We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a stay if you're on business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fine for a stay if you're on business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

This hotel is always busy. It's a very popular, very central hotel and within easy reach of all amenities and restaurants in Turku. Staff are helpful although there never seems to be enough on reception checking guests in. The facilities are OK - a couple of restaurants to choose from and breakfast is more than adequate with an excellent selection of hot and cold buffet. All in all having stayed several times - a good choice.

Room Tip: This hotel is large and therefore it's ideal to request a room near to a lift. If you get locate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurleyGirl449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    131
    133
    29
    4
See reviews for
68
75
27
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

5 ladies in Turku. Excellent location, night club was full of young people. Rooms were basic level, clean. A bit cold at night. No shampoo and conditioner?!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Mama_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have visited many times at this hotel. It is located in the middle of town square. Request a room with a street side, and you can watch, at least in summer, colorful view of the market place!
The hotel offers a variety of restaurants and nightclubs. We like it !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

The Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors is a nice hotel located in the center of Turku, right by the market square. This was my 3rd or 4th stay at this hotel.

Our room was on the top floor with a lovely view of the market square. The room had all the normal amenities; a really efficient A/C which was lovely because we stayed there during the July heatwave, a minibar, safe, extra pillows etc. Unfortunately there was no tea/coffee maker.

The breakfast was plentiful but the quality of the food could have been a little better.


There are several restaurants in the hotel, we had early dinner at ShamRock Cafe and the quality of the food there was excellent. And so was the service.


All in all, Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors is a good, safe and clean place to stay for a couple of nights. I usually stay there when visiting the Ruisrock festival. The festival buses leave from the opposite side of the market square where the hotel is located. And after a long day at the festival, it's a heavenly feeling to return to the comfortable hotel room with crisp linen, great A/C, powerful shower and heated bathroom floor :o)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flowercargirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is massive with something over 430 rooms and a lobby that can only be described as bedlam. Staff when you could get to them where courtious and helpfull. Parking is a block and a half away. Getting checked in was like being at bargain sale as the doors were opened.
The room was OK probably because you were glad to close the door behind you. Then there is breakfast, wear a pair of overalls because the room and its layout with hundreds of people pushing and shoving, you will wear something fighting your way through. Suggest a quieter hotelsomewhere else.

Room Tip: Be big so you can get to the front to even get a room. Then ask for room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parets del Valles, Spain
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

The hotel is really good, placed in the center of the town, at the market place. But, this place is, by night, a 'meeting point' of drunkers, dirty persons, and all kind of undesireable persons, and so was for us a really dangerous place. Fortunately we spend only one night at tthis town. The hotel, I repeat is good enough to repite the visit, but I hope the peoploe near it msut be 'educated'.

Room Tip: Clean, clear, spatious and with aview of the market place, lovely by day, horrible by night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopetit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Spent one night at Sokos Hotel Hamburger Börs at the beginning of July.

I must say that Sokos Hotels are like driving a Korean car - the product is basically O.K. and it works, but it is awfully boring and you simply cannot get any excitement out of it. Unfortunately, Sokos Hotels represent the highest-quality hotel accommodation that most Finnish cities and towns (except for Helsinki) have to offer. So, the likelihood that you will spend your night(s) at this type of very boring chain hotel outside Helsinki is very high.

Hamburger Börs is very centrally located just across the street from Turku's market square. There are fairly many nice restaurants, bars, and gastropubs/vinotecas within a short walking distance. Even Logomo, the main arena for many Turku Capital of Culture Year happenings, is a reasonably short walk from the hotel.

The hotel's rooms are fairly recently renovated - which is very nice. Our room was clean and well-maintained. The decoration was fairly modern, but also extremely boring. My thinking was that, for example, the color of floor tiles in the bathroom was selected simply because they want the floor to look decent and clean even 10 years from now.

The breakfast was one of the worst I have ever had at any hotel. It was truly industrial. For example, the scrambled eggs that I had were very watery and lacked taste altogether. Also, the structure of the scrambled eggs was strange, somehow rubbery. The other breakfast ingredients available were relatively basic, even though I must admit that the selection and variety of food was fairly broad. One thing I cannot understand is why Hamburger Börs does not bring any local delicacies to the breakfast buffet - it is the same boring ingredients whether you are staying at a Sokos Hotel in Turku, Tampere, or somewhere else in Finland.

As the beginning of July is the start of a high season in Finland because of summer vacations, the breakfast room was very full. No air conditioning and fairly "tropical" circumstances. The breakfast room made me feel like having a breakfast in some kind of impersonal, very crowded canteen.

The reception staff were very friendly, but there were far too few of them. When I called the reception from our room (three times), no answer. When I went down to the reception, there were normally two or three lines of people waiting there. Probably, the hotel management wants to maximize a profit and minimize customer service.

We did not try any of the hotel's restaurants, as there were so many nice ones just a few blocks away from the hotel. In addition, Hamburger Börs' restaurants represent the same boring chain restaurants that they run in almost every city in Finland. I am not impressed with these restaurants' quality of ingredients and level of customer service, so there were a number of good reasons to avoid them at this hotel, too.

Overall, whenever I stay at any of the Sokos Hotels, I get an impression that they try to be too many things to too many people. Maybe that is a working concept here in a small market, but "as long as guests have a clean room and a roof on top of this room, they will be happy" kind of thinking will simply result in an incomplete and impersonal guest experience.

Room Tip: Book a Superior room. The Superior rooms are supposed to be more silent and - as a result - guarante...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkoSHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel City Bors
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors

Property: Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Address: Kauppiaskatu 6 | Turku, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokos Hamburger Bors Turku

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing