We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Review of Stefan's Steakhouse - CLOSED

Stefan's Steakhouse
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Amerikan Top Chef -kilpailun finalisti Stefan Richter on avannut ravintolan Turkuun, Aurajoen rannalle. Suomalais-amerikkalainen Richter on aikaisemmin tyoskennellyt muun muassa Las Vegasissa Bellagio -hotellin keittiossa. Stefan's Steakhouse on sisustettu perinteita kunnioittaen, mutta kuitenkin modernilla ja raikkaalla otteella. Kuten steakhouse nimikkeesta voi paatella, pihvit ovat paaosassa ruokalistalla. Muissakin raaka-aineissa on panostettu laatuun. Se nakyy ja mika tarkeinta maistuu. Mitaan ei ole jatetty puolitiehen. Stefan's Steakhouse on tarkoitettu hyvan ruuan ystaville ja nautiskelijoille, jotka eivat halua tehda hyvista asioista liian monimutkaisia.
Turku
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Restaurant offering extremly good Australian Black Angus beef.
Nice menu with quite a lot to choose from.
Vey expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickeOsterlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    13
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naantali, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
1,163 reviews
473 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 400 helpful votes
“Great meal courses”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We've been here about 6-7 times and last time was yesterday evening. Chef himself Stefan Richter was there also, which was a nice surprise, especially when he took a chair and came to chat in our table for a while. Really nice and laidback guy I have to say. Location is good, little outside from city centre, but right next to Aura River, great views!
Last three times i've had kobe/wagyu beef, which is hard to get in Finland and everytime it has been absolutely great!
Yesterday I had "tafelspitz". It was good and portion was huge, so You won't be leaving here feeling hugry. Nice thing is, that You can modify Your dish, with different kind of sides and gravies.
Service is great and they match wines nicely to Your dish. You can find some upscale cognacs and ports from the list too.
Overall again great experience and if You want a nice meal dish in Turku, look no further

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK food..”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nothing special. Steak was OK, good. Side dishes were too salty. A bit dark environment. There was no vegetarian options...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well worth the experience....”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Evening meals should be conducted with the minimum of interference from staff.They should be there and be attentive when needed and this is exactly what we experienced on our first visit to Stefan's in Turku. The welcome was short, to the point and we had a choice of window tables.The decor was neat, tidy and geometrically harmonious. Well lit but not too bright and each table not too close to its neighbour to be intrusive. A welcome aperitif was offered and taken although for my liking there was too much ice that diluted the flavour. We chose the soup as starter but the portion, although served in something the size of a sombrero was minimal and a comment was made to that effect. A steak main-course was cooked to perfection and the vegetables still retained a certain crispness, but not undercooked. Don't expect to getaway with a budget price as, with wine and drinks, the meal was not cheap. I was most impressed with the display of hygiene and cleanliness - each waiter served with pristine white gloves and the delicate delivery was everything it should be to entice customers to make a return visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Sometimes once is enough.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Friendly staff, no saying about that and we liked the modern darkish interior too.
Sorely the staff’s friendliness was tested soon again as the squid appetizer had to be sent back to kitchen: rubber like frozen-thawn dry cooked smallsomethings in a too “garlicy” (chili –aioli) it wasn’t easy to taste anything more after that. The Californian crabcakes were wery mildly seasoned, but most Finns are likely to like them as such.
The duck was a bit too well done, but OK otherwise.
And they can fry a piece of beef allright. The steaks were exactly as hey should; of high quality tender beef and fried precisely to the order.
The side orders cost extra, which is not the usual case in Finland and thus it has to be said (once more I see) that the price/quality ratio in the steaks and overall was not good.
The desserts were the best part and if they just drop the prices a little and we might visit again.
If just visiting Turku you should realise that there are many places with either as good as but cheaper food or as expensive, but much better food in this city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stefan's Steakhouse also viewed

Turku, Southwest Finland
 
Turku, Southwest Finland
Turku, Southwest Finland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing