We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IKEA hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Julia
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Turku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“IKEA hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three nights on business. Excellent location close to everything it seemed. The hotel is modern, simple, clean. Single room was tiny. Bed linens seem bit small for the bed as they sheets come off easily. Bathroom good size. All very clean and functional. Breakfast buffet is ok. Fruit selection limited. Everyone seats themselves and staff only bus the tables. Restaurant staff not helpful. Desk staff helpful with requests for information and efficient.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NanHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    247
    81
    14
    8
See reviews for
158
133
18
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
209 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

The Scandic Julia looks far better on the inside than on the outside. The facade looks a bit gloomy, but the rooms are modern and spatious, and the staff is very friendly. The sauna is great; hot, clean and nice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

I've stayed at the Scandic Julia on two occasions now. It doesn't look like much from the outside. But inside you will find a clean and stylishly renovated hotel.

The staff at the reception are friendly and ready to help you if needed. The rooms are quite small, especially if you have children staying with you but everything is very clean and looks nice. Our children found that the extra sofa bed was quite uncomfortable to sleep on.

The breakfast is varied and sufficient but there's nothing special on offer, which could be a nice touch.

If you come by car, there is lots of parking, although the price is not included in the room price.

There are many nice restaurants near the hotel and the location is great, near the Aura river - you should take an evening walk there!

I would gladly stay at the Julia again if I travel to Turku!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Already few years that we travel every now and then to Turku and Hotel Julia is our "base". Clean, simply, city center, free wi-fi, gym and sauna and abosuletly perfect breakfast (always included); something for everyone. Staff makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank European68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
1,068 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had a 2 days business meeting here. Location is central, most of the major attractions, shops, Aura river etc are just stone throw away. Parking garage entrance on side street and there you can take lift straight to reception. They have renovated everything from lobby to rooms recently and everything is clean and Scandinavian modern(ish). Breakfast buffet was great and lunch buffet even better. Large selection of starters, mains and especially desserts. All made of quality ingredients and real tasty. Because I'm living 20 mins from Turku, I don't usually use hotels that much in here, but this has to be number 1 or 2.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halkidis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Clean comfortable rooms, excellent friendly service, quality breakfast, central location at a stone's throw from the cathedral and river promenade. What more can one want?

We arrived earlier than the normal check-in time of 14h and were given the room early at an extra cost of 20 euros. Welcome bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

I've stayed in many of the hotels in Turku and this is one of the better ones, better than e.g. Scandic Plaza. To my knowledge, they renovated this place a while ago. The rooms are clean and equipt nicely. Bathroom was clean. Good bed and pillow, slept well. Good location, just a block away from the town square, close to all restaurants and shopping centers. I usually prefer Scandic, since they have a quite good breakfast buffet - a good selection of healthy and non-healthy foods. And one good reason to choose this hotel is of course the crispy bacon, which is not always a given ;) There is parking garage in the same building, 15€ charge for one night. Direct access to hotel from garage. Service at the reception was quick and polite.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#7 of 17 in Turku
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Julia

Property: Scandic Julia
Address: Eerikinkatu 4, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Turku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Julia 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located right in the centre of the city, close to the River Aura and trendy Vähätori square. All the city's major sights and entertainment highlights are within easy reach of our hotel, including museums and Turku Castle. All of the shopping centres, the marketplace and market hall, and the University of Turku are also all within walking distance. Scandic Julia is the 1st hotel in Turku to receive the Nordic Ecolabel according to its new criteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Julia Hotel Turku
Turku Scandic Julia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing