We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super-boutique?? C'mon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Centro Hotel Turku

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centro Hotel Turku
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Super-boutique?? C'mon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a super-ugly place on the outside, but blonde/modern on the inside. The breakfast buffet is superb, and the staff couldn't be nicer. Our room, however, was stuffy, with no a/c, and Turku can get rather hot in the summer. The free car parking is a gift in expensive Finland. I think it's a great value option in Turku.

Room Tip: Huh? They're all just about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    139
    40
    9
    0
See reviews for
38
92
21
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Difficult to find by car with the Turku one way system and poor directions from the hotel. The limited parking was all taken by the time we arrived and we were left with only street parking but at least this is free overnight.

Hotel was functional but with no extras and there was no air conditioning which is needed in summer. Service was poor from reception. Breakfast was of a good standard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

Great value for the money. Room's are new renovated with scandinavian style. Breakfast best in town.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMO1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Clean and stylish interior is a welcome sight after entering the courtyard which lacks character. Though the bit of landscaping that is done with plants outside helps. Plenty of character in the surrounding blocks, and located very close to most riverside restaurants and the main shopping area.

The rooms are neat and functional. Relatively good closet space from my experience with Finnish hotels. Too bad they didn't have a bath (for the kids), but that's an exception in Finland anyway.

Great breakfast with lots of healthy options and plenty of variety for those staying multiple days. This hotel is great for both business and pleasure, and even has parking in the courtyard.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

The location is ok. The exterior looks uninviting, but the rooms are very nice with modern furniture and for example a huge quality flat-screen TV. One point deduction for sleep quality because the window was to the courtyard, and there were people standing and talking at all hours during the night. One point deduction in service, because when we told reception our bags had been lost by the airline they just laughed rather than offering some hygiene items. Breakfast buffet was absolutely stunning. The best during our Finnland trip - by far!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gernereiserin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed at the Centro for several days while I was visiting the city on business. I found it to be good value, although the fittings are rather minimal (partlcularly the wardrobe!). The hotel is very quiet as it's tucked away in a courtyard, spotlessly clean and very convenient for the town centre. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Service was generally very good, and as warm as Finnish service ever gets (which is to say: not very. But that's Finland for you.) One very minor complaint would be that on my last night my bathroom hadn't been cleaned while I was out. My room also looked out at a blank wall only a few metres away and I imagine most other rooms do as well due to the location of the hotel. It didn't bother me as I was really only in the room to sleep but if I had been there for any length of time I would have found it claustrophobic.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed for one night with my wife and kids. This hotel is located one block from the city market square, which is the very centre of town. It's located in a quiet inner backyard, surrounded by regular apartment houses. The exterior is a bit boring, 1970-ish, but the interior is the opposite. Centro Hotel seems to be some sort of design/boutique hotel, and well so - it's sleek and stylish. The room was spacious enough for the four of us with two beds, a sofa which can be used as a spare bed, a widescreen tv, and toilet with shower. Although it was a sunny and warm day, the room stayed cool thanks to central air conditioning. The breakfast was among the best I've ever had in a hotel, with lots and lots of options to choose from - trust me on this one. All in all, a nice stay, and the next time I'll be staying in Turku, I might just return, since this hotel swept the board compared to previous stays in the town. The hotels are a bit pricey in the city though, as a small minus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starkjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centro Hotel Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centro Hotel Turku

Property: Centro Hotel Turku
Address: Yliopistonkatu 12a | Inner Courtyard, Turku 20100, Finland
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Centro Hotel Turku 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centro Hotel is a modern boutique hotel right in downtown Turku - just a short walk from the market square, shops and museums. The hotel faces the inner courtyard and despite its central location, the atmosphere is tranquil. Trendy decor, modern art and a great breakfast are just a few reasons to choose Centro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Centro Hotel Turku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing