We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive restaurant but food is great!”
Review of Brahen Kellari

Brahen Kellari
Ranked #44 of 335 Restaurants in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Scandinavian, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brahen Kellari, the oldest cellar restaurant in the city, is situated in heart of the modern Turku. Friendly, relaxed athmosphere, an excellent blend of Finnish and International flavours as well as cheerful, homelike service welcome you always at the Brahen Kellari.
TURKU
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Expensive restaurant but food is great!”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This restaurant in the center of Turku and they have redecorated this place recently so now the place is rather cozy. The food is good but the prices are very high even for an Finnish restaurant.

I ate a steak and it was good but costed almost 40 euros and in other places you can eat starter, main course and dessert for that price. Desserts and starters cost here about 12 euros and especially desserts are nothing special. In Finland you dont find too many restaurants that have good desserts and usually the desserts are boring and overpriced just like in this restaurant. Also we had a young female waiter and she was quite unfriendly. In an expensive restaurant one would expect to receive excellent service.

If you dont mind spending a small fortune when you are eating then I would recommend this place to you. There are still many restaurants that offer better value for your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MIKA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    32
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lost reservations, poor service”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We had booked a table in advance, but when we arrived to the restaurant at the time reserved, the table had been given away. The personel had written the reservation in the reservation book at the wrong time, and as they do not gove written reservation confirmations, the customer is in a poir position in these cases. Poor service when trying to sort this out, nobody knew anything. Will never go to this place again. Luckily Turku has many other restaurants, which have good service and competent personnel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerBrahe, Owner at Brahen Kellari, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Hi and thank you for your comment on April 30th,2014!

You had reservation for 5 persons at 6 pm for dinner. This reservations was made by phone and we do repeat for all callers at the end of every call everything that has been agreed. Should person who makes the reservation want to be confirmed by email as well, we do so.

We tried to call the number you gave us at 6.25 pm to confirm and check that you will be coming... and let it ring until the end. There was no answer by you and we did let other walk-in party to be seated to the table reserved you at 6 pm. Should you have known and adwised us ahead that you are late for some reason we would be able to postpone your reservation to more convienient time for your party. We did offer you later seating at 9 pm when first table suitable to seat 5 persons would have been vacant.

Thank you for your comment on us and my sincere apologies for any inconvienience to your celebration that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good quality, but overpriced.”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The place is cozy (despite the meaningless references to Italy on the walls, being the food not particularly Italian) and it has a good selection of food and beverages.

I found the food to be OK, yet the ratio quantity-quality was barely ok, especially given the price. However, I find it hard to believe that it's possible to find anything better at that price in town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piotor87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good reindeer meat”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Roasted reindeer meat was excellent ; tender, juicy, fresh taste. Also tried a dessert made of cloudberry, and a coffee with a certain almond liquor, most impressive. Spacious nice restaurant , excellent service and staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ytfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lunch at Turku”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have a lunch break at Turku and ee found this nice cellar-restaurant. Food was good at "normal-price". Atmosphere was great.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jarmo_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brahen Kellari also viewed

Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 

Been to Brahen Kellari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing