We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Aussie Bar Turku

Aussie Bar Turku
Ranked #41 of 314 Restaurants in Turku
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Opening again in April. Leaving home and heading to the water. The latest AussieBar is located Canal of Turku, Finland. With the feeling of home for Aussies and Kiwis this place gives an experience what we have back Down Under. Joining the crew aboard AussieBar JeNNY will be an encounter you won't forget! Enjoy a refreshing cold beer from Oz with a good bunch of lads and sheilas from all over the globe. Can't wait to bloody see ya, Isaac and the AussieBar team
Turku, Finland
1 review
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Great atmosphere, great drinks. Awesome and cool staff, they DO know how to throw an awesome party. Aussie Bar, the highlight of Finlands summer!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiZac, Owner at Aussie Bar Turku, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Far out, thanks for the great review, honored.
The staff do know how to rock that boat, but I know for a fact the customers make the party run all night.

Big thanks to all those that came for a party over the 2013 season.

Thank you for you time for this review, mean alot to hear such cool feedback.

Have a great Christmas and safe holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Turku”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This restaurant is actually a houseboat on the Aurajoki ( the river in the center of Turku). I have been there multiple times and have never been disappointed.

The staff is very friendly, the music is good and both from Australia. I've chatted with pretty much al the guys working there and they are easy-going and like to joke around.

As for the food, it's totally worth it.
The lunch menu is slightly over 10 euros and I recommend the burger - it comes with succulent fries and you won't leave hungry.

The only "negative" thing I have to say about it is : too bad it's not open during the winter !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiZac, Owner at Aussie Bar Turku, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Great thanks for the time you have put into the feedback,

Yeah we are always upset when having to close the gates on the bar for the winter, I guess if the demand was there to cross the bridge we would have no doubt to keep it open.

We are pleased you loved the Food, and this year we have even a few more ideas for the menu.
Really try hard with the music and glad that you liked this.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

MANY THANKS
Isaac Visser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish'n'Chips even Aussies appreciate”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Probably the best fish'n'chips in Finland. Does a great job at combining a good beer garden atmosphere with a rocking night club later in the evenings without one disturbing the other.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRP1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiZac, Owner at Aussie Bar Turku, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Fish 'n' Chips! great feedback and being a Kiwi I really worked hard on that with the chef.
Even tho the Aussie's say we catch say it with out saying CHOPS then we had to work on the taste.

I am delighted you noticed that we have themes that hopefully don't disturb the others.

Looking forward to seeing you next year.

Many thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
“Nice place to chill!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Good atmosphere at the river boat and a reasonable prices. I've also had a nice service so overall is pretty convenient. One of the best summer hang out places in Turku.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StinaNii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiZac, Owner at Aussie Bar Turku, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you for your Feed Back, I would love to see you again in the up and coming season and would expect to see that the service and Place that you enjoyed in the past continues to get better and better.

See you 2014

Many thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice try\start”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

I Got good service but might not mean the same for All customers. Good bears. Kangaroo Burger Was ok especially When i learned from them that the meat is supposed to Be raw from the Middle... Long distance So did not Eat the red part... Keep quality in service and food and develop further, You Can succeed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoughButRightfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiwiZac, Owner at Aussie Bar Turku, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Sorry for the delay, Learning the in's and out's of TripAdvisor!

However thank you for your feedback I assure you that we do continue to grow and develop and with feedback like yours it make you think that all the hard work is not unnoticed.
Yeah the Kangaroo is a meat that even scared me to taste, coming from NZ and all, I hope that you have the chance to try the Kangaroo salad this is to die for.
I hope that you can visit in the future and see if we are creating a better and more stable approach to all the required needs that we must meet.

Many thanks

Isaac
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aussie Bar Turku also viewed

Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 
Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 

Been to Aussie Bar Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing