We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - avoid this place !”
Review of Hotel Harriet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Harriet
Ranked #10 of 10 Turku B&B and Inns
Espoo, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - avoid this place !”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Place is not a hotel. First impression is the terrible smell at the hotel when you arrive . Very very rude service or actually no service at all. Receptionist did not want to discuss with us about the room deficiencies. One of the 4 beds was a sofa not a bed.
Never experienced this so poor service .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    5
    22
See reviews for
4
9
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

At first the hotel looked cheap and not bad, but unfortunately this good impression was completely spoiled later.
2 months after our stay there, some 50 euros were charged from my account. What could I think of it but some kind of fraud? So I launched an investigation by my bank, and after 1 or 2 months it turned out to be a penalty for smoking. Which I DO NOT MIND - I do believe that my husband might try to smoke in the toilet, and I understand that the charge was just. But What I DO NOT UNDERSTAND is - why could not they inform me about this charge?!! As I locked my crerdit card, I was waiting for the investiagtion to finish, I don't know how many times I had to speak with bank officers and to visit the bank that works at inconvenient hours... All that trouble could be avoided if they have only sent me an email, and after I sent an angry letter, they never even apologised...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turku hotels

Turku
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Room was dirty, small and ugly. It was only cheese, ham, bread, bad coffee and something like juice for breakfast. They charged me for more money I initially expected. Shower was in the toilet. After taking a shower it was a lot of water everywhere in the room. And all other rooms are just like that where we were.
I had a lot of arguing with hotel staff about returning my money I payed forward. At first I was told that manager is in hospital, after I was told that manager is going to France for a week. And then the receptionist told me that manager angry with me and does not want to talk to me. I did not get my money back and will form a legal complain to local authorities about situation in hotel Harriet. It is really the worst hotel I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilja_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The "hotel" is one corridor.Five beds in one room.No cleaning of toilets.Breakfast in the corridor outside the toilets.Bad breakfast.The TV and Internet didn´t work.This is not a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

First of all this is not a hotel, but rather a B&B with terrible customer service and no effort has been made whatsoever to make it a pleasant hotel. Upon arrival, about 15 minutes after the check-in time stated online, we were told by an angry and annoyed man (most likely the owner) that we were too early. He complained to us how busy he was being the only one cleaning the rooms etc. When politely asking if we at least could leave our luggage there, he let out a big sigh. Eventually we were given a room but we felt far from welcome at this hotel.

We stayed in a twin room with private bathroom. The room was facing the street and very hot with no air conditioning nor fan. One window could be opened slightly but in the summer heat it wasn't much of a relief. There was also a smell of mould in the room as well as in the bathroom where paint was flaking off in the ceiling. It was obvious this hotel doesn't want to spend any money nor effort to make it nice for the guests.

The free wireless internet connection did not work and the reception on the TV was very poor. The screen was also so tiny it was impossible to watch from bed. We were very disturbed by noise from other rooms as the walls were so thin you could hear everything from next door.

Breakfast was included and served in the hallway. It was tea or coffee with bread and cheese. Not even a toaster was available and the coffee was awful. Again, no effort was made to serve a nice breakfast.

When leaving the hotel the owner just took the key of us without saying a word. When asking if we could store the luggage there a few hours he was very annoyed again and charged €2 per bag, even for a small plastic bag!

This hotel is defenitely not worth the price they charge and I can't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MariaBham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Its an emergency measure only, in my view (unless you book one of the larger rooms). At least this is what I would say based on my experience. Although the location is decent, near the train station and a short walk away from the center of town, it just offers very little in the way of comforts/amenities... or really anything but a roof over your head for the night. Granted I paid only 50 euros for one night in a single room with a shared bathroom (in the hallway) and I booked fairly late (other hotels had gotten more expensive), but I would not recommend staying here unless you go for one of the bigger and more modern rooms (they must exist since they're showcased on their website)... then it might actually be very good value for money, but for a solo traveler with just 20-30 euros more you could get something a lot more comfortable (and with your own bathroom). They serve some drinks and fruit in the hallway in the morning and the service was fine, but overall quite disappointing really.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turku hotels
0.5 mi away
Centro Hotel Turku
Centro Hotel Turku
#3 of 17 in Turku
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Julia
Scandic Julia
#2 of 17 in Turku
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumulus Turku Hotel
Cumulus Turku Hotel
#9 of 17 in Turku
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Palace Hotel, Turku
0.2 mi away
Scandic Plaza Turku
Scandic Plaza Turku
#4 of 17 in Turku
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Hamburger Bors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harriet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harriet

Property: Hotel Harriet
Address: Kaesityoelaeiskatu 11, Turku 20100, Finland
Location: Finland > Southwest Finland > Turku
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Turku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Harriet 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harriet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing