wished we had booked for longer. The staff were all so friendly and also efficient we never had to wait for a table or food. We stayed at the Royal lovely views of sea and mountains although other guests in the other hotel said rooms were newer. Excellent pool and beach facilities all very clean. The hotel is a little further out of Kyrenia than we would like but no problem getting in on the Dolmus which is very cheap. Lots of guests were frequent visitors and we can understand why we will certainly visit again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WiltshireChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear 137WiltshireChris

Thank you for your kind review and for taking the time to share your experience with others. It was lovely to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one and it will give me great pleasure to share this with the whole team who will be delighted that their efforts to ensure that you had an exceptional stay were so appreciated.

Thank you for choosing Denizkizi and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With kind regards,

Cavidan Beydagli
Front Office and Reservaitons Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (315)
There are newer reviews for Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 315 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had heard of a place in kyrenia called "The lamb in the well". They do a Sunday Lunch different to the norm. Booking is recommended. It is situated in the lovely grounds of the Denizkizi hotel. There were 10 of us and we were seated at our table overlooking the beautiful beach a blue sea. Surroundings/gardens were stunning. To begin with the owner gave a talk about how, in the olden days people would steal a sheep and Cook it in an underground oven, cover it solidly and no one knew about the stolen sheep. Today it is cooked there on the same principle but more hygienic. The pieces of lamb were hung on skewers and cooked underground along with onions and potatoes, for about 3 hours. All the meat was then cut off the bone and served with the onions, potatoes, salad and bread. It was delicious. A dessert followed. After we had digested our lunch it was off to the beach, to sleep it off and then a dip in the sea. What a lovely Sunday a really nice change to the normal Sunday roast. Only downside was that I thought it was a little overpriced for what food you actually got, 40tl pp. But taking into consideration the food, the stunning surroundings and free use of the sun beds and umbrellas we couldn't complain

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue4656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear sue4656,

I am very happy to hear that you have enjoyed our Lamb in the Well which is our speciality since 1970s. In terms of the price, I want to say that preparing the lamb in the well is a very thourough and costly process so we could not keep the prices any lower unfortunately.

We hope that you will return on another Sunday to join us at this special lunch occasion.

Best Regards,
Cavidan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited this hotel in 2010 and decided to return this year. Once again the staff were efficient and friendly apart from the surly red haired barmaid who worked in the Country Club at lunchtimes. She just never seemed happy in her work. Stayed at the Royal and like a previous reviewer found it difficult to justify the premium rates charged now that the older hotel has been refurbished. Unlike 2010 the bathroom did not have a walk-in shower, which meant clambering into the bathtub each time, OK if you are fit otherwise a bit of a chore. Tried to change our room but hotel was full. However everything else was great. Spent many a happy hour just chilling out at the pool and I must praise all the staff there. It was cleaned every day and bar service was first class. As usual Mr Niazi was always on hand to ensure his clientele were well looked after. Thanks to Chris and Dave from Wigan for their company over the fortnight. This was their first visit and they were most impressed. Hope to return soon. One last thing, if you like Chinese food try the China House which is opposite the Ship Inn on the road into Girne. One of the best I've had for quite some time.

Room Tip: For the less mobile try to ensure you get a walk-in shower.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claud59music
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear claud59music,

I am very happy to hear that you were overall satisfied with your stay at Denizkızı. I want to advise you that Denizkizi Royal Hotel is no longer charged at a premium rate - the rates are equal to those of Denizkizi Hotel seaview rooms. Besides, we are partly renovating the Denizkizi Royal building this winter - for this year the renovation will be on the third floor only but in about 2-3 years we expect the whole building to be completely renovated.

I am sorry to hear that we could not accomodate your needs with respect to in-room showers. We do have rooms with walk-in showers in the Royal building,however, during busy periods these could indeed be occupied so we were unable to change your room. For your next holiday, I would advise that you book with us early on and specifically ask for a room with walk-in shower so that you will not be disappointed.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Denizkizi,

All the best,
Cavidan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First visited about 20 yrs ago and have been again for last 3 yrs. The makings of this hotel are the superb location, the fantastic staff, the cleanliness and the price. Excellent value for money. Not particularly for the younger set - the number of repeat bookings this hotel seems to get says something about it. Early in year bookings with Direct Traveller have had free half board for no extra charge - recommended, even if you wish to eat out the odd night. The beach restaurant/bar is a fantastic asset at lunchtimes with rapid service, excellent food and sensible prices and the buggy is a super idea for those who find the uphill walk from the beach difficult. Please note though that the buggy operates from the beach bar which is quite a few steps up from the beach itself. Older people with disabilities are well looked after by staff and it is a good place for older singles - especially women. We cannot believe that one reviewer said that the staff were ‘unfriendly’ From the owner to the gardeners, greetings and smiles are returned by all – you of course get back what you give!
As other reviewers have said, the older hotel has been superbly revamped but now lacks open balconies. The Royal is probably due for revamp soon and as some say looks a little tired - never the less it is still spotless and if you choose a room looking more North, you can dispense with the air con and have a good night’s sleep with balcony doors wide open enjoying the gentle sea breezes - these rooms are always cool in the height of summer.
We have been thoroughly spoilt for the last two weeks yet again. On the negative side, be aware that the natural hazards of North Cyprus are cats in restaurants and that smoking is still prevalent in restaurants - many clients are Turkish and like to smoke before, during, between courses and after dinner - if you wish to avoid smokers choose table around edge of balcony so you are upwind of them. As to cats - the only reason they are there is because stupid people feed them food from the table so shoo them away - food put on floor for them by guests is a dangerous slip hazard and attracts flies etc. (The cats will not starve if you don't feed them - in fact most appear overfed) Only improvements I can think of would be to have segregated area for smokers in dining and bar areas (preferably no smoking at all in these areas). Ditto cats banned from these areas- both are becoming a major disagreeable problem. Unfortunately both are common problems in North Cyprus (joining EEC might solve this - but who would wish that anybody would join EEC???) Saving the pennies to go again next year.

Room Tip: Royal is quieter and cooler (especially north facing) but the other hotel gets the best of the spect...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil_bingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beydagli, Front Office Manager at Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear neil_bingham,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and for your loyalty as a special guest of ours. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with Denizkizi Hotel and that you have enjoyed your visit. In the Denizkizi building, we had to make use of the balconies for the rooms to be wider and more spacious. However, we are well aware that a balcony is a must-have for seaside holidays so we made use of the large glass sliding doors so that you could enjoy a balcony experience anywhere in your room. We hope that these glass doors have served this purpose. As you have said, Royal is due for a revamp in the coming couple of years as well. We promise that we will keep the balconies wide this time!

For the issue of cats, I have to say that this is a problem all over Cyprus as there are plenty of cats everywhere. We do our best to keep them at a distance so that our guests will not be disturbed but unfortunately there is a limit to what we can do as we do not want to hurt them in any way.

The no-smoking issue has been taken to the consideration of management and necessary steps will be taken to divide our terrace into smoking and non-smoking lots.

We hope to see you again here in Cyprus.

All the Best,
Cavidan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed in the renovated "old building" in the end of June 2012.

The room is fine and clean with a huge window to the whole height of the room. Breakfast really god for TRNC hotels. In the shower everything is high-tech but the water is leaking due to some mistake at construction time. After 3 mins of shower you may flood people below. (but may be it was MY ROOM only - I do not insist). Dinners on the open terrace also nice.

There is some territory but one can not say it is too efficient - no places to sit in the shadow only a couple of benches.

A beach is a separate issue. It is a bit small but nice and clean - but there lots of tourist boats anchored in the swimming area which makes it inconvenient for those who like SWIMMING and not just staying in the water.

Swimming pool seems nearly adequate by size.

But - there is one big DISADVANTAGE - on weekends local people come here to relax with their kids. This is natural as within the town limits you can not find nice beaches - so people prefer ton pay some money but stay ion the well kept beach at least on weekends.

The hotel is eagerly charging entrance fee and as a result ON WEEKENDS it is impossible to find VIRTUALLY place not only ON THE BEACH but in the sea itself.

In the swimming pool it is even worth - you have hundreds of people including kids of every age....

So during the weekend you can neither stay in the swimming pool or on the beach.

The best time to come to the hotel would be check in Sunday and depart on Saturday - but no weekend stays!

But this is not a Deniz Kizi problem only - it is typical for every more or less nice beachfront hotel in Kyrenia.

Otherwise it is quite OK for the money you pay for it.

They also have good Sunday lunches with famous kleftico. You must try it (lamb prepared in the well) but reservations only applies. It starts at 2-00.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IgorVKharkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Before we booked this hotel I read and re-read the reviews on the two hotels here, The Royal has been given a four star rating and the Denizkizi has been given a three star rating and after our visit I am still non the wiser why this is. The Royal where we stayed is old fashioned, very tired with not very nice bathrooms and the Denizkizi looks to be modern and nicely refurbished.

Initially my husband and I were put in a room on the ground floor after specifically asking and paying for a room with a sea view. We are ex smokers but the room smelled so strongly of stale smoke it was horrible. We were very disappointed with this room. However, the Manager did move us to the first floor with a very nice sea view. The room was very tired indeed and I really did not like the bathroom at all as it seemed old and grubby. We had a nice balcony and the beds were comfortable.

Breakfast and dinner (which we only had once as had paid for only bed and breakfast) and drinks in the evening were at the hotel over the way (The Denizkizi) This was not at all inconvenient but all you did in the Royal was sleep. There is absolutely not entertainment other than football on a large screen tv.

Breakfast was extremely boring, the same every day, no variety at all. There was a good supply of what there was but it was disappointing and not a four star breakfast.

The pool and views were lovely, probably this is what gives the hotel the high rating. In my opinion there were far too many loungers on the beach, very crammed and these too had seen better days and could do with replacing.

There is a beach side restaurant but the staff who cooked behind the counter seemed quite rude and abrupt and often our meals were served separately where one was not cooked yet.

This hotel would suit people who either have a car to get around and see the sights or people who are happy to lie in the sun all day who need a rest. It is easy to visit Kyrenia just walk to the top of the road where the Dolmus stop and pick you up. The shops shut at 8 o'clock and I would advise visiting at least once in the day as the castle is quite interesting and the shops are worth a look. After 8 o'clock it is more just a place to eat. The food was ok but everything is served with chips and salad and very rarely are vegetables served. We asked for vegetables one evening, they were very nice but we were charged the equivalent of £5.00!!!

There are a lot of steps down to the beach but there are buggies to take you down if you wish.

All in all I was disappointed with this hotel - that said there are very many people who go back year after year because they love it.

The staff were efficient but not overfriendly.

I personally would not return to this hotel, it was not a cheap holiday and definitely not worth the money we paid.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Denizkizi not the Royal
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maidstone73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Okay here goes.

I first would like to clear up what i was very confused about and no doubt many other people.

Denzikizi Hotel has been refurbished and is lovely inside by far the modern and up to date and reaches a 4 Star..to Cyprian standard.

Denziki Royal..mislead by the Royal in the name is very grubby, tired and needs major refurbishment. However speaking to the other holiday makers that have been visiting Denzikizi for years have said they prefer the Royal as there is a balcony. ???Okay???

We arrived and Anhil welcomed us with a big smile(hope we have spelt his name correct) he was absolutely Fantastic and credit to Denzikizi. He was at the desk at Denzikizi royal. He was a major help all the way through our stay. My husband would wake up and say im going to speak to Anhil. He helped us with directions, information and Car Hire. He was lovely.

We were initially to stay in The Royal but soooorry to be so frank but it was disgusting and we spent alot of money for this holiday and have never stayed in poor accommodation like this and was not use to it.

We were moved to Denzikizi Hotel and it was lovely. This is when we met Aysha the lady at the Denzikizi Desk she was lovely and very accommodating all the way through our stay.
The rooms were lovely, cleaned to a good standard everyday! I only found two english channels BBC News and another channel.

The first place we ate was at the beach bar and the food was okay, calarmi and chips. However the staff were very unaccommodating, the service was poor. The price they charged shouldn't be so high considering the quality of the food and service was not on par.
It almost felt as though they were doing us a favour for being there. It was not a great start and someone needs to sort the staff out and remind them that people have come to holiday to relax and be taken care of.

One day i was ill and i couldnt walk up the steep steps back to the hotel a lady just looked at me and basically said tuff luck in her language and went on to say it was only for Old people. Lovely! even though my husband was trying to explain i was terribly ill.

My husband later found out by another person working there that people always complain about the beach bar staff but 'it is own by a couple and its complicated'.
We never went back!!!!

Breakfast..its not an english breakfast. No sausages or bacon. But hot dogs cut in mini little pieces and pepperoni or salami not sure. No beans etc.
There were Eggs, different types of olives and cheeses, Lovely soft bread, Good selection of cereal, French Toast etc
And lovely refreshing Orange juice and a great mixture of tea bags. Breakfast was Good and so was the staff working there!

Overall it was lovely here

Room Tip: If you want to sleep dont get a room over where they dine in the evenings. We did but we didnt mind...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UkCharlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alsancak - Karavas
5.2 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
439 reviews
2.9 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
360 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel

Address: Pk 230, Alsancak - Karavas 10, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Alsancak - Karavas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alsancak - Karavas
Price Range: $58 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal shores of Northern Cyprus overlooking its picturesque sandy cove, Denizkizi Resort offers a unique mix: the amenities and conveniences of a modern beachfront hotel, coupled with the warmth and appeal of a cozy local inn...Seafront opulence abounds at Denizkizi. With lush landscaping and a pristine golden sandy beach, this is a retreat unlike any other-- offering comfortable accommodations, a beachfront restaurant, a sparkling swimming pool, a fitness centre and regional distinctive dining.Serving international guests for over 3 decades, Denizkizi has become synonymous with quality holidays at affordable rates in Northern Cyprus. Offering two distinctive hotel buildings with different room categories in each, you are sure to find the one that’s right for you.From its gracious coastline views to a multitude of services and amenities, this world-class resort offers a masterful mix of nature and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel Cyprus/Alsancak - Karavas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing