We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Club Caribia
Nearby Hotels
$147
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$147
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$189
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$161
$140
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Laivahostel Borea(Turku)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Centro Hotel Turku(Turku)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
26
83
89
36
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
83
89
36
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolchocolate fountainwarm waterclassic pizzapirate boatkids lovebit boringpoolswaterslidesjacuzzigymcityrobeedenuniversity
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 247 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This has let to go in bad shape.
Rooms are in bad condition and from suite (or something like that) you can see only to inside ball hall. Suite room looks more like meeting room with double bed. This is what they give me when I complain about standard room shape and restaurant service.
Ispend here 5 weeks on summer 2012. And all the time there was problems with system, you had to wait food long time even when there wasn't much customers.
Many times they mix orders when we want to pay.

All rooms was little bit dirty and on bad shape.
Spa was ok, but It needs also to be renewed.
They try to make staying more comfortable, but I think owner should use money to fix things.

Room Tip: All seemed to be on bad shape.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found our facilities and services were inadequate and it´s unfortunate that our hotel did not fill up your expectations. We have received a lot of praise from customers about our restaurants and the spa and it is a pity that we couldn’t offer you the same feeling during your stay.

We have different types of rooms in our hotel: Standard-rooms (18m2), Superior-rooms (25m2), Juniorsuites (37 m2) and this room type you stayed in; Box –room (30m2). These
Box-rooms are normally being used when there are concerts or sport events in the Arena. You can rent the box exclusively for your group and watch the game or concert from the box (all the windows can be opened up). They are also sometimes used for hotel guests as regulars hotel rooms (there are facilities for that) if the hotel is fully booked.

All the feedback we get is very important to us, so thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed two nights at Caribia. Service here is the best part of the hotel, other than that ended up a bit disappointed. Our room was very old and dated, floors and curtains in quite a bad state. This is a type of room I'd expect for a basic 50-70€/night hotel. Free WiFi, fridge, safe and ironing facilities are a plus. Walls are thin, so you can hear people from the next room. Our room was basically not cleaned during our stay. Yes, the bins were emptied and towels changed, that's about it. Blankets were straightend a bit, but not in a way you could call making a bed.

The spa is fun, but has seen its best days. A small paint job and some more attention to cleaning would help. Also, the nice pirate boat restaurant was mainly not open (or well cleaned).

Had a fun stay, but were left slightly dissappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was nice to hear that you think our service worked. Our staff gets constantly feedback for nice and friendly service so it's nice to hear that, in that area we succeeded with you.
The hotel has been opened as it is now in year 1999 and we have made renovation in our restaurants and spa (spring 2011) and also in conference rooms (fall 2011). What comes to hotel rooms, we are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. It's a pity that our facilities and the cleanliness level of our facilities did not meet your expectations. We will continue to pay even more attention to the cleanliness of the public areas and rooms as well as the functioning of the public areas.

Thank you for your observations and feedback. All feedback is important to us and we are constantly trying to improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel is in the outskirt of Turku. Luckily Turku is not a big city so you walk in 30 minutes to the city. The city of Turku is along a muddy river. However, it is a charming small town. In fact once the capital of Finland. The hotel is built on top of a spa where families with kids come to enjoy the water, It has several pools. A couple of them outside. I did visit Caribia during the new year twice. It is a great feeling to swing outdoors while the snow is falling. It is great to visit a smoke sauna (which is a fake smoke sauna), It is not easy to find a genuine smoke sauna in Finland. If you stay just to sleep in Caribia you will get disappointed. You have to go to spa to appreciate the place. The spa is a mixture of an adventure spa and a traditional spa. There are lots of local very noisy kids. But if you suddenly feel like a kid yourself you will be happy.

Room Tip: You should come for the spa. The rooms are not cosy.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear that you think the spa was a versatile and comfortable. The spa is very popular among families with children, so there are plenty of children visiting in the spa daily. However, we try to provide services to people of all ages at the spa.

We're also glad that you liked the smoke sauna. Sauna is heatened up with wood and it takes about 4 hours before the sauna is warm, depending on the weather and temperature outside. One hour before it is opened for customers, the smoke is ventilated out and the shutters are closed to keep the warm inside. It really is a genuine smoke sauna (finnish style). In the smoke sauna you’ll have a comfortable and smooth experience. It is also possible to enjoy the warmth of a real wood-burning sauna in Caribia. And for those people, who are interested in visiting many smoke saunas, there is also the world's largest real smoke sauna among 3 other smoke saunas in Rymättylä near Turku.

Hopefully we will see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We got very good reception when we arrived early in the morning. We got check in directly. It is true the room is small and the hotel is not that fresh but we were only staying for a couple of days. We knew it is not a resort. The pool area is excellent for family with kids. I enjoyed it a lot too playing with my daughter. 1000 to 1800. kids can easily play with other kids.Even good for small babies. The range of choice for restaurants and eateries is small but I do see the point. As long as we can relax a whole day with the kids around and safe, I am fine with some standard food. Breakfast is good esp. the smoothies. Choco fountain is nice, not that we ate a lot, but a fond memory so we will always remember , you know , that hotel we got chocolate fondue for breakfast! And we got late check out the next day on a small fee, which meant that we spent nearly a whole day in the pool again. Very tired when we got home though. Staff are helpful which made us felt welcomed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your nice feedback. It is always nice to hear when whole family has enjoyed their staying in our hotel. We want to give a pleasant and memorable visit for each and everyone in our hotel and we are glad that we succeeded with you so nicely. What comes to our restaurants, We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.

Hopefully you will visit us again soon, the chocolate fountain is still at its place waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have to confess that I was very, very surprised that Sokos Hotel Caribia turned out to be the worst hotel that I've ever visited – and I have seen a lot of hotels both on business and pleasure.

We arrived to the hotel already at 12h40 and thus the room was not cleaned yet. The receptionist was not able to tell when the room will be ready, it might take take anything from 30 minutes to 2,5 hrs. She suggested that we'll wait at the lobby and she will let us know when the room is ready. That was agreed.

After waiting over 2,5 hours (!) I contacted the same receptionist again. She did not even remember me. When I told her that she had promised to let us know when the room is ready, she denied that: as she did see the situation, she promised only to try to let us know in case she is not busy with other customers. At this point I was furious and informed her twice that she is lying, which she of course did not confess. I left the hotel and for sure I will never go back.

I really don't understand why she was not able to say say “I'm really sorry, I forgot.” Why to lye and blame the customer in a situation where three (3) customers have heard what she did say? Both parties were native, so there was no possibility of misunderstanding here. Furthermore, we did wait all the time nearby and we did really see the work she was doing. She was not busy all the time, she did have time to organize the shelves, have a lunch, chat with colleagues etc.

Regarding the hotel location: the hotel management seems to be very keen on this forum on stating that the hotel is close to the city center. In order not to be disappointed you should check by yourself from e.g. googlemaps how long it will take to walk to the city center.

Room Tip: Choose an another hotel...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank LT-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize you experienced a bad customer service, and that you were not served according to your wishes. Your case has been dealt with our staff and we will pay even more attention to the needs of clients. Our staff, however, gets constantly feedback for nice and friendly service, so it is a pity that we failed in our service with you.

Hotel rooms are available (Check in time) in Break Sokos Hotel Caribia at 3pm. If the there are rooms available and the cleaning situation allows, we always try to provide rooms for customers as early as possible, but sometimes the previous night has been full and we are unable to release the rooms before 3 pm.

You also mentioned our location versus Turku city. Our location is 1.5 km from the city center (Market Square) and it gets about 15-20 minutes to walk there. There is also a good bus connections from our hotel to the city center, buses leaves every 10 minutes to the city center and back. Cars can be parked at the hotels parking lot and take a trip to Turku, either on foot, by bus or by bicycle. Just follow the Aura river direct to centre. The hotel also has bikes for rent.

Thank You for your observations, all feedback is important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews