We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hm.”

Panimoravintola Koulu
Ranked #33 of 325 Restaurants in Turku
Restaurant details
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
623 reviews
489 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Hm.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It's an old school turned into brewery. It's uge but I went on a weekday and it was completely empty. Ok Scandinavia is boring and they go to bed early. The beers were pretty boring, I didn't enjoy them (I drank 2). Didn't try the food but i guess the answer would've been "sorry kitchen closed". Not a memorable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingcastles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    58
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place, rustic feel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Always nice to sample a local brewpub, and Koulu did not disappoint. The food was fine, the beer was even better. The downstairs pub was very comfortable for a late night tete-a-tete with some friends.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AstronomerGerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good and relaxed school atmosphere”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

An atmospheric old building, a former school now brewery-pub...sounds interesting? Well, it is! The place is very lively and pleasant, beer is good, my only regret is that the upstairs restaurant was closed, so we had the restricted outdoor menu; however food was very good and filling and the large garden offers the best location for a wonderful summer evening

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbeTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lempaala, Finland
Level Contributor
301 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Quite nice bar with a wide selection of local beers”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I've sat here on both regular evenings and during special events and have enjoyed myself. The building is very dignified. You come here for the locally produced beers.

I have only eaten here during conference evenings and such and have not been impressed, unfortunately. The spacious cabinets in general feel a bit too official for having a nice evening. But the bar and the garden are both very nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hulaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice beergarden”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We only had drinks outside in the beergarden. The selfbrewed beers and ciders are great, the garden is excellent in summertime.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panimoravintola Koulu also viewed

Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 
Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 

Been to Panimoravintola Koulu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing