We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This hotel is the best I ever been into anywhere in the world. With reasonable price you get a comfortable spacious room and an unbelievable breakfast with fresh local ingredients.

Nice and extremely helpful personal. I forgot a book (a library loan) in the room and sprang back to the hotel shortly before the train was to leave. The book was not at the desk nor in the room. I sprang back to the railroad station (across the street). I had just found my seat on the train so there was the Astor person standing outside, looking for me and waving the book in her hand. I got the book and could just thank her, then the train left.

But I promise to revenge this service next time and all the next times I have possibility to be kind towards strangers

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 78 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We loved this hotel. Very traditional decor and tastefully decorated. We had a suite with private sauna - such a nice option in Finland. The breakfast buffet was very good. Staff very helpful.
Free internet. Just across the street from the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel Astor is situated just across from the Vaasa railway station, but I have not been disturbed by any inconvenient sounds when I have stayed. Location is good, 5 minutes of walking to downtown. Being a small non-chain, family owned style hotel, you would expect it to be more cozy and with a familiar atmosphere. However, the rooms are quite boring – nothing wrong, but simplistic. It is clean and tidy, there are desks that you can work from and the Internet connection is wireless and good. Bathrooms are tidy and nice – even if they feel a little bit old. Several rooms have a sauna in the room – go for them! Other hotel rooms are VERY small. In summer, also ensure you get a room with an AC.
The hotel brags about their breakfast – and it is good! The choice is excellent with Pirikka (try them), porridge, fresh orange juice, smoothies and the normal cold and hot assortment. Well worth a visit for both business and families

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sauna! Also be aware that rooms on the 1st floor can be very close to the groun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abundance_of_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Easy walking distance to the train station--and yet not noisy at all. Spectacular breakfast buffet, starting at a good early hour, making it possible to eat before catching an early train. Good sauna.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penel523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Basic business hotel, with convenient locations. Room sizes various lots. Some single person rooms are tiny.
Other hand rooms, with sauna are spacious.
Good breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get room whit sauna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KulkijaHki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Beautiful, old-fashioned hotel near the railway station. Good amenities in the bathroom, lovely lingonberry skin cream. Breakfast was delicious: you could even fry your own waffles. Service was ok. Room was facing the backyard and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rippe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice little hotel, good breakfast, great service, excellent location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerMUPU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaasa
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
0.5 mi away
Scandic Vaasa
Scandic Vaasa
#4 of 6 in Vaasa
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
#1 of 1 in Mustasaari
57 reviews
20.7 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Norrvalla
#1 of 1 in Voyri
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Asemakatu 4, Vaasa 65100, Finland
Location: Finland > Ostrobothnia > Vaasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Price Range: $150 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing