We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Original Sokos Hotel City Bors
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good for a night”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We had taken the day ferry to Turku from Stockholm and needed somewhere not too expensive to stay for a night before heading to Helsinki. This hotel was good for our purposes. We loved the fittings in the room - modern and clean. The hotel was also centrally located: great for a walk around the city centre and easy to get to the Turku Castle and the train station for our onward Helsinki leg.

Downsides were that it was noisy on the top floor, as another Tripadvisor member had pointed out, and it rained heavily non-stop, which meant we got wet getting from the reception area for check-in, to our building, likewise, for breakfast and when we checked out. Our raincoats certainly came in handy!

For breakfast, we saw notices in the lift warning guests to go early to avoid queues, but we woke up late and were surprised that there were no queues. For free internet use, we were loaned a key to the business centre for free use of the computer and internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pemakan_Angin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
14
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. After my experience at the Seurohuone in Helsinki (see review) I was really worried that a cheaper Sokos hotel might be very basic but this was not the case. All the staff, from the reception to the housekeepers, were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms, whilst not 'luxurious' are very well appointed, very clean and very well set up for visitors. Good hairdryer (not fixed in the bathroom), lots of hangers and storage space, place to put suitcase, shelving in the shower for shampoo etc, extra pillows/blankets available in the room AND a full size fridge! NONE of which I got in Helsinki despite paying twice the price of the Sokos City Bors - which at 61 euros a night was exceptionally good value. The location is great, right on the market square. Breakfast buffet was good, nothing ran out and I could always get a table. Staff booked taxis on request, responded to queries about a leak in the bathroom very promptly and had already called in the cleaners by the time I reported that a guest had dropped fast food in the lift/elevator. Excellent all round!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed 2 nights at City Börs in Turku in October. The hotel is opposite the street of Hamburger Börs (front desk, restaurants, pool & sauna) and is in the same building as the departmentstore Sokos is. It was convenient to be able to enter the dept.store directly from the lift (press 2nd floor, sign almost unnoticed unless proper look!). Room good size and nice decoration. Comfortable beds. Nice big refridgerator in room and coffee/tea making equipment (buy your own tea & coffee & sugar, not provided). In each level a microwave oven! Nice when travelling with kids!!!
Only things we didn't like: room was not clean (bathroom and bed linen), we are used to that rooms aren't that clean in Finland (outsourced service) but the state of the cleanliness of the room was totally not ok! The second thing we didn't like was the horrible lack of space in the breakfast room in the morning. Can't imagine who has even thought that the hotellguests would fit in that tiny restaurant they serve breakfast in (shared by both City Börs and Hamburger Börs hotelguests) We were about 20 minutes hauling for available seats... and then face by the fact it was not a good one, with plenty to choose from... (like eg. Sokos Vaakuna in Helsinki) The day after when we notice you would have reached the dept.store Sokos Coffee House by elevator to 2nd floor and straight into the coffee shop, so we were actually sad we hadn't figured that out the day before... then we would have skipped the hotel breakfast and went to the coffee shop for some nice breakfast (no outside walking in rain to breakfast at Hamburger börs, no crowdy breakfast restaurant, and with plenty to choose of! Even if you had been to pay extra for it!) When we have been asked if we'd stay there again: NO. Next time in Turku we stay at Radisson! (Sorry Sokos City Börs...! Prehaps the front desk should have taken our criticism about breakfast in a decent way, not blaming the guests for going all at the same time??)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maritaFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

This was across the street from the upscale Sokos. The services were across the street. Room was small but comfortable. I had no problem with noise at night. Only problem was that, if I opened the window, I could hear noise from the outside.

Parking costs, but I simply toured during the day and pulled into the public parking just before they started charging. I made certain to get the car out early in the morning. As a result I did not eat the breakfast (but it was worth it for the "free" parking.

I used the hotel as a based to tour Turku for 2 days during an extended trip to Finland. One day I visited local museums. The next day I took the ferry to Mariehamn and back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSKahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

A decent hotel with clean, sizeable rooms and efficient staff.

Our only grumble was that having a top floor room we had a great view over the market square but there was a constant noise from the roof. It sounded like wind blowing over the roof but the weather was fairly still outside.

Apart from that, a decent choice plumb in the city centre

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK / Paris, Fr
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

Just across the street from Sokos Hamburger Bors where services are (breakfast, PC with Internet, restaurant...). Room was large, airy and nice. Ideally situated in the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Seurahuone
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Original Sokos Hotel City Bors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Original Sokos Hotel City Bors

Property: Original Sokos Hotel City Bors
Address: Eerikinkatu 11, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Original Sokos Hotel City Bors 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Original Sokos Hotel City Bors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing