We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in ???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel has a great location right on the central square within walking distance to the seaside.
We had a superior room which was nice and overlooked the central square. A bit small for a superior room but well appointed. The only bad point, I wasn't told about having to drive into the underground parking to access reception and check in. That was an unnecesssary hassle.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 278 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have spent three nights in this hotel so far. Rooms are clean and modern. TV's are some kind of internet tv's and sometimes picture and sound are somehow disturbed. Location is excellent. Staff is kind and breakfast is ok. Breakfast room is well hidden but you'll find it by following the signs. Parking garage is good also, but route from garage to reception is complicated. I'm very satisfied with this hotel and I recommend to try it.

Room Tip: Sauna was in 5th or 6th floor. Try to get room in that floor if you are going to use sauna. Amarillo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HHFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel for couple of times. This time I stayed in superior room and I was really disappointed. It should have been renovated and cleaned better. I felt the sheets on the bed were not the freshest ones... The room was quite big one and bed was quite comfortable but the pillows were not the comfiest ones. There felt quite old and not so soft anymore. And when you pay more for superior room you expect to get something better. So I recommend NOT to take superior room at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

No unpleasant surprises, everything as it should be. One slightly negative thing-the mexican restaurant is very busy, expect a long wait for service. However-the food was good

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akersolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A bit too expensive, but nice place to stay. Location is excellent, good restaurants available straight from hotels elevator, as are numerous shopping possibilities. Special thanks to the staff, everything worked fine within many ways extraordinary situation and late arrrival. Will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peetkens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The spotless room was relatively small but beds are comfortable, the bathroom spacious, and all design very nice. Hearty, healthy breakfast. Pancakes was a nice surprise. Reception desk personnel were always alert and genuinely friendly. There´s a bar and a restaurant. The hotel is located inside a fashionable shopping centre right in the heart of the city. Visit at the kauppahalli/saluhall/old fashioned market hall nearby is recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid facing the inner roof - not much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This is my least favorite center hotel in Vaasa. Cleanliness an location are good, but the rooms are a bit small, and there are no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, an absolute no-go for me. I also don't like the fact that the toilet paper rolls are too wide for the rollers they are on and do therefore not roll properly. Breakfast is average,

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank herriebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaasa
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Royal Vaasa
0.2 mi away
Scandic Vaasa
Scandic Vaasa
#4 of 6 in Vaasa
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#2 of 6 in Vaasa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumulus Resort Tropiclandia
2.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
Best Western Hotel Vallonia
#1 of 1 in Mustasaari
56 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Tekla
Hotel Tekla
#1 of 2 in Vaasa
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna

Address: Rewell Center 101, Vaasa 65100, Finland
Location: Finland > Ostrobothnia > Vaasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Vaasa
Price Range: $130 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight-story Hotel situated in glass-enclosed shopping center, in a major west-coast port town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Vaakuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing