We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
I want to go back!

I visited Utö fo the first time on May Day weekend. The weather was just lovely; sunny and calm... read more

Reviewed May 4, 2016
niinan2
,
Nurmijarvi, Finland
Village by the open sea

Utö is a remote island some 6 hours from Turku (bus about 2 hours, boat another 4). It is a... read more

Reviewed October 8, 2013
Hannu N
,
Turku, Finland
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
11
4
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
11
4
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 16 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2016

I visited Utö fo the first time on May Day weekend. The weather was just lovely; sunny and calm. There were only a small amount of visitors so the island was not over overcrowded. I'm not a birdwatcher but I was lucky to see Black-crowned night heron and a European stonechat. I just enjoyed the scenes of the archipelago. The boat trip to Utö takes awhile but all the way there are many many islands to see on the way. . A two night stay is just perfect.
There is a small grocery shop and a café in Utö. I highly recommend!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank niinan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Utö is a remote island some 6 hours from Turku (bus about 2 hours, boat another 4). It is a splendid place for bird-watchers and nature enthusiasts in general. It has a very nice hotel (Havshotel) and a hostel as well as family accommodation throughout the year. A resident gives tours around the island and the lighthouse.Of particular interst is the lighthouse chapel, the only one I have ever encountered. Make sure that you book your accommodation in advance especially during the summer months.

Date of experience: November 2012
1  Thank Hannu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Took the M/S Eivor from Pärnäs harbor (it's free!) And enjoyed the trip to Uto. The ship visits 4-5 ports along the route, all islands, and takes 4-5 hours to reach Uto. The ship also has a restaurant with tv's and a sun deck.
Uto island has a small, however well stocked, grocery store. The island's main attraction is the lighthouse, with tours available at the store, as well as tours of the island. You can also reach Uto with your own boat, but during the summer the piers can be quite full and beware of the safety zones surrounding the island. Uto has a hotel at an old barracks building and houses with amneties for rent available from Hanna's horizont. I recommend the visit to the lighthouse and bird/naturewatching in the area. Some of the island is still a military zone, but most of the island is accessible on foot. Taking a car with the boat is not necessary and might not even be possible. Returned on the M/S Eivor (free again!).

1  Thank Matkaaja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

If you have an extra day or two in your hands, take a trip on a free boat travelling through the archipelago to Utö, or another island closer to the mainland, Jurmo. You will experience authentic island living like nowhere else!

Date of experience: May 2012
2  Thank beach51216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

if you like seaside and thousends islands,
boattrip is fantastic, trip this island so wonderful what can´t with words say it mist be see

Thank Kastari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews