We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm.”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2011

This hotel is probably your best choice if you want to stay at a small, personal hotel in Vaasa. The building is old with a nice atmosphere. We were upgraded to a sauna room so I can't comment on the standard ones. Our room was on the smaller side but clean and well-appointed. The double bed, however, is only two single spring beds pushed together. The beds are very soft and I found them a bit uncomfortable. The breakfast was good, much more than we expected.

As the hotel markets itself as a 4 star i have some issues. Service is very limited. There's nothing but the rooms and the breakfast. The lobby is a sofa and two chairs crammed into a very small room that doubles as a corridor. The reception desk is a hole in the wall. There was no food or room service offered. There's no fitness facilities. There was no wifi coverage in our room. The front desk staff directed us to a restaurant that was closed.

The hotel is perfectly fine for a overnight stay with a very good breakfast included. However, don't expect too much. I think the nice ambience compensates the lack of service to some extent. The substandard beds makes this hotel a no go if you are out for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taatelikauppias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 80 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

What a nice old hotel, but with enough upgrades that you don't have to do without anything. Free internet, nice TV, some rooms have saunas in them, a very nice breakfast. It is right across the street from the train station, couldn't be any easier to find. There is a small restaurant/pub in the lower level as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeandLisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

My partner and I spent one night last weekend at this hotel. We used to stay at another hotel in Vaasa, but wanted to try something else. The hotel is easy to find, they even have parking space, very narrow though, at the back of the hotel. It was a very cold and windy weather last weekend and we were happy to park the car in the backyard.
The room we had included a sauna, that was a suprise for us. The room itself was very big and spacy. The only negative thing I noticed was that because the windows are big there's a draft from them that the curtains won't help you from feeling. I slept towards the window and could feel the cold coming from it.
The hotel had a nice and large breakfast, it wasn't crowded at all, we could sit there and read a paper without getting disturbed.
The reception was very helpful with all our enquiries.
Situated opposite the railway station is convenient for those travelling by train, you don't get any noise coming from the station or traffic overall outside the hotel. Very quiet and cosy, a warm atmosphere.
The hotel served a brunch on the Saturday when we left, so we had that which was very filling and tasty. We'll definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeppis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I've stayed at this hotel several times, always work-related. It's a quite small hotel, owned by a family, and all in all, if you're going to Vaasa, do check this hotel FIRST for available rooms before checking other ones. If you're not in search of pure luxury, but rather a good, clean, reliable hotel with reasonable prices and the right value, and with a great location (right next to the combined railway and bus station, in the city centre) and a good night's sleep with a tasty breakfast in the morning - this is the place to stay at.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starkjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

consider this city-center hotel to be a good deal - through internet booking, we managed to get a double room with private sauna (!) for 110e (for comparison: a hostel in Vaasa a few kilometers outside center, with breakfast for two people, will set you back about 80 euros).

the staff was very helpful, answering all the questions with a smile, also offering complimentary candies :-)

breakfast was simply excellent - did not expect much from a relatively small hotel, but to my surprise, the selection was very wide; i have been to 4* hotels belonging to large chains where you get two kinds of juices - here, a selection of at least 5 was available plus a chance to make your own by squeezing fresh oranges. now apply the same mathematics to other breakfast "components" - and you will get the picture.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the_vj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Well, well. After a comprehensive reflection, we chose to book Astor instead of a much cheaper chain hotel, because we wanted to have something special, a little luxury, for our weekend mini-break. Unfortunately, it didn't quite turn out that way.

First of all don't be fooled by looks: the hotel building is NOT just the century-old red neoclassical house (which they call the old part), but it also extends to the more generic pale yellow 1940's corner building (called the new part), so you might just get a room along a much busier street than you expected. Apart for the staircase, which is truly beautifully painted, there is really nothing old about the decoration. Rather it's "old" - might look genuine and distinguished to an untrained eye, but is actually made of chipboard some years back. Their double beds btw are not really double, they are just two single beds pushed together.

We booked a double room with sauna way ahead. A day or two before the stay we got a phone call from the hotel: they wanted to know if we needed an extra (third) bed. We told them "no" - we didn't know what the inquiry was about. I do have a theory, but I'll explain it later.

Our first room was rather small, and the long-awaited sauna was just tiny. It was in the new part. At arrival, I wasn't quite satisfied, when I was thinking what we were going to pay for the room. Nonetheless, we tried to heat up our sauna only to notice that the sauna stove was so inefficient that it could hardly be done. When we were getting to bed, the thumping music begun. The room was where the hotel "ended" - next to it was a private apartment, where - apparently - a late-night party had just started. This, of course, was not the hotel's fault, but so we had to change rooms (for the first time).

At this time, we requested to get a quiet room, even without a sauna. So they transferred us, and we got the most wonderful, quiet, large room in the old part. This was exactly what we had been looking for. The room also had a nice, large sauna, and we were amazed why we didn't get this room in the first place. But, we were about to find it out soon... In the morning, the reception woke us up by calling us that we had to change rooms again. Someone else was coming to stay in this room next night. This room had an extra sofa bed, and my theory is that we were originally booked in this room. I believe they got a reservation from a group of three people after ours, and then called us and moved us to the first room.

After the delicious and versatile breakfast in the comfortable breakfast room we were forced to change rooms for the second time. They offered us the previous room, which we declined, and we were transferred to a very small room without a sauna. This one was also in the old part and it at least it was quiet, but it was NOT what we were looking for when we booked Astor. We didn't get to enjoy a sauna, and we didn't get luxury and/or relaxation. Instead we got room changing operations...

When checking out, we asked for some compensation for all this trouble. We got 12 euros - they told us they don't have the authority to give more discount. That didn't satisfy us, but I've got to compliment the staff, though, for remaining friendly all the time.

The point is: this is not a cheap hotel. Their rooms are not equal in size and quality, although they are equal in price. For most rooms, I don't think they're worth their price. I would go there IF I'd know the room beforehand and could book just that one (377 is great), but otherwise I'd try my luck with some other hotel in Vaasa.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We spent our wedding night in this hotel. Wouldn't recommed that to anyone who wishes a bit of special treatment. Big (-) for service. Ok breakfast but nothing more!Unsatisfying!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karohama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaasa
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
0.1 mi away
Scandic Vaasa
Scandic Vaasa
#4 of 6 in Vaasa
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
#1 of 1 in Mustasaari
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tekla
Hotel Tekla
#1 of 2 in Vaasa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Asemakatu 4, Vaasa 65100, Finland
Location: Finland > Ostrobothnia > Vaasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Price Range: $149 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astor 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing