We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but the pools are a bit dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Club Caribia
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have been many times at the gym and at the spa when I'm in Turku. I like going under the water that's why I see how dirty the pools are. The restaurants are good. I've been there many times and everything was fine. I'm going there (to the gym and spa) after writing this... I hope the pools are clean today...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, Front Office Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Glad to hear you enjoy visiting in our Spa and gym. It is unfortunate that you felt our spa area and pools are untidy. We take care of the cleanliness and tidiness of our pools and spa area daily and also the spa areas hygiene is also regularly tested according the requirements of the authorities.

However, the bottom of the pools can accumulate “coal” which is used in cleaning the water, but it is not dirt. To maintain the cleanliness the pools are being hoovered throughout daily for example to get the carbon residues off.

Thank you for your feedback, your feedback is important to us. Hope to see you again soon.

Hotel Manager
Tarja Jalonen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 218 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I left from here with some mixed feelings. Rooms are small and outdated and the breakfast is okay. Conference facilities are working pretty good but restaurants quite expensive. The themed tropical type of spa area on the other hand is superb for families and, as in my case, for men (always a little boy inside for slides). On the other hand if the spa area is full of screaming and running children it is not very convenient for adults. The spa treatments are very nice and the staff working in the facilities is very nice and polite. All and all I would ask you to have your spa treatments here and stay overnight somewhere else.

Tip:
Take a nice walk by the River Aura to downtown of the city of Turku. There is also a bus to downtown on front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the nice feedback and good to hear that you enjoyed our spa. What comes to our hotel rooms, we are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors.
It was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you, we try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is very important to us.

Thank you for your visit and welcome again.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel has been built in 1970's and renovated in 1990's.
Now I think it should be renovated once again.
It has allready seen it's best days.
No air condition at all.
Our room was much too dark and worn out.
The Spa section was quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jabinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your observations. The hotel has been opened as it is now in year 1999 and we have made renovation in our restaurants and spa (spring 2011) and also in conference rooms (fall 2011). What comes to hotel rooms, we are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our Spa area.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is no doubt that children will love this hotel as the swimming pool is FANTASTIC! But unfortunately the rooms are VERY small - we booked online for a family room (2 adults & 2 children) but on arrival found it was a standard room with two beds, a camp bed, and a fold up matress for the 2nd child - but there was no space in the room to put the matress on the floor!! So we ended up putting the three beds next to each other! not great! The rooms are a bit shabby and we had a wonderful view overlooking a graveyard!!!
Luckily the pool was so good that we hardly spent anytime in the room, there is also a fun crazy golf course at the front of the hotel.
The food downstairs was good quality but rather expensive (steak and vegetables 30 euros!) children had pizza which was nice but after 3 days got a bit boring!
Overall a great hotel for a long weekend, but not much longer than that!

Room Tip: Families of 4 in one room need to book the more expensive Superior rooms so there is enough room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for the nice feedback and it was good to hear that you enjoyed our spa.
Our hotel also offers a bigger room options such as a Superior room (25 m2), Superior Room (37 m2) as well as a standard-rooms with a connecting door. We apologize that you did not get enough information about the different room options during the booking. In the future, we recommend to contact our hotel sales office before booking, so we can tell about more suitable room options for a family. We are also updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors.

It was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you, and you could’n find enough alternatives for children from the Children Menu. We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We had a weekend stay. We travel with a small child so we love the great pool area of this hotel. Sadly the rooms are very old and small. No room for the child to play in the room. But Turku city is near by so it was nice taking a walk in to town and along the river. Breakfast buffet was good, something for everyone. The restaurant floor feels like beeing in a basement (because it is in the basement) and you can get your hamburger or pizza there, the rest on the menu is overpriced. The beauty center provides good quality cosmetology services. Might go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunLovers675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and our services mainly responded to your expectations. We are updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. However, it was sad to hear that the restaurant offering did not please you. We try to develop our restaurant services all the time and all the feedback we get is important to us.
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again.

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is probably okay if you are travelling with children, and want somewhere relaxed, but it is not really for people travelling for business.

The rooms are small - not even space for a bed-side table or shelf - and mine was certainly showing signs of wear and tear. I couldn't find out how to switch-off the noisy aircon at night.

The restaurants / eating options were okay, but very informal. The car parking is pay at the meter.

Staff were very efficient and polite.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

The summer months, holiday seasons and weekends are high season for our hotel, which is why there are lot of families with children visiting our hotel at the same time. During the week however, there are mainly business travelers. We have received a lot of praise from business travelers from a restful stay, as well as a possibility to use the spa and gym which are included in the accommodation price.

From the beginning of September, hotel guests have the opportunity to go and have a morning swim and sauna already at 7 am (Mon-Fri). We are also updating our rooms at this very moment and renewing for example the floors. Our reception is open 24 hours a day and they are more than happy to help our guests with all questions and problems including Air conditioning.

Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you at our hotel again!

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 6 days and I to say my opinions of it are quite mixed. On the + side, the swimming pool complex is fantastic!! my 4 year old son loved all the pools slides etc. It does get a little crowded after 10 am when it opens to the public (this is also when the outdoor pool, slides, bouncy castle open. Another + is the breakfast which is included in the rate and is very extensive. The - are the rooms. We were 3 people in a standard room and there was barely any room to walk around the room at all. The housekeeping was patchy at best and the room safe did not work despite being mention on numerous occasions. If I was judging the place on the rooms (which are quite expensive) then I would have given a very poor rating but the spa facilities bring the hotel as a whole to average

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nairobivisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jalonta, General Manager at Holiday Club Caribia, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool area despite the crowd and that our breakfast was tasty. You mentioned that your room was a bit too small for three persons. Our hotel also offers a bigger room options such as Superior room (25 m2 and 37 m2) and Standard- rooms with connecting doors. We apologize that you did not get enough information about the different room options during the booking. Hopefully next time we can book more suitable room for your family.

We hope to see you at our hotel again!

Lorentz Salo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turku
8.8 mi away
The Naantali Spa
The Naantali Spa
#1 of 2 in Naantali
417 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
Ruissalo Spa Hotel
#13 of 17 in Turku
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
618 reviews
0.9 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
271 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Caribia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Caribia

Address: Kongressikuja 1, Turku 20540, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range: $136 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Club Caribia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turun keskustan tuntumassa sijaitseva Holiday Club Caribia on kylpyla- ja tapahtumahotelli, jossa jarjestetaan pienia ja suuria kohtaamisia. Caribiassa vietetaan hyvia hetkia etelanmerien rennossa hengessa, kylvetaan, rentoudutaan, kuntoillaan ja inspiroidutaan; ladataan akkuja ja saadaan energiaa. Milloin viimeksi kavit aidossa savusaunassa, hurjastelit vesiliukumaessa tai annoit itsellesi luvan hengahtaa? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Club Caribia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing