We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in downtown Turku”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in downtown Turku”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I was staying in Turku for one night only. The staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful. I was offered a free room upgrade and was also helped with the parking. Nice start for my stay. The location of the hotel is superb, smack in the middle of the town.

The public areas of the hotel are a bit outdated, but the room itself (superior) was clean, modern and filled its purpose, i.e. I had a good nights sleep. I had dinner at the hotel. The service was quick and friendly in Fransmanni and hotel bar, but the food is average at best and a bit heavy for my taste.

The breakfast was included in the cost. The selection was good, but pretty standard. I happened to come in just after a bigger group and the staff seemed to have a bit of difficulty in keeping the eggs and bacon stocked.

The parking itself is quite expensive (15 euro range for a night) and an adventure in itself, as you need to get yourself and the car to the parking lot by using an elevator. There are other parking options, but it seems they are equally expensive and a bit further away.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear M R,

You are way too kind and am sending you our many thanks for such wonderful words. Thank you for your kind remarks about our service too. It´s true what you comment about our carpark elevator, it´s special, but you can choose another parking place too. Across the street, Wiklund departmentstore has parking place for our hotel guests and the price is same, as you said. It´s good to know that you need to pay these parking fees to the reception. That way, when you are staying with us, you´ll get it with the same price. We are so grateful to you and excited that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Have a lovely sunny spring!

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    133
    136
    31
    4
See reviews for
70
78
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel is located in the middle of the city. Turku is a very beautiful city to stay and go to the shopping or just walk and see around. The room at the hotel is spacious and comfortable. Breakfest is varied.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Kaija L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Kaija L,

Thank You for your review. Location is everything they says and it´s true. So easy to do shopping and enjoy all the happenings that we have during all year around. We are so grateful to you and excited that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Very nice and modern hotel. The breakfast room is a bit odd, gives you the feeling you are sailing (crooked floor). Might be a good idea to update the breakfast room up to the same standard as the rest of the hotel. Friendly staff. Excellent location, right in the heart of the city.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Valdirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valdirah,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Breakfast room is the old section of the hotel, what a lovely interesting history we have! Thank you for the review and kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Börs & City Börs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I knew this hotel before because I´ve lived in Turku for some years and also have stayed there before. But didn´t realise that I wasn´t staying in the Börs itself, it was the other building across (City). It was as ok as the original, only to take your coat on you to get to your breakfast. The hotel is ok, there were tea-amenities in the room - but no tea :(. Naturally I got it from reception. As in Finland, hotels are nice, clean, roomy, staff is nice and breakfast is plentyful! If vou are visiting Turku, why not stay in this hotel in the middle of town-area. There is car park in hotel area, you just gotta get the key first from reception. And in weekend avoind the "old area" of the hotel, too near to disco with no sleep until 4 a.m.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Nina L,

Thank you for your kind comments. We agree that our rooms are very airy and because of double windows, guests get great exposure. I´ll hope that you did get the feeling that service was helpful at the reception. Please don´t hesitate next time to ask if it´s possible to upgrade your room if you are not satisfied. It could only cost some euros extra, but then you get the room where you want :) City Börs rooms are across the street, but more spacious and bit inexpensive. Come back for another stay !!

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Börs & City Börs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent three nights in Börs over christmas. Room was nice and clean even though there were holes in the sheets.

Christmastime breakfast was good and you can get even dark roasted coffee, which is not usually the case in Finland. It would have been nice to have breakfast also after 10 am on holidays.

Biggest disappointment was, that the bar att the hotel was closing at 11pm and the staff at the bar wasn't very polite. An other minus was that they didn't sell any soft drinks or even water at the reception and there were only two bottles water in the minibar.

Room Tip: If you sensitive to noise, ask for a room at the back side off the hotel, not a room facing towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalle_matkalla_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Kalle_matkalla_,

Thank you for your candid response. We take your opinions very seriously and do thank you for your remarks about our service. Opening hours of restaurants and bars are important under holidays. I make sure that we take all of this gratefully to our consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Henna Heinänen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at the Börs during Christmas holiday 2013. I was quite happy with my room - nice bed and pillows, enough space for myself. If you want to have a view don't choose cheapest category - my view was few car tires from car park!

I'd say breakfast is average at the best. Everything is acceptable but nothing really stands out. Some small changes could definitely improve quality a lot though - e.g. make sure you only cook so much eggs that last ones aren't completely cold and make sure bread is fresh and looks nice.

Wifi is fast and no-hassle one. I hate those hotels where you need to get and type in different code every day even though wifi is included in the room price. As if somebody would really steal their connection or something? This hotel had simple and easy Wifi which I was able to use with my iPhone, iPad & MacBook Pro.

Sauna and swimming pool are showing their age already. There's some potential because views are pretty cool from 7th floor but 80's decoration should be replaced soon. How about adding some drinking water and maybe even few complimentary fruits or small snacks?

Room Tip: Pay extra for the market square views at higher level floors if that's important for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeroPikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear TeroPikala,

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the thorough review and kind words. We take all your feedback to our consideration and I want you to know that it´s extremely impotant to us! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a room for three people on the third floor. It was horrible. The view is so depressing that you should keep the curtains closed. There's no shampoo etc in the room. Pillows are like sacks of potatoes, we had to get a massage after sleeping.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henna H, Manager at Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Harrisaur,
Thank you for your candid feedback on TripAdvisor. We take all constructive feedback very seriously and when I heard about this disappointment at first time, I was contact with one member of your travel company. We have lot´s of different rooms, so please let the reception know, if there is anything we can do about you feeling more pleased with your room. We make sure that the pillows are been replaced and some other details that you kindly pointed out, is been checkup. I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Sincerely,
Henna Heinänen
Hotel Manager
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Börs & City Börs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turku hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel City Bors
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Address: Kauppiaskatu 6 | Turku, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hamburger Bors Turku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing