We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Late night noise”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights last week with my husband - our bedroom was on the fourth floor and was quite comfortable although not outstanding in any way. The WiFi worked intermittently. The lights round the mirror over the bed-headboard made crackling sounds for quite a while after they were switched off. In addition there was a noticeable buzzing from all the lights unless the key card was removed from the slot near the door. The air conditioning unit was also not silent. The bathroom had a grid near the bath and water ran out of this when having a shower and spread over the floor. On the second night, we could not sleep because of the sounds of beating music from a party on the second floor - this did not stop until well after midnight. We complained and were moved to a room on the second floor as far away as possible from the main part of the building. Despite a party that evening which was due to end at 3.30 am (!!) we were not disturbed. The breakfasts were OK but nothing special. The "business office" near the reception turned out to be a very small area behind a screen which contained a computer and printer. The printer did not work but the staff at reception were happy to print out when sent material by Email attachment. All in all, a rather disappointing experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 737Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarja T, Manager at Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Mary,
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review regarding your last visit with us.
It's always worthwhile to contact our staff whenever problems occur, so that we can do our best to guarantee satisfaction during your stay.
I´m sorry about the music from the second floor.
At this time of the year we have many Christmas parties in our Banquet floor.
We thank you for visiting us and hope that we can serve you better in the future.

Best regards and Merry Christmas,
Tarja Toivonen
Service Manager
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    367
    112
    23
    7
See reviews for
111
267
40
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was offered a waterfront upgrade for a small fee when I arrived, well worth it. I had a view of the river and the windmill. Its in a great location in town, easy to walk to some of the main sites: market area and the cathedral, though the castle is a bit further but easy to get to on the bus.

The hotel was nice, a standard Radisson. I had the Tomato Risotto the first night in the restaurant with a riverside view, lovely and delicious.

Room Tip: If offered a waterside upgrade, take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Excellent phone service before the trip! We got a bigger room (4 pers room) when requested. Nice and clean hotel with great housekeepers. Hotel has a good location in the centre of Turku. Parking was expensive, but there was a possibility to park close to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Western Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is a good business hotel. I stayed there for a weekend in business purposes. The location is central enough and there is plenty of room for a medium size conference. Staff were able to organize the whole weekend nice and smooth for us.

I had two breakfasts and two lunches at the restaurant and I was very satisfied. I noticed a good selection of whiskey and cognacs at the lobby bar.

I had a superior room and the helpful receptionist asked if I wanted a room with a river view or with a sauna. I preferred the sauna. However, the river view is great during the summer. The room was average size but OK for relaxing and working a little bit. In the double bed there were a massive wooden frame with a mirror and optional red lights. Perhaps I can benefit it later if I'll stay in the hotel with my wife :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Konsta O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Good points:
Generous size rooms with good size bathrooms and modern decor. Make sure you ask for a room with the river view. Good location, 10 minutes walk from all local attractions. Good hotel gym with most equipment you may need, sauna. Bike rental service, was free last time I checked. Fast and free wi-fi though can be unreliable at busy times. Quiet air conditioning. Good choice at the breakfast with take away coffee. Mostly efficient and friendly reception staff.

Bad points:
Hotel is a popular local spot for hosting events, hence can get loud in your room at times. Make sure you don't use bed rest lights before going to bed as they make sounds for hours after you switch them off. Bathroom in some rooms is smelly, still can't work out the reason. Breakfast room is overcrowded at weekends. Check out can be slow on Fridays due to the business travellers leaving. Bar is open only until 11pm. Slow service at the restaurant and it's closed at 10pm, no room service is possible after that. Rooms can get cold during winter months.

Bottom line:
As good as it gets in Turku but don't expect too much. However exceptional service at the reception makes up for any criticism.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I think Marina Palace is the best hotel in Turku at the moment. It is located almost in the city centre by the river Aura. The views over the river are very beautiful. The rooms are nice and modern and the beds are very comfortable. The complimentary sauna facilities are nice too.

The breakfast is not as good as in the best five star hotels, but good enough. The restaurant Aurora offers great views and tasty pizzas. (Do not eat steak here, it was not well prepared.)

Room Tip: View to the river is a "must"!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel in good position in Turku by the river with a lovely walk along the side. Large, modern and well furnished hotel although we found the public rooms downstairs quite small and dark. There were not many guests about, but I can imagine if it was busy, then it could be quite crowded. Bonus feature is an attractive terrace area overlooking the river. We took up the offer of an upgrade to have a river view room and it was well worth it, as the road side view would have been uninspiring. Room was really super though, extremely comfortable with a large sofa in the window and excellent bathroom. Good breakfast although a busy area with the food selection down one wall, so at busy times there would be queues for it. Ready made coffee and tea pots are available to pick up ! I would stay there again but main feature it lacks, is a pool. Bus stop opposite takes you to the ferries - taxis very expensive.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river view if you have the chance, higher floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rauma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
519 reviews
0.6 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku

Property: Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
Address: Linnankatu 32, Turku 20100, Finland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Contemporary Hotel overlooking the Aurajoki River, 1 km from train station & 8 km from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku Hotel Turku
Radisson Turku
Turku Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing