We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quick stay”
Review of Ruissalo Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice quick stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed in Ruissalo Spa Hotel quickly for one night. I can't say much of the spa as we didn't have time to visit it because we arrived so late. Overall the room was nice but a bit outdated. Breakfast did the job. The terrace was excellent and it would have been great to spend more time there and in the beautiful surroundings. All in all a nice place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WV_Couple81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
20
36
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Marmari, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have visited Ruissalo Spa twice. It is true that it attracts the more elderly clientele but is a wonderful place for relaxation for any age and generation. There is a spacious swimming pool with jaccuzi and of course sauna. For the hardy Finn there is an exit to the lake (or is it sea inlet?) where you can plunge into the water after your sauna. The training studio has all the equipment one can hope for The rooms are lovely and comfortable with "pillow menu" and if you are prepared to pay a bit more the accommodation is superb. Worth noting are the special offers which give all the amenities at a reduced price . Breakfast is lavish with plenty of varieties to suit all tastes. We only ate dinner once. And although the restaurant didn't, close for 30 minutes and the staff were still taking orders, they seemed keen that the guests ate up and left. Ruissalo is easily accessible from Turku market square on a number 8 bus with services hourly. This was the winter schedule. There are more frequent buses in summer time. The surroundings are a delight to wander in. It should be mentioned, however, that there are many geese which seem to have got out of control. The mess they make is considerable. Although suggestions have been made to reduce the population nothing has been done. NB You don't have to stay at Ruissalo. You can enjoy the amenities on a day trip, but a fee is charged

Room Tip: Ask reception for a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went for a short, two days stay to Ruissalo Spa because of a good offer. The nature around the hotel was unbelievable beautiful, even though it already was October, waiting for first cold days. I had ordered a mini-suite room, which we really liked. There was space enough, good bread beds with small night tables, good wardrobes, writing table, a sofa for two and which could be changed to an extra bed, two chairs, sofa table, balcony, bath room with long basin table, shower, hand shower, too. All furniture was of beech and in very good condition.
The common lobbies, restaurants etc. were very nice furnished. It was very clean everywhere. Fitness room was filled with various equipments, but unfortunately I did not know how to use them compared my usual fitness room near my home, so it did not give me much joy.
However, we were not satisfied with the food. The breakfast was ok, but dinner was awful. It is not a good explanation that dinner time is ending within an hour. Next evening we had a la carte. That was as expensive as in any good restaurant in the city, but there was nothing special, like badly home made. I doubt the professionalism of the waitresses. It seemed like they were tired of working there. Hardly anyone of the personnel smiled ever.
I wonder if Ruissalo could be more beautiful and giving in summer time, perhaps. They still have to work a lot with the restaurant services. The cafe, however, was nice and had some very good cakes etc.
We got the feeling that the older people (I am 65, too!) liked there, but for me and my husband (70) this was some kind of disappointment. No, we don't want teenagers there, but we felt ourselves beeing much younger than the most of the other people, which seemed to be of some groups. All the three points come from the building and room itself and, of course, the nature.

Room Tip: Absolutely ask for mini-suite with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritva F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Spent one night in August. As we travel with my wife and adult daughter, we took 2 rooms. Rooms are very tired, is seen that hotel is maybe 30 years old and the furniture seems to be the same age. Clean rooms, but cry for reconstruction. Nice spa with short way to the sea. Hotel has probably a program for seniors, I felt in my 55 like a young boy watching my neighbours during breakfest. By the way, breakfest is quite poor. We paied 180 EUR for these 2 rooms. It is an average for this very expensive country, but

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampere
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Sad but true this place is a hospice for the walking dead. Surroundings are sooooo beautiful and the place has some potential but the atmosphere takes everyone down. I had one spa treatment but even that felt more like rehabilitation than relaxing luxurious spa treatment.

Suffered the two nights since we were celebrating a relative's 80-year-old birthday but would not visit with friends.

Room Tip: Minisuite are better than standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sihis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Visited for two nights on business in late January. Reception was friendly and swift. General areas were clean, in good condition but rather ordinary. Room (mini-suite) was well-cleaned, spacious and decently equipped. Conference rooms ok. The spa area was pretty good too, and chance to dip into ice cold sea was a nice addition. Breakfast was excellent and the dinner I had quite nice also.

Overall, no complaints really but the hotel lacks the "it factor", something to make it stand out a little. The surrounding nature is at its best during summer, though. Something to be considered also is that it has a large health facility included and thus plenty of elderly customers.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aland Island, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were on a family holiday from 8-11.1.12. It was a three night 200eur package, including morning buffet breakfast. Gym, swimming and sports utility inclusive. The family enjoyed it. There is a free internet point on the first floor beside children play room. The place for children is pretty good but stuffed, cant take more than ten kids, not suitable for new born babies. The swiming pool is superb, three sets, with different varying temperatures ranging from warm to lukewarm and cold.
If you have a baby, you can swim in turn, one person sits on the edge watching the baby while the other swims. The buffet breakfast is lovely of all, I mistook it for heavy lunch. Tasty and the menu is varieying, from local to international and intecontinental.
However, the mixture of guest there lives one wondering if this is a service home for the elderly. The share number of old people there lives a sour taste. No the reason was that pensioners and elderly people from Turku city comes to spend there weekend there and have spar treatment. There is a small health unit aswell with doctors on call.
The rooms were good, remember to mention during booking that you want non smoking room if you are a non smoker like me. If not, you will authomatically be booked to smoking room areas, awful!
Two children allowed, but might require extra cost for three, confirm from the hotel desk.
We did not have our dinner there, we drive to Turku center to have our lunch and diner,that enables us to see city vicinity. Whoever have tried their dinner should please report.
The driving direction in front of the hotel is very poorly marked and directed. There should be a more clear direction especially when driving in. You notice that you are on the wrong lane only when you got in front of the hotel.
I will visit again with my family if I have another offer.
Cheers!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolaceConcept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turku
4.1 mi away
The Naantali Spa
The Naantali Spa
#1 of 2 in Naantali
370 reviews
5.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
6.7 mi away
Holiday Club Caribia
Holiday Club Caribia
#10 of 17 in Turku
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
519 reviews
5.7 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
338 reviews
6.0 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruissalo Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruissalo Spa Hotel

Property: Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Address: Ruissalon puistotie 640, Turku 20100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruissalo Spa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruissalo Spa Hotel is a pleasant spa and conference hotel situated on the scenic Ruissalo Island, only a stone’s throw away from the centre of Turku. The new annex of the spa offers a distinguished and highly functional setting for successful conferences and corporate events. Wireless Internet service (WLAN) is at the disposal of our guests in the rooms, lobbies, conference rooms and Restaurant.The beautiful natural surroundings in Ruissalo, with its gorgeous oak groves and sea views, offer the perfect backdrop for a memorable experience. All services are provided in Finnish, Swedish and English. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ruissalo Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing