We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good breakfast”
Review of Centro Hotel Turku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centro Hotel Turku
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were a bit dissapointed when we walked into our room. The bathroom/toilet was not at all as in the photos. It was straight from the 70`s and seemed like it had not been renovated at all. There was no aircon in the room (but this we knew in advance). The room was a bit worn out. Beds were ok and the room was quiet enough.The decor in the hotel lobby and restaurant was modern and nice. The breakfast was good with many of choices-better than average! Location of the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaKar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 275 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel has a few very strong points, an a few minor issues. This resulted in a three points rating.
#This hotel has the PERFECT location for discovering Turku, maybe the most pleasant town in
the whole of Finland. The old Dome Church, the riverside, the market square, they're all a
few minutes stroll away.
#The quality of the rooms is average. It was all very clean, and looked modern enough. The
bathrooms seemed to be up for a renovation, however. Noises from other rooms can be
heared every now and then.
#WIFI worked well enough throughout the hotel.
#There's a parking at the hotel, but especially the back part takes quite some driving skill.
If the parking is full or you're daunted by the parking task ahead, there's plenty of
opportunities in the streets nearby.
#Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and fresh products. And yes, there was no bacon,
but in my view bacon can hardly be described as the Conditio Sine Qua Non for a good
breakfast.
In the end, this hotel is all about your priorities. If you need a good base for discovering Turku, this hotel is PERFECT. If you like a more luxurious hotel experience, maybe you should try another hotel. I for myself had a very pleasant stay at Centro hotel Turku.

Room Tip: There are two family rooms available, for two adults and two to three children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally located making it easy to walk to most of the events and attractions. The beds were comfortable with a good size bath. We were located on the center court and because it was so warm we had to open the windows. The windows only open a little bit, so air flow was limited. The court could get a little loud. Breakfast was outstanding with lots of fresh fruit, eggs, meat and pastries. Parking is very limited and tight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed one night only at this hotel, but we had great surprise as it's ideally located, just next to the crowded area but still in a very quiet place (a courtyard). The room itself was spacious and the only issue is that windows can not be fully opened, so in summer, it could be annoying to get some fresh air on the night. The breakfast was good quality and extensive choice. The hotel also provided a sauna (to be booked in advance), There is not problem to park outside the street during the weekend. I would definitively stay again at this hotel if I'm coming to Turku again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007-vinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I vacillated between a rating of a 3 and a 5, so settled on a 4 - the reason being that while I think overall, for most people this hotel would be great choice, there is one caveat for what is probably a minority of guests.

The good points: the hotel is very close (walking distance) to both the train and bus stations. The neighborhood, while not particularly scenic, is absolutely fine, only a 5-10 minute walk to many of the main "sights" (the cathedral, market square, etc.), and surrounded by shopping and restaurants. The rooms are indeed small, as others have noted, but my single room was incredibly clean, rather stylish, and nicely laid-out; it did not feel cramped at all. The promotional materials note that the hotel was recently renovated, and it shows. The breakfast buffet was great - one of the better versions I've experienced in travels throughout Europe - with tasty, fresh, quality options. I found the staff to be extremely nice and helpful. There is also the option of a sauna, as well as use of a fitness facility close by. While not a five-star hotel, for the price - my room was 40 Euro less per night than a room at any of the other nearby hotels - I think it's a real bargain.

And now, the caveat: while the hotel is indeed located in a courtyard, thus eliminating almost all street noise, the rooms in the hotel seem to have minimal insulation between them, and the floors in the room are hardwood, not carpeted. While I really like this from a hygienic standpoint, what this means is that you are likely to hear every sound made in every room surrounding you. If your next door neighbor is taking a shower, you will hear it; if the person on the other side is walking around in shoes, you will hear it; if a child is running in the hallways downstairs, you will hear it. Now, I am a person who is unusually sensitive to noise, and I would imagine that 95% of people will not be as sensitive as I am. And I must also add that during my stay, the guests in the hotel were by and large young families (mostly Finnish and Russian), all of whom were very quiet (on my floor), so that there was only one night when I was disturbed by a little noise after 11PM; there were no large groups of young, partying kids (which I've encountered at other Finnish hotels). Also - I've stayed at places in the US in which the walls were even thinner, so it's relative.

Bottom line: if you are not hypersensitive to noise, and want to save a bit of money, this may be a great option. I wouldn't rule out staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed one night with friends 8th July. The hotel entrance is through inner courtyard but well signposted from the street. During our visit sufficent, free parking space was available at inner courtyard.
The location of the hotel is very good, just minutes walk from main market square.
The rooms are clean, modern with all necessary anemities, very convenient, don't expect any luxury, though. The price was correspondingly reasonable.
Ou rooms were facing the courtyard and were very quiet. There is a ceiling fan if it is getting hot, which is not very usual in Finland.
The breakfast buffet was good, typical scandinavian standard.
The staff was very friendly and professional, check-in and check-out was a breeze.
All major credit cards accepted.
Will stay in this hotel again when in Turku

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ossi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

No air-conditioning, even though the hotel description says "all 62 rooms are air conditioned". 26 C degrees in the room.. They were out of many things at the breakfast buffet with 45min left of serving time. Quiet and good location, but not worth the pay compared to other hotels in Turku.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bisonjaakko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 16 in Turku
628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#3 of 16 in Turku
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#5 of 16 in Turku
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
0.6 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 16 in Turku
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Turku

Address: Yliopistonkatu 12a | Inner Courtyard, Turku 20100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Turku
Price Range: $122 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centro Hotel Turku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Hotel is a modern boutique hotel right in downtown Turku - just a short walk from the market square, shops and museums. The hotel faces the inner courtyard and despite its central location, the atmosphere is tranquil. Trendy decor, modern art and a great breakfast are just a few reasons to choose Centro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Centro Hotel Turku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing