We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refurnished modern hotel”
Review of Scandic Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Julia
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Turku
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mariehamn, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Refurnished modern hotel”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Julia has gone through a total change and is now a modern hotel. It's located in the city center and is a very good choice when visiting Turku.
Friendly staff in the reception and both check-in and check-out were effective. Parkingplaces indoors with à pricetag of 15 €.
I can recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjarne_gallros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    272
    89
    17
    10
See reviews for
178
145
21
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice & comfortable room, excellent breakfast, very good price. What else can you expect? Maybe à shower screen in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Don't go to thé rooms on the higher floors, you may have to wait a while for the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zidet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valkeakoski, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

As said on previous reviews this hotel is recently renovated. It is very neat and clean though the ultra-modern style is not just my thing but that´s just me. The pad of the bed could have been less slippy but the sleep quality was overall very good.
Excellent service with a personal touch. All the facilities are easily accessible. Breakfast is just superb! Lots of choice and the quality of food is first class.
Highly recommended if you wish to stay in the very center of Turku with very good value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetriJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a seminar in the hotel in June 2012. The food service was delicious!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jatador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Recently renovated hotel that couldn't be better situated: all the main attraction (except the castle) are in 10 min walk. Quality of Scandic-hotels, modern and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elomaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is very conviniently located right next to the Turku's main square.

The hotel itself has been recently renovated with a nice light Scandinavian touch containing a lot of wood. We stayed in a superior room, which according to Finnish standards was a good sized room with a separate clothing room.

The value for money is excellent in this hotel and after staying in couple of other hotels in Turku this is the place I'm going to stay also in the future when I'll be visiting visiting Turku.

We also decided to eat the breakfast in the room, which was very generous and of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIN_CityTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Location - right in the city center, 10 min walk from the railway station
Hotel - helpful and friendly service, play area for kids
Room - modern, comfortable, nicely decorated, two separate/attached beds next to each other, very quiet
breakfast - good selection of fruits, vegetables, fish, rolls, eggs, etc

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FresiaTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.1 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Turku
Park Hotel Turku
#6 of 17 in Turku
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Julia

Property: Scandic Julia
Address: Eerikinkatu 4, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Turku
#2 Luxury Hotel in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Julia 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel located right in the centre of the city, close to the River Aura and trendy Vähätori square. All the city's major sights and entertainment highlights are within easy reach of our hotel, including museums and Turku Castle. All of the shopping centres, the marketplace and market hall, and the University of Turku are also all within walking distance. Scandic Julia is the 1st hotel in Turku to receive the Nordic Ecolabel according to its new criteria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scandic Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Julia Hotel Turku
Turku Scandic Julia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing